We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the atmosphere”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #22 of 92 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: US$5 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Everyone recommended that we stop at Hungry Tarpon/Robbie's on our trip down to Key West and I am glad we did! The atmosphere was great and so were the drinks. We sat right on the water and got to go on the dock to see the tarpons for free, since we had been at the restaurant. Only thing that was slightly lacking was the service. Maybe he was just busy, but our waiter wasn't very friendly and when he brought out the food and we asked which one was Grouper and which one was Mahi, he said "I don't know, just break it in two to see?" Just caught us off guard. But that still didn't take away from the experience, the view is awesome. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for such a stellar review guys! We are always trying to improve our customer service and our atmosphere so we appreciate you taking time to leave us these reviews. We would love to have you all back down here and we hope you enjoyed your stay in the Florida Keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    327
    133
    68
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalusia, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great little place”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We ate inside. I love the island feel of a little road side restaurant. The fish tacos were great. It was the first time I had tried fish taco and I wasnt disappointed. Would recommend stopping here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mudbuggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed spending time here with us at Robbie's and hope you get time to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lunch and things to do!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had drinks and an appetizer at this restaurant.We tried the Conch Ceviche and it was great, they serve it with chips. After that, we stepped next door to Robbies Marina and fed the Tarpon fish. We then purchased some art at the vendors there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for such a great review guys! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our ceviche and got to feed the Tarpon. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and hope to see you all back down here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topeka, kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food. Fun atmosphere.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the restaurant at Robbies. We sat outside by the water. The "Stilts" grilled chicken and philly cheesesteak sandwiches we had were great. After lunch we shopped the souvenir stands and fed the tarpon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank deniseh785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for this great review! We are glad to hear you made it down to Robbie's and enjoyed your food at the Hungry Tarpon. We are always trying to improve the experience here over all for our customers and your honest reviews help us do that. Hopefully sometime soon you can come back down and visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great service - and food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lobster frittata, lobster crepes, American standard breakfasts - corned beef hash was great ... yummm ... and feed the tarpons.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FentonMOBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great and honest review for us. We always enjoy hearing positive feedback from our customers and we appreciate you taking the time to come hang out. Hope you enjoyed your stay in the Keys and we would love to see you all down here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing