We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Was Wonderful!”
Review of White Gate Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Gate Court
Certificate of Excellence
Demotte, IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It Was Wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 June 2007

My husband, myself, Zoso (Black Lab), & Tucker (Beagle mix) enjoyed a wonderful weeklong stay at White Gate. Our unit was clean and staff was very accomodating! They supplied human and pet beach towels, so the dogs were able to enjoy the beach with us! With the gas grill at our cottage, and the range top in the unit, we didn't even have to leave the resort! But we did - taking a bike ride on the bikes provided by the resort. The grounds and beach area are great! It was a true "Keys" cottage resort as I remember it from traveling 20 years ago to Islamorada as a child. Deb in the office was super and helped with giving us ideas for dining, etc. If you are looking for a relaxing, laid-back stay with your pets, this is the place! I would highly recommend White Gate to everyone looking for a nice clean pet friendly Florida Keys experience!

  • Liked — The beach & accomodations
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nancee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    23
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
46
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

After reading a few of the reviews here I was worried about White Gates and I do have to say the reservation process leaves a bit to be desired (more later).

While White Gates is not The Ritz it is comfortable and well kept. Our Villa was clean, bug-less (ants are always a problem in Florida no mater how hard you try), and even came with beds and bottled water for the dogs.

The water area was neat and tidy, it has a nice little sandy area and some steps so the dogs could get in and out of the shallow water easily.

While it is a little pricy it is a nice place to come to vacation with your dogs and I think at the end of the day, when you can see your pups smile it’s all worth it.

Now about reservations: If you are looking for 1 or 2 days, be patient with the owner. It seems that she likes to hold rooms for people who want longer stays. While this is ok, I think it would be beneficial if she could look back at years past to give you a projection of availability.

  • Liked — Dog Friendly
  • Disliked — Reservations process
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERORl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My husband and I had the most relaxing, beautiful, 4-night stay with Bella, our Yellow Lab. I just read some of the negative reviews and I must say, I think those people weren't really looking for a "Keys experience." The cottages were immaculately clean, simply but tastefully decorated - a perfect Keys place. We were not looking for any Ritz Carlton or even Hilton experience, and we got exactly what we were looking for - a very clean, quiet, relaxing spot where both Bella and we could get into the water. There are not many places in the Keys where you actually can get into the water - it's all around you but good luck getting into it, with all the rocks, grass, etc. This bayside beach bottom did have some rocks, but you could still get into the water and Bella (our Lab) was absolutely waterlogged - loved every minute! Plus there's plenty of open space; she could run around free even though we kept the leash with us in case other dogs were put off by her overly friendly nature. And each evening we sat at one of the tables by the water and watched the sunset; just another day in PARADISE! We were so happy with White Gate that we're going back for another 4 nights in September - just booked it today.

  • Liked — Extremely dog-friendly
  • Disliked — Access into the water a bit slippery
  • Tips/Secrets — Be ready to relax
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn&Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

This is a dog lover's paradise. Plenty of room to run and swim, it was great for humans too. We would not hesitate to go back. The grounds are beautiful and so are the cottages.

  • Liked — easy access to water no elevators small but quaint
  • Disliked — no view from room
  • Tips/Secrets — book close to the water
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

This was by far the nastiest experience ever. We stayed for one awful night out of six we had paid for. We honestly didn't know if we would wake up the next morning the stench from the pillows and sheets was so foul. The room smelled as if two lowlifes had literally been lying in bed chainsmoking cigarettes for three years in a row. The air conditioning filter had never been changed and it reeked with a powerful stench that was undescribable. We requested a refund due to the positively uninhabitable conditions but were denied. The people who run this stinking dump will get theirs eventually. By the way, the "white sandy beach" is a slimy boat ramp you'll be lucky not to break your but on. This place is disgusting beyond belief.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
18 Thank valencia113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2006

After reading good although mixed reviews about this place, I took a chance and booked it for a short holiday for my husbands birthday with our dogs. White Gate Court advertises that the rooms are charming and big breeds must be supervised as well as a tropical park between the cottages and highway. The rooms are worse than any shoddy motel room imaginable and are quite decrepit. Rusty walls, rusty exposed waterheater, gritty floors, lumpy rickety furniture. The faucets were almost completely rusted away and the water made a huge noise when it finally came on. There were ants and other bugs, etc. The airconditioners struggled to keep up with the heat and of course had to run all the time. A huge Rottweiler from one of the cottages roamed the premises night and day and was completely unsupervised, intimidating not only our dogs but us as well. Eating and preparing food in the kitchen was like trying not to touch too much in order to stay clean. Not a pleasant experience. The tropical park was a few palm trees, a scrubby bare lawn and one could hear traffic.

There was a person filling in for the owner and she was nice but fairly unconcerned.
There were other friendly dogs on leash with whom my dogs got to play. The bed was comfortable although the side tables swayed when you touched them. I was afraid they would collapse. The small beach and water were nice and there was a good pier for boats. There were chairs and lounge chairs with umbrellas to sit and enjoy the water. The cleaning staff were nice.

This place is really, really expensive. You must pay for your entire stay upfront and now I can see why. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank drjfkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2006

Well, just before we headed home, my wife and I thought we would scout out a few places in Islamorada for next years vacation. On the website, White Gate looked very nice and they allowed pets. Sounded great. In person, it was a different story.

Unless you like a rude, chain-smoking Hungarian in a housedress as a host, this is not the place for you.

She didin't offer to show us around was disparaging of the other resorts and basically said not to bother her until next year. She needn't worry.
We didn't walk out of there........we ran.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
18 Thank yellowtail35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,308 reviews
8.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
5.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caloosa Cove Resort
Caloosa Cove Resort
#1 of 7 in Islamorada
129 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
608 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Gate Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gate Court

Property: White Gate Court
Address: 76010 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 1528, Islamorada, FL 33036-4000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, secluded getaway, where Pets are always welcome. Only 7 units on 3 acres of tropical beauty, with old time charm and modern comfort. 220 Feet of private white-sanded beach area, free dockage, great snorkeling and night fishing, complimentary beach towels, free use of Kayaks and bicycles. BBQ grills for each unit, filtered water supplied for each refrigerator, fully equipped kitchens and more. Personalized attention, great hospitality. We have a brand new Dock!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Gate Court Hotel Islamorada
White Gate Court Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing