We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway”
Review of White Gate Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Gate Court
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely little spot in Islamorada. Only thing I would change would be to add a pool but Anne's Beach is not far. If it is just sun you want, there is a great spot by the bay right at White Gate. Close to everything Islamorada has to offer plus you can take your pets!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcsgizmo, Manager at White Gate Court, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Good Afternoon: Thank you for writing a great review, we always welcome feedback from our guest, so we can make your next visit much better.

We look forward to seeing you again at White Gate Court were Pets are always WELCOME!!!

Warm Wishes,

Jane
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    23
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
44
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

It was 5 stars for what my husband and I wanted. The cottages are adorable and perfect for couples. Bringing our pet was important to us and it was great that she was able to run around and play with other dogs. My dog is not fully trained so we didn't let her roam freely often since the gate is open but she was off her leash at times with some of the other pups.

This is a low key and quaint little place with only a few cottages, so it's perfect for someone looking for quiet, relaxation, and lots of good eats withing minutes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcsgizmo, Manager at White Gate Court, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Good Afternoon: Thank you so much for a great review, we appreciate your feedback, so we can make your next vacation even better.

WE are very happy to hear that your pet had a great time and was able to run around making new friends also.

It is important to us and like yourselves that you can come to White Gate Court with your pets and all of you have have a wonderful vacation.

All of our returning guest love our little resort for people like yourselves that are looking for some peacefulness and relaxation and that we are the ultimate getaway where pets are always welcome!

We look forward to seing you again here for your next vacation.

Warm Wishes,


Jane
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Five Stars for one traveler is not five stars for another, as we all have our idea of what we want in a vacation, a hotel, a restaurant, etc. My wife and I have stayed at several places in the Keys, and we liked all of them for different reasons.
White Gate Court is perfect for a calm, relaxed, kicked back extended weekend or week in Islamorada.
We stayed here in #4 & #6 (with my snowbirding parents) for a few nights last weekend. Fantastic!
Each of our units were clean, spacious enough - as you want to be outside anyway - with a nicely appointed kitchen: Towels, pots, pans, dishes, silverware, glassware, BBQ items, soap, corkscrew, etc. High ceilings of whitewashed and beamed tongue and groove - nice. Hot hot showers and plenty of towels, even one for Fido.
We don't have dogs, others had theirs, and it was just fine with us non-dog owners.
Nice Charbroil gas grill with sideburner right outside the door, so I grilled breakfast, lunch and dinner (I did bring my own favorite grill skillet). We cooked everything on the grill (who wants to be inside when you are in such a beautiful place?) Umbrella picnic table, lantern, chairs, loungers, etc. Covered terraces front and back - with front and backdoor access. Back is a quiet garden area, the front faces the water. Fantastic! Lovely grounds, with space between the units to give you that peace and calm that you need.
A walk through the soft Bermuda grass and sand to the free kayaks (single and doubles), bikes, bocce ball set. Nice sunsets, fishing and snorkeling off the dock, saw a big manta ray, nurse shark, baby barracuda, lovely tropical fish, and was told there are often manatees and lobster. Also a couple of dolphins swam by.
WGC is about 1-1/2 miles south of Robbie's on the Bay side.
This is the place to go if you want to have the casual getaway in the Keys. Chatting with other travelers, reading a book waterside, snorkeling, kayaking, drinking a glass or two of sangria, etc.
Owners and staff are the friendliest. You feel like you are with family (well, family members that you like!)
This will be our "go to" place for Islamorada.

Room Tip: #4 & #6 are each for two people, and they are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcsgizmo, Manager at White Gate Court, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Good Afternoon: Thank you so much for a great review, we appreciate your feedback, so we can make your next vacation even better.

WE are very happy to hear that you and your relatives all had a great time here enjoying our quiet beautiful grounds and our beach area.

We are also very happy to hear that you and your family truly enjoyed our little resort with our free kayaks, bikes, fishing and snorkeling off the dock. Please be advised that we have a brand new beautiful dock as of May 2014.
.
Our returning guest love our little resort for people like yourselves that are looking for some peacefulness and relaxation and that we are the ultimate getaway where pets are always welcome!

We look forward to seing you again here for your next vacation.

Warm Wishes,


Jane
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
337 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

YES I DID...I had to stay here 2 L-O-N-G extended weekends back to back to get a good sense and feel of this very unique property and atmosphere. Pretty much, Langenfass' contribution was spot on. We brought most of our own food to cook, our own pillows and pillow top mattress, liquor & drinks (which made a significant difference in sleep), and we have NO dogs (but we LOVE dogs)! Yes, the cottages are certainly old and outdated; however, they are quaint, clean, and you have what you need. Of course there are pros and cons...just like with everything. Yes, sometimes you have bugs...this is south Florida, we just have to get over it. But here at the White Gate Court (at least for me), the pros certainly outweighed the cons. The overall experience for me was much more rewarding than staying at many 4 or 5 star resorts.

I travel frequently for business and usually stay at upscale properties and enjoy finer things (but not overly picky and/or pretentious) and love the appeal and amenities they offer; however, staying at the White Gate was the answer to my stressed and hectic life. Somehow, in it's own unique and heavenly way, it gave me solace and provided much needed relaxation.
The grill outside was perfect. The table and chairs outside...perfect. Making new friends...perfect. Service (thanks to Terri and everyone there)...perfect. The beach area...perfect. The View...Oh the View...perfect. The stars seemed brighter...perfect. The wildlife, including Egrets, Blue Herons, Pelicans, Cormorants, Ibis, Ospreys and many other birds...perfect. The bikes to use to ride up to Robbies...perfect. The kayaks to use for fun over the crystal blue waters...perfect.

Islamorada and the Middle Keys is such a perfect location and I want to visit more of it. I've lived in FL for 28 years now and need to explore more of the Keys, more Scuba Diving, more Kayaking, and more Exploring! Don't get me wrong, I do want to stay at other neat places and locations that need to be checked out, but I will tell you without hesitation: I WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK. And if you're lucky enough to travel with dogs...OMG, such a No Brainer. I just left this morning and hated to pack...I want more time here! We stayed in units #6 (closest to water but a bit small for me), #1 (closer to main entrance but nice suite with sitting area), and #5 (larger villa and adequate for 2 couples). You can check out their floor plans on their website.

Have FUN when you go, take time to take in the tastes, sights, sounds, and smells at this special secluded property.

Conch on everyone...

Room Tip: Included in my review. BUT Uh, don't be ridiculous like us and take your phones (to use for came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcsgizmo, Manager at White Gate Court, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Good Afternoon: Thank you for such a great review, we really appreciate the feedback, so we can make it even better for your next vacation here at WGC.

We were very happy to hear that you had a great and relaxing time here with us. The next time
you feel stressed out again, please come and join us!

Please be advised that we have a brand new Dock and it is beautiful, especially at night.

Hope to see you soon...

Warm Wishes,

Jane
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent Valentine's weekend in #4 with comfortable, clean king bed. Everything else in these rooms is, as others have noted, worn and small...but my dears... this is the Florida Keys. The value of the White Gate is the secluded property, soft grass for your dogs to run free and swim in Florida Bay, gas grills, a private beach, a new dock for fishing, a short paddle to grass flats and mangrove islands. We met three other couples, all kindred souls who enjoy nature, their dogs and kids, and a glass of wine with conversation at sunset. Perfect...if you understand the Keys. There is great food nearby in Islamorada, although my favorite was breakfast on the dock with the tarpon and pelicans at Robbie's. We will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I, with our dog, stayed here over the past weekend. We stayed in unit # 4, which is a studio room with king bed and full kitchen. It was so cute, very comfortable, and very clean. It had been freshly painted too, which was great (except for the slight smell of paint still lingering). The housekeeper had placed some fresh flowers right from the resort grounds in spots throughout the room, which was a sweet touch. The bathroom is a bit small and the shower stall is very small and concrete brick so it felt a bit like showering in a prison cell, but that is the nature of the old 50's style buildings in the Keys, and certainly no big deal - the shower still felt great after being out and about in the hot sun all day. The mattress was good, but just a bit too firm for our taste, but again no big deal. There was a nice flat screen tv in the room with cable and a dinette table and chairs which we used to enjoy a takeout dinner from the nearby Outback Steakhouse one evening and had a lovely dinner in our room. The fridge and kitchen are very convenient, even though we didn't do any cooking on our vacation. This was our first stay at this resort and we chose it because we wanted to travel with our dog and this was the most pet friendly place we found. Also it is very close to Robbie's Marina - which is our favorite place to spend time (and to have wonderful meals at their restaurant The Hungry Tarpon), so it was a convenient place for us to stay. Terri was very helpful to me in answering many questions by email before our stay and was a pleasure to meet in person upon check in. However, you are left alone after that to enjoy the resort and your stay - which is great. As a matter of fact, 99% of our time here it felt as if we were the only guests. We did meet a couple of other guests and their dogs and had quick friendly chats, but for the most part it was like we had the whole place to ourselves most of the time. Our cottage had a small seating area off the back porch area facing lots of trees and the lovely grounds. Out the front door there was a patio table with umbrella, chairs, and tiki torches to enjoy the view of the water. The beach area was pretty roomy and we saw lots of fish off the dock area (LOTS of parrot fish, a baby barracuda, yellow tang, and other colorful tropical fish). We even watched an evening of tarpon action at the neighbors' dock which had underwater lighting that attracted them. Unfortunately, we were unable to allow our dog to be off-leash at the resort as it is not closed in - the large entrance gate is left open at the road and we were afraid to have our dog run out the gate onto the highway. So, we were limited in our relaxation having our dog leashed to us the whole time. However, you don't hear the highway at the resort and the room was very quiet, didn't hear the neighbors, etc.. Overall, we would definately stay here again, and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Unit 4 has a nice (partial) view of the water. Seemed to have the best water view of all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank indianakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a tough place to review because it has pros and cons. We loved it, and will definitely go back. A lot of our friends will also love it, but not everyone will.
First: We like small places with personality---no concrete high-rise boxes or acres of asphalt---and the grounds here are beautiful. Plenty of thick green grass, shade trees, ferns and flowers, and open space. The grounds really are like a park.
And we wanted waterfront----not just a boat ramp, or a seawall (which is what you get in a lot of Keys places thjat advertise "waterfront") --but a real sandy "beach" area you can lie on and access the water from. It's right here.
Here's the big surprise that was really great: the snorkeling off the beach rivals the reefs. Amazing tropical fish and sea life right there. Even the few Keys places that do have a beach usually just have an empty sandy bottom---sure, you can see bottom, but there's nothing to look at. Here, there are docks and other structures that provide shelter and attract fish, so the snorkeling is just terrific.
They also have paddleboats and bikes guests can use at no extra charge, any time.
Here's the down side: the interiors are old and tired. They are spotlessly clean, and everything works, and the kitchen has everything you need (or at least everything I can imagine needing; their web site is more detailed about what's there or not).
But things are definitely tired and show signs of wear. Just a few new fixtures and some minor fix-up of dings and dents would make a world of difference.
If you're looking for a place featured in a design magazine, or for a rocking bar scene and crowds, then this is not the place for you.
You also need to take whatever personal items you want with you, or drive about 3 miles to the nearest stores, bars and restaurants. We had no problem at all, going by their own website and just asking before arrival, knowing what we needed to take and doing so.
In short, if you're looking for trendy luxury, bars and service, you probably won't like this.
But if you want a quiet, uncrowded green spot with terrific snorkeling and pet-friendly, this might be the place for you. It definitely was for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
8.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
6.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.3 mi away
Caloosa Cove Resort
Caloosa Cove Resort
#1 of 7 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Gate Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gate Court

Property: White Gate Court
Address: 76010 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 1528, Islamorada, FL 33036-4000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, secluded getaway, where Pets are always welcome. Only 7 units on 3 acres of tropical beauty, with old time charm and modern comfort. 220 Feet of private white-sanded beach area, free dockage, great snorkeling and night fishing, complimentary beach towels, free use of Kayaks and bicycles. BBQ grills for each unit, filtered water supplied for each refrigerator, fully equipped kitchens and more. Personalized attention, great hospitality. We have a brand new Dock!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Gate Court Hotel Islamorada
White Gate Court Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing