We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ocean View is Beautiful & Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Havana, Cuba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Ocean View is Beautiful & Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just a few days at this hotel (we call it the "Hampton") can wipe the stress of city life from your thoughts. There is much to see and experience, within 40 miles of the Hampton's convenient location. Everything from wind surfing to bird watching (including gulls, pelicans and comorants) is available nearby. A number of restaurants (within a 15 minute drive from the Hampton) offer a delightful menu selection.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    427
    136
    52
    34
See reviews for
444
519
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn on Islamorada and was very disappointed. Alan at check-in was superb but it went down hill after that. The location is good but they clearly have not invested in this property. I'm a Hilton Honors Gold member and stayed in many Hilton's. We were upgraded to a suite (which was really nice) and since there was just two of us it was plenty of room.....but very little comfortable furniture. No kitchen supplies. You are about 20 feet from a very small TV screen in the living room. Beds are terrible, bathrooms are small and everything is dated. Clean but dated. Breakfast was minimal...no fruit in Florida??? Ice machines work only on the first floor. Minimal parking spaces. The Hampton Inn in Key Largo was much, much better and had a lower nightly rate.Then I read that the hotel was sold and as of Feb 3rd it will no longer be a Hilton. It has a lot of potential and I hope the new owners take advantage of that. A diamond in the rough!

Room Tip: Ask to face the pool and/or the ocean, higher than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very comfortable, quiet and beautiful pool, spa and ocean beach. Outback restaurant adjacent with nice menu and reasonable prices. We were traveling with another couple and had a two bedroom, two bath suite that was very nice. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were given the name of this Hotel for a wedding we were attending. We were very pleased with our accommodations and the staff. Extremely helpful! We wish we could have stayed longer. There was an Outback Restaurant adjacent to the Hotel. The TikiBar poolside was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and wanted to go back and get the same type of oceanfront suite on the top floor. When my husband called to make the reservation he said we wanted to reserve the oceanfront suite on a higher floor. the staff member told him that he could give reserve us a suite but not guarantee what floor we would be on. I thought that what a RESERVATION meant especially when they want $500 + for the room. I called back and got the same schtick and the reservationist had an attitude about it. So we said nuts to that and found a great oceanfront room on a higher floor at the Chesapeake Beach Resort. They will be getting our business from now on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunshinegal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites on a recent Friday night to attend the Full Moon party at Morada Bay. We were given a room on the top floor (5th) over looking the pool. Very nice room, large room with a comfy bed. Spent the afternoon at their Tiki Bar which overlooks the ocean and the pool. Ordered food at the bar, which is from the attached Outback restaurant. Price for hotel and food/drinks...reasonable.

Continental breakfast included...there were eggs, sausage patties, oatmeal, fresh fruit, muffins, etc. We had a nice breakfast overlooking the pool.

Would recommend this hotel...used a AAA discount!

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking the pool...just our preference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubbyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was the best deal we could find on a place where we could stay for just two nights at this time of year in the Keys. We had a pleasant surprise when we arrived, learning that we were "the guest of day." We had booked a one bedroom suite, and they upgraded us to a two bedroom, poolside suite. In addition, we were given a coupon for two cocktails or an appetizer at the tiki bar. How nice!

The service was excellent at the front desk, where the people were very friendly and helpful. They don't mind when you ask for extra blankets, laundry bags, etc, and are very prompt in taking care of those things. The people who were setting up the continental breakfast did a good job, and refilled things quickly. One of them seemed rather annoyed with some of the guests, but overall, they were efficient. In addition, the service in the hotel's boutique was good. The owners are friendly and were so nice to my girls, who were using their spending money. They were helpful when I asked for restaurant suggestions, too, and shared info regarding the keys. At the front desk, they will supply you with ice for your cooler, which would be especially helpful for those who come here to fish.

The value is average. Places in the keys are pretty expensive. This was a good bit...we found the best online deal through expedia, and searched a lot of sites for different places. You can get a South beach hotel for $100 sometimes, or an Orlando place for $70 on special, so it seemed to be rather pricey. However, having the beachfront and water views, and the location in the keys was really nice. In addition, the room size is fairly large.

We slept really well. The beds were comfortable, and the duvets are always a plus. There were lots of pillows. The bedding was soft and clean smelling. My son said that the sleeper sofa was okay...a 7 out of 10. The only issue with sleeping that we would have had was the noise from the tiki bar. They have live music every night, I guess. On Saturday night, the music played until 10. If you want to go to bed early, it may keep you awake. It seemed to stop much earlier on Sunday night. We didn't plan to go to bed before 10, so it wasn't an issue in regard to sleeping.

The place was very clean. Our room was clean, and the maid service did an excellent job of cleaning it both days. The hotel itself was nice and clean, all around. There's this lady that comes out and mops the floors in the common areas quite a bit, and it makes a difference. The pool was sparkling clean, as well.

This is a very good location. It's about a one hour and fifteen minute drive from Key West. Islamorada is absolutely lovely. The ocean water is calm and clear. This would be a great place to snorkel. We saw lots of people on kayaks in the water, and if it were warmer, we would have snorkeled. There were quite a few interesting fish. There is a "beach" but it is not the type of beach that you can just walk right into the ocean. There's actually a seawall over the water, and you walk down the steps into the water. If you have a toddler, keep a close eye on them around that seawall. I was nervous at first about my 7 year old tumbling in. She probably would be okay, but I'm always nervous. There is a really nice dock, but a sign is posted that you can NOT fish off of it. People walked out there, and I saw people sunning on there. If you look at photos (aerial view) of the hotel, it appears that there's a wonderful fishing dock, so be forewarned that there is not. However, my husband just fished off of the edge of the beach area and it was fine. The hotel is right on the main road, but don't realize it when out at the pool or on the water. Our room was poolside and we had a view of the ocean; it was actually a pretty nice view. Oh, and if you need to stock up on groceries because you are flying in from out of town, swing by the Publix on your way in, or Winn-Dixie. They are several miles north, but typically have good deals. Publix has the BEST subs from a grocery store and has excellent bogo deals. I think that we passed one Publix when driving down into the keys. If you are coming from Key West, you can stock up at a Publix in Key West.

Rooms are large. The decor is rather dated. If you want granite counter tops and chic sleek furniture, then this may not be for you. It's very clean, though, including the carpet. I can't stand staying in places with dirty carpets. My socks didn't get dirty from the carpet...whew! Like I said, we were in a two bedroom suite. Each bedroom has a double, or perhaps it's queen, actually sized bed with duvets and three pillows. There are nightstands on either side with phone and alarm clock. There is a small dresser across from each bed with a nice flat screen television. There's a decent selection of channels for your viewing pleasure. I had brought some DVDs and the girls and I watched a movie on our computer. I wish I had brought a cord to play from the computer to the television, but it worked for us. There is also an armoire type of piece of furniture in each room with luggage rack, hanging rack and hangers, as well as ironing board and iron. There are two bathrooms that were well stocked with linens and a hair dryer. The fan was pretty loud in one of the bathrooms.

There's a nice sized living area with sofa bed and chair and ottoman, as well as coffee table, end tables and television. The kitchenette is pretty small but really makes a big difference for convenience. There is a full sized frig with freezer and ice maker. Be sure to turn the ice maker on when you get there. You have a sink, two burner stove top, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, and several cabinets. They provide some soap for dishes, as well as dish washer detergent. There is not an oven. I think that there were enough dishes, bowls, cups and glasses and silverware for 4-6 people. There were two small pots and one that was larger. They have a sign asking you to NOT fry stuff on the stove...fire hazard, I would guess. Oh, there is a microwave. It's nice because you can make very basic easy food and don't have to go searching for a place to eat every meal, and can save money in that area if you wish. There is a little eating area with a couple of chairs right off of the kitchenette area.

The breakfast here is served from 6-10. We ate around 8 each morning because our kids were awake and ready to go. They have apples and bananas and mixed fruit, four kinds of juice from one of those machines, (two are "cocktail" variety), five cereals including Raisin Bran and Special K, and skim and 2 percent milk. There are plain bagels (which seemed very fresh), english muffins, raisin bagels, wheat bread and butter, cream cheese and margarine. You can also have a couple of warm things. There were eggs and sausage one day. My husband said that the eggs were so-so. They had little egg "omelettes" and he said they were pretty good. You can make your own waffles, which he really liked. Just be sure to read and follow the directions. There are also some sweet things like "bear claws", muffins and other danishes. Oh, and my favorite...yogurt. My kids enjoyed the fact that there's always coffee and hot water set up. They made themselves hot tea and hot chocolate in the evenings. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: high poolside rooms may have good ocean views poolside rooms will hear the evening music more loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MommyTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn
Amara Cay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing