We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In transition....”
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Cay Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When we vacationed here in February, the hotel had begun its transition from the Hampton to the Islamorada Resort. We nearly passed the hotel because it looked abandoned and closed. The Hampton Inn sign had been removed, the key cards we received were blank, and many things were broken (ice machines and one of the exterior entrance doors). Despite the strangeness…. I loved this hotel. Yes, it needs renovation (which is apparently now underway). The living room furniture is dated, the pans in the kitchen are scratched and rusted, the pool bathroom is filled with mold.On the plus side, the lobby is beautiful, the beach and dock is picturesque, the pool is warm (even in February), and the live music from the tiki bar is perfectly beachy. Our room was one of the few beachfront ones; we had an amazing Atlantic view. The hotel is ideally located in Islamorada... you can walk to Lazy Days restaurant (they have beach seating and patio seating), or drive to other nearby outdoor restaurants. We loved driving over the bridge to Robbie's to shop and feed the tarpons. They, too, have a lovely outdoor, waterfront restaurant.

Having grown up in FL, I found Islamorada and this hotel very 'old Florida.' I loved it! The Keys are laid back Florida at its best; marina t-shirts and flip flops are mandatory attire. It’s where you can dine under towering palm trees, and tiki torches illuminate the evening sky. The people are tanned and friendly and will most likely share a story or two with you. Fried fish baskets are on the menu everywhere as is lobster and alligator. It’s such a fun and beautiful place.

Room Tip: Splurge and get beachfront!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stl_locavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Good afternoon Leighuf,
Thank you so very much for the great review! And thank you for giving us a chance when we were going through our transition. I think we finally found someone who loves the keys as much as we do and we hope to share more of it with you again soon. Come back and visit us again soon.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
There are newer reviews for Amara Cay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was a bit disappointed in the hotel, but I must say they are having some remodeling done so it will improve. Our room was very large and oceanfront :). But it is worn and tired and does need a fix-up. The room was a suite so we had 2 flat-screen tvs w/ king bed and queen pull-out. The continental breakfast was good. The Tiki Bar was nice but included a lot of locals that got a bit vulgar. It didn't bother us but the location is right by the pool which was filled with families with young children. It just didn't mix well.
Location awesome!

Room Tip: wait til construction is done!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank patti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Good afternoon Patti M! Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay and especially for the feedback. Yes it is true we are undergoing a large hotel renovation where every room and public space will be upgraded and we know you will love it. Seeing as you aren't too far away we really hope that you will follow our progress online and come back and see us soon.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a one bedroom with a full kitchen which was great.
It had 2 double beds and a pull out sofa. Our first room
was right on top of the construction, but the front desk
was more than happy to move us. We were out the
room most of the time, but when we were there
we were not disturbed at all, even in the morning.
GREAT views of both the ocean and the bay.
Pool, beach and Tiki bar were nice and there
was music most nights we were there.
The only negative was the continental
breakfast. Not much choice and mostly
carbs, but coffee was very good.
We will stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good afternoon Sara1521,
Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that the front desk was able to assist you in moving rooms so that you guys were more comfortable. Also thank you for the feedback on breakfast we are always looking for was to improve so we will definitely be looking into this. Seeing as you are not too far away I hope you will come back and visit us once the renovation is completed.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

even w the renovations this place is by far the friendliest place to stay .rooms are spacious .pool area and tiki bar very nice.can't wait to come back next yr to see how much better it can be after remodel.by the way we did get the 15% discount and we were told up front about the the work being done.NVR really heard any noise of construction.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithbean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Good afternoon Keithbean1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate all the kind feedback because we think our staff is the best in town so we are glad you feel same way. We can't wait to have you come back and visit once the renovations are complete and see all our upgrades.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel was being remodeled so someday it may nice but, they should have warned us of this before booking. This teaches me to read the reviews. When, I checked in they said that I would get a 15% discount due to the construction but when I was check out they had amnesia and refused to provide the discount. Little to no parking due to the construction.
The location is perfect if you are going fishing out of Bud & Mary's.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Good afternoon Bill S,
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay. If you would you please email me directly to look at your room rate, typically when the room has been booked the discount is applied but if it was not then I definitely want to get it fixed for you. We also agree that Bud-N-Mary's is an amazing place so we are glad you got to experience it. Look forward to hearing from you soon, gm@theislamoradaresort.com

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on several occasions. Former Hampton Inn. The rooms could stand to be updated and I believe that is taking place now. Tiki bar and beach are incredible. Hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach have perfect view. Snorkel tours and wave runner rentals on site. Excellent place to stay while on the way to or from Key West.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Good afternoon William G,
Thank you for such a kind review! We love our hammocks and the tiki bar is pretty awesome as well! We hope that you will come back and visit us and stay even longer next time!
Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice and quiet resort. Very clean with a friendly staff. Only drawback was the renovations going on right now that consisted of awful drilling that began at 8am and ended promptly at 6pm. Our rental car was covered with an inch of concrete dust and when I asked about it they quickly got someone to come out with a hose and wash down the car. Breakfast is included....nothing special but enough.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank taj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara L, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good afternoon taj4,
Thank you for the kind and very truthful review of our hotel. We think we have great staff and I am so happy that they were able to assist you as we never want to inconvenience our guests and we know that between the drilling and the dust on your car was just that. We hope that you will come back and visit us once we are completed and we will save you some sunshine when it's not as warm during a Jersey winter.

Warm Wishes,
Kara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,846 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £159 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn
Amara Cay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing