We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a one bedroom with a full kitchen which was great.
It had 2 double beds and a pull out sofa. Our first room
was right on top of the construction, but the front desk
was more than happy to move us. We were out the
room most of the time, but when we were there
we were not disturbed at all, even in the morning.
GREAT views of both the ocean and the bay.
Pool, beach and Tiki bar were nice and there
was music most nights we were there.
The only negative was the continental
breakfast. Not much choice and mostly
carbs, but coffee was very good.
We will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Good afternoon Sara1521,
Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that the front desk was able to assist you in moving rooms so that you guys were more comfortable. Also thank you for the feedback on breakfast we are always looking for was to improve so we will definitely be looking into this. Seeing as you are not too far away I hope you will come back and visit us once the renovation is completed.

Warm Wishes,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    433
    139
    53
    34
See reviews for
453
533
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

even w the renovations this place is by far the friendliest place to stay .rooms are spacious .pool area and tiki bar very nice.can't wait to come back next yr to see how much better it can be after remodel.by the way we did get the 15% discount and we were told up front about the the work being done.NVR really heard any noise of construction.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Good afternoon Keithbean1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate all the kind feedback because we think our staff is the best in town so we are glad you feel same way. We can't wait to have you come back and visit once the renovations are complete and see all our upgrades.

Warm Wishes,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel was being remodeled so someday it may nice but, they should have warned us of this before booking. This teaches me to read the reviews. When, I checked in they said that I would get a 15% discount due to the construction but when I was check out they had amnesia and refused to provide the discount. Little to no parking due to the construction.
The location is perfect if you are going fishing out of Bud & Mary's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good afternoon Bill S,
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay. If you would you please email me directly to look at your room rate, typically when the room has been booked the discount is applied but if it was not then I definitely want to get it fixed for you. We also agree that Bud-N-Mary's is an amazing place so we are glad you got to experience it. Look forward to hearing from you soon, gm@theislamoradaresort.com

Warm Wishes,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on several occasions. Former Hampton Inn. The rooms could stand to be updated and I believe that is taking place now. Tiki bar and beach are incredible. Hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach have perfect view. Snorkel tours and wave runner rentals on site. Excellent place to stay while on the way to or from Key West.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good afternoon William G,
Thank you for such a kind review! We love our hammocks and the tiki bar is pretty awesome as well! We hope that you will come back and visit us and stay even longer next time!
Warm Wishes,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long branch, NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Nice and quiet resort. Very clean with a friendly staff. Only drawback was the renovations going on right now that consisted of awful drilling that began at 8am and ended promptly at 6pm. Our rental car was covered with an inch of concrete dust and when I asked about it they quickly got someone to come out with a hose and wash down the car. Breakfast is included....nothing special but enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank taj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good afternoon taj4,
Thank you for the kind and very truthful review of our hotel. We think we have great staff and I am so happy that they were able to assist you as we never want to inconvenience our guests and we know that between the drilling and the dust on your car was just that. We hope that you will come back and visit us once we are completed and we will save you some sunshine when it's not as warm during a Jersey winter.

Warm Wishes,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Even though the Hotel was under construction, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Can't wait to see it when the renovation is completed. The food at the pool bar was really good and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Housekeeping, too, was responsive to all our needs. I had asked for a couple of extra top sheets (instead of using the bedspread at night) and voila~ they were dropped off immediately. This was a family trip, and it was nice to have plenty of space around the pool and out on the beach for family to congregate.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside and really enjoyed the convenience, but might have enjoyed the view from the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good afternoon jojogr,
Hope you had a safe trip back to Hot Springs! Thank you so much for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed Islamorada and our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience of renovation as we know that it was disturbing but we hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again soon once it is complete and enjoy some of the great things we offer in the Florida Keys.

Warm Wishes,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springtown, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked this resort because we are divers, we dive in the morning and then head back to the room and relax then head out in the evening. The noise in the room was so loud from the construction that it was impossible to even stay in the rooms during the day. We payed full price for this room and did not find out about the construction until we checked in, They offered us drink specials to compensate for the construction noise? This is a total rebuild going on, the rooms are ok, the beds are hard, the noise is unbearable. DO NOT go to this resort until the construction is complete. The restaurant is no longer an Outback Steakhouse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dscomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good afternoon Dscomp,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel from your past stay. I apologize that the construction was so disturbing to you and your guests as we are trying to be as accommodating as possible during this time and we would like to make sure that you felt this way. When you have a moment if you can contact me directly to discuss in further I would greatly appreciate it as we love our divers and want them to have the best time in the world diving our wrecks and coral reefs. I can be reached at gm@theislamoradaresort.com

Warm Wishes,
Kara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,305 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,709 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.9 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Property: Amara Cay Resort
Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn
Amara Cay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing