We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining”
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: US$5 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I really wasn't sure whether we'd get good service, let alone good food. It looks like a hole in the wall type of place. It's obvious most people eat outside, but I was over heated & needed a/c. Walls are covered with photos of all sorts of people & interesting bumper stickers. Our server was friendly. The one young lady who we assumed was in charge of the upfront cooks was very focused on putting out good food. She was not accepting mediocre food. Loved the banter between all the employees. Very friendly staff. The food was excellent. I had bacon cheeseburger & it was to die for. Juicey, tasty, yummy. Thanks to everybody.

Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for stopping by and leaving us with such a wonderful review. We are glad you got a chance to come down and enjoy our food. Hopefully you all get a chance to come back down and have another burger sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 518 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Nice little place, horrible service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cheap service ! And worst they argue about how much tip you should leave even after they weren't even EVER making sure everything was okay! But place still nice

Thank Arlettys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thanks for the review guys! Glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and we hope you get a chance to come back down this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Everyone recommended that we stop at Hungry Tarpon/Robbie's on our trip down to Key West and I am glad we did! The atmosphere was great and so were the drinks. We sat right on the water and got to go on the dock to see the tarpons for free, since we had been at the restaurant. Only thing that was slightly lacking was the service. Maybe he was just busy, but our waiter wasn't very friendly and when he brought out the food and we asked which one was Grouper and which one was Mahi, he said "I don't know, just break it in two to see?" Just caught us off guard. But that still didn't take away from the experience, the view is awesome. We will definitely be coming back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tahmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for such a stellar review guys! We are always trying to improve our customer service and our atmosphere so we appreciate you taking time to leave us these reviews. We would love to have you all back down here and we hope you enjoyed your stay in the Florida Keys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We ate inside. I love the island feel of a little road side restaurant. The fish tacos were great. It was the first time I had tried fish taco and I wasnt disappointed. Would recommend stopping here.

Thank mudbuggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed spending time here with us at Robbie's and hope you get time to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had drinks and an appetizer at this restaurant.We tried the Conch Ceviche and it was great, they serve it with chips. After that, we stepped next door to Robbies Marina and fed the Tarpon fish. We then purchased some art at the vendors there.

Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHungryTarpon, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for such a great review guys! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our ceviche and got to feed the Tarpon. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and hope to see you all back down here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing