We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 STAR STAFF IN A 2 STAR HOTEL”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 STAR STAFF IN A 2 STAR HOTEL”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room would not cool down! The problem is the room Is only 70 degrees at the thermostat.. The rest of the room was WARMER! There were no rooms available in other hotels so we were stuck there for 5 days. The beds were AWFUL! The rooms needed updating! The property is beautiful.... the pool was great ....the staff was 5 Star ,BUT THAT DOESNT GIVE YOU REST! Breakfast was good to EXCELLENT EXCEPT THE EGGS! THE OUTBACK WAS JUST OK! There fore, In my humble opinion....if you want to pay an extra exorbitant price for a crappy hot room with a lousy bed but a great view on a very pretty property in the Keys with a really great staff...........this is the place!

Room Tip: The rooms will not cool down. Stay off the first floor.......ants were in our first room and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippintony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    431
    138
    53
    34
See reviews for
447
528
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Upon entering our room there was a subtle smell that was not pleasant...we tried to keep the sliding doors open, but the had no screens and the small black flys would come in at night...two days into our stay I noticed something behind our curtain in the corner and it was a child's t shirt...we had no children! One day they forgot to put a pillow case on one of the pillows and just left it on the floor...one day they forgot to leave towels in the bathroom,...they said the breakfast was from 6 to 10, but if you got there a bit after 9 items were gone and they were not replacing...for almost 400. Per night for an ocean view suite we were disappointed and will not stay again.

Room Tip: Check other locations first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_mc143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great Pool, staff would bring out warm towels, Breakfast- good thing it was included in room stay $, average hotel quality continental with hot institutional looking egg patties (i bet there were no real eggs in there!) but enough to get something in your stomach before you head out for the day. Had a 2 room suite- oceanview with kitchen (saved a ton of $ instead of eating out b/l/dinner everyday). Bathrooms need to be gutted and redone or AT LEAST recoat your bathtubs and re-caulk. Not quite the quality or cleanliness I have experienced from Hampton in the past. Liked having the ability to close door to sleeping room (with kids in bed) and have a separate space to hang out with hubby and enjoy oceanview balcony though. Overall, I would stay there again (but the only staying in a room with an oceanview). Definitely wouldn't want to spend over $200 a night to listen to the loud horrible musician they had playing in the bar outside during the weekend and overlooking the pool (not very quiet). Oh, and don't be fooled by the pics of the little boat dock thinking you can hang a fishing pole in the water. They do not allow fishing off the mostly private (not hampton owned) boat dock or off the "beach" they have, very misleading and sad to have to tell the 3 people with fishing poles who came with me. Had to walk over to the resort next door to gain access to a dock we could fish off of. And be sure not to waste your money renting anything from their on site water sports shanty. It was almost $100 to rent a stand up paddle board for a few hours- are you kidding me??Look around and find a better deal...

Room Tip: High Floor and OceanView
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FishTaco2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Arrived two hours early. Staff let us enjoy beach while they readied our room early for us. Wonderful, relaxing stay. Very good breakfast, quiet room, well kept beach area, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 8 nights over Christmas. The hotel was nicely decorated, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed ourselves. A special thank you to Alan who made an extra effort for us. We would also like to thank both Angela and Chavon for their efficiency, friendliness and excellent guest treatment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank judy1702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I can't say enough about the staff at the Hampton Inn, From the grounds crew, housekeeping, to the front desk and managers, all gave excellent service and went out of there way to take care of your needs in a pleasant manner and with a smile.
Room was perfect for a family stay, two full baths, bedrooms as well as pull out couch; Living room was open and left plenty of room for 5 adults to move around without bumping into each other.
We enjoyed our stay so much we booked another stay in February.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13snake13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this room on a spur of the moment trip. From the reviews I expected more. Our room was very dated, smelled musty, beds were lumpy. Not up to techie standards with extra outlets by the beds. Air vent was nasty and air only went to 70. I like to sleep in a cold room so this was not acceptable. No mini fridge or microwave. One of the beds had a mattress cover on it, probably for a good reason.

Pool was nice, beach was very nice, a plus to have outback right by the pool running the tiki bar.

Room cost was surely inflated due to location being in the keys.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn
Amara Cay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing