We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, United States
1 review
“Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

On our way back from Key West we wanted to stay part way up the keys to have a day to just relax. Stopped at the Hampton. It was right on the beach, with a nice pool and tiki bar. Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach to relax in the sun or under the shade of a palm tree. Room was very clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was better than expected. Staff was freindly and helpful. Would definantly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    427
    136
    52
    34
See reviews for
444
519
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Located in a very quiet place. Very nice staff members. Nice lobby, breakfast room, pool and surrounding areas, well maintained. The breakfast buffet was abundant and fair enough to start the day. Safe outside the parking lot. We would stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MiamiTropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 days, the staff were so friendly and helpful at all times and the breakfast included in the price was one of the best that we have had for freshness and variety and we, ve been travelling in this area for the last 10 years. We will definitly be back, also it is a good base for the surrounding area.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbohun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I got married in Islamorada in October. We reserved rooms at the Hampton Inn for our guests and for us for the honeymoon night! The Hampton Inn Staff and Manager, Kara, were amazing! Everyone was so helpful, sweet and Kara is just simply incredible, she surely runs a great hotel! Everyone received 5 star service and felt like they were truly apart of the Hampton Inn Family. The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. The pool is beautiful and they even have a beach with access to the ocean. The Tiki Bar outside gives you that keys feel and the Outback restaurant always has great food...you can even get a relaxing massage right next to the pool...ahhh so relaxing! If your coming to Islamorada, you MUST stay at the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank kkulkaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

After our nightmarish one night stay at the Deauville Beach Resort on Miami Beach, the Islamorada Hampton Inn and Suites was a welcome reprieve. We wanted a relaxing, quiet, no nonsense environment and that is exactly what we found. Staff was very friendly and Chevonne at check-in was extremely polite and helpful. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Pool area is very nice and relaxing. Our next trip to the Keys will definitely be spent staying here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ILovePina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were originally only going to stay here on our way to Key West. But after only one night in Key West, we returned to this hotel for the rest of our week.

This hotel was absolutely perfect for us! We had a wonderful room - upgraded to an ocean front room on the first floor. We could walk right out to the ocean/beach and see the sun rise. We had a full kitchen and separate bedroom and living room area. It was spacious and had plenty of closet space.

The hotel has a pool (where I spent most of my days), a beach with chairs and hammocks (where my husband spent most of his days), and an Outback restaurant with outdoor space and tiki bar. There's stairs to the ocean and many guests chose to snorkel right there at the resort. The water was clear and there were always plenty of fish to see. One morning at sunrise we were excited to see a dolphin swim by! On the same property there's an "excursion" business where you could rent jet skis, or go on snorkeling/diving tours. We didn't use this business because we'd gone out while in Key West. But they seemed friendly - we'd give it a try next time.

There are plenty of restaurants and shops within driving distance. We ate at Sunset Bar and Grill (just before the Seven-Mile bridge) one evening and loved it. I would also recommend shopping at Lobster Trap Art Gallery. They only sell the work of local artists and they specialize in lobster trap frames. We ordered a special frame for a print we'd purchased and they were super helpful and shipped it to our home for us.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it for anyone - younger, older, family, couples...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This Hampton Inn is far down in Islamorada when heading to the Keys but that is the direction we were going so was perfect!We got a complimentary upgrade to an efficiency which was nice but the accommodations were still tight. However for only one nights stay was very nice and larger then what we had originally booked..

All staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant, including maintenance passed in the elevator.

Breakfast was nice and typical continental fare..

We had asked to stay away from pool side and Outback Tiki bar but we ended up with a parking lot view so would go poolside in the future.

Guest laundry was on our floor (3) but open only from 9 a.m to 9 p.m.

Pool area was very nice and beach area was also well groomed.

Tiki bar affiliated with Outback Steakhouse on property was also fun in the evening and had local talent singing.

Was very enjoyable and relaxing and quiet as we were off season...

will stay here again when we can return!

We went snorkeling with Key Dives and ate at the Hungry Tarpon at Robbies Marina so check their reiews...both were great!

Room Tip: for a more tropical experience stay pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manateekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn
Amara Cay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing