We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter vacation”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
mpls, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter vacation”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Staff was great. I had requested that I would prefer a room with the best view of the ocean possible at the time of my arrival and the manager made this happen which was fantastic. Beach was great and breakfast wasn`t too bad either. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    431
    138
    53
    34
See reviews for
447
528
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is well located, its on the water, though does not have an actual beach, only a waterfront. Was fun to watch the pelicans from the dock. Our room was clean, though very sparsely furnished. Bathroom and linens were clean. There was a good variety at breakfast. Waffles, cereals, eggs, french toast. There was a good supply though and there was also fresh fruit, a mixed fruit salad, milk and juice and yogurt. The breakfast area was pleasant. We only stayed overnight on our way through the Keys. A little pricey for the room as it was. Front desk staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana, Cuba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just a few days at this hotel (we call it the "Hampton") can wipe the stress of city life from your thoughts. There is much to see and experience, within 40 miles of the Hampton's convenient location. Everything from wind surfing to bird watching (including gulls, pelicans and comorants) is available nearby. A number of restaurants (within a 15 minute drive from the Hampton) offer a delightful menu selection.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
402 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn on Islamorada and was very disappointed. Alan at check-in was superb but it went down hill after that. The location is good but they clearly have not invested in this property. I'm a Hilton Honors Gold member and stayed in many Hilton's. We were upgraded to a suite (which was really nice) and since there was just two of us it was plenty of room.....but very little comfortable furniture. No kitchen supplies. You are about 20 feet from a very small TV screen in the living room. Beds are terrible, bathrooms are small and everything is dated. Clean but dated. Breakfast was minimal...no fruit in Florida??? Ice machines work only on the first floor. Minimal parking spaces. The Hampton Inn in Key Largo was much, much better and had a lower nightly rate.Then I read that the hotel was sold and as of Feb 3rd it will no longer be a Hilton. It has a lot of potential and I hope the new owners take advantage of that. A diamond in the rough!

Room Tip: Ask to face the pool and/or the ocean, higher than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very comfortable, quiet and beautiful pool, spa and ocean beach. Outback restaurant adjacent with nice menu and reasonable prices. We were traveling with another couple and had a two bedroom, two bath suite that was very nice. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were given the name of this Hotel for a wedding we were attending. We were very pleased with our accommodations and the staff. Extremely helpful! We wish we could have stayed longer. There was an Outback Restaurant adjacent to the Hotel. The TikiBar poolside was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and wanted to go back and get the same type of oceanfront suite on the top floor. When my husband called to make the reservation he said we wanted to reserve the oceanfront suite on a higher floor. the staff member told him that he could give reserve us a suite but not guarantee what floor we would be on. I thought that what a RESERVATION meant especially when they want $500 + for the room. I called back and got the same schtick and the reservationist had an attitude about it. So we said nuts to that and found a great oceanfront room on a higher floor at the Chesapeake Beach Resort. They will be getting our business from now on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunshinegal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovations recently completed at this oceanfront resort in picturesque Islamorada. Amara Cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn
Amara Cay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing