We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was my first time staying at the Hampton Inn in Islamorada. I really enjoyed the property. Rooms were Modern and up to date. I had a two bedroom suite, and although the lay out was a little odd it was still nice.

The nicest part of the hotel was the staff. Angela seemed to always be at the front desk, and was always very helpful. Whether it was just a question or asking her for a late check out. Kara was also very nice in granting me the late Checkout. I am a Hilton Honors member, and Hilton, and its sister properties are my preferred hotel.

Complimentary breakfast was included. It was very nice, and a step up from the usual continental breakfast. They had a small gym, but all of the equipment was nice. Outback Steak House is also in the building, and that was nice. It has a beautiful view of the Ocean.

Good Job guys, and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite, and was able to upgrade to a two bed room for $25.00 extra. We also book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeluca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    426
    136
    52
    34
See reviews for
444
519
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The king suite w/ kitchen faced the ocean and the view was great. Coffee on the balcony was perfect. The room was big, nice and very clean. The staff was wonderful. The engineer even blew up a raft for me that I bought in the gift shop. It was quiet and I felt very safe. There is live music by the pool early evening and was not to loud or disruptive. I will stay there again on my next fishing trip to Islamorada.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfoster419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel is in a good location of Islamorada, but is from the 1970's and although has had a minor facelift, which was on-going at time of check-in, Sept., 2013, still has that old time vibe, i.e., old bathrooms with formica countertops. At $200.00 a night I would expect a little luxury. However, the bed linens were of the usual Hampton Inn good quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I visit the Florida Keys several times a year and always chose the Hampton Inn in Islamorada as the place to stay. Clean, comfortable, convienient facilities, perfect for a trip with the guys fishing, or with family for some down time. Kudo's to Kara and her entire staff for continuing to make me feel welcome every time Ii show up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location is fabulous but we were on the 1st floor by the pool/bar area and there were a lot of loud guests playing their own music and talking loudly in Spanish. This made it difficult to get to sleep. Plus my bed was way too firm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place is great. Great location right on the ocean. All rooms have some view of the Ocean. Loved that Outback Steakhouse right on the property. They will deliver to you anywhere on teh property. The pool is great... very warm. Hot tub is small but nice and secluded. Bar staff is great. Outdoor seating for dinner looks out over the water. Bar tenders are wonderful! Beach area very nice. In the evenings there is a wonderful outdoor live music.

We loved our room and the hotel staff, breakfast and everything was great. We stayed in a side view room.

The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is none of the side view rooms have fridge or microwave. We were told we could request a fridge which we did but none was ever available for our stay. It's 2013, MOST other Hampton Inn's now have fridge and microwave. There was plenty of room for both of these in the room. How much can it cost? step that part up and 5 stars all the way!

Also, Sea Monkeys dive shop is RIGHt on the property. We went snorkeling with them at Cheeca Rocks. they are great! (will write a separate review about them) We also swam from the hotel beach out to some rocks and did our own snorkeling.

Room Tip: Request that this hotel get fridge & microwave for all side view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayLover162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were in Islamorada in mid September and stayed at the Hampton for four nights. Very courteous staff, nice pool and a great location. The breakfast bar was good as well. The room could be updated but really no problems at all. Clean, comfortable, and all I really expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn
Amara Cay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing