We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lookout Lodge Resort
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great place for sunsets and fun. The marina was great for the boat- did not have to worry about waves or currents.
A little closer to the main road than we would have liked. If you take your dog, be aware that there is a cat that roams the property.
Little disappointed that the tiki torches get turned on at sunset and off at 9PM. (Barely an hour diffrence in the summer, seems like cheaping it out) They should be on a timer so they go off automatically.
Rooms were clean, a throw rug would be nice on the tile floors. Housekeepers were very nice and accomodating.
Janet was very accomodating and went out of her way to make our stay great. Other staff members seemed a little rigid and inflexable in rules so as to prove they were the boss.

Room Tip: Make sure to take your own pillows if you can. Room 105 was great- it has a sreened in porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank law321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Islamorada is a great town to relax in. Right next to mile marker 88, it has a cool beach right next door to rent paddleboards, kayaks, beach furniture (you need not rent on the Lodge property). The best casual restaurant I have been to in memory is across the street, M.E.A.T.. The Lodge is 10 miles to snorleking and fishing outings our of Key Largo which was amazing. Tarpoon feeding 10 miles in the other direction. The Lookout is just in a great spot. All of the staff is very nice except one night when the manager on duty was highly inebriated. Even so, our family had a great time. The Bedding package and bathrooms are old and not nice but who cares, you are in the Keys!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridalesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Apon arrival the motel was very clean and neatly kept...front desk clerk Ron was very helpful ..the rooms are fantastic and clean...we picked RM. 105 which was a one bedroom and a kitchen .. with a million dollar view of the gulf ...stunning! I will return here again A+ motel...thank you Ron!! Doug & Jackie Dorsey

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380sl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We always stay here on route from Miami to Key West. Just half ways. A nice little hotel with good and nice management. Good restaurants near by. Easy to have a quick swim just before bedtime and also in the morning.

Room Tip: There is no need for a swimming pool, the location is just on the waterfront.In the beach area there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Although we normally go to Islamorada 3-4 times per year, our "usual" place was booked, so this was the first time we have stayed at the Lookout Lodge. It will not be the last. The room was outstanding and clean, the view was breathtaking, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. It shares a hedge with the restaurant/bar Marker 88 which features a beautiful beach, so we did not have to get back into our car from the time we got there until the time we left. Private beach, cocktails, wonderful food, all in one spot. We could not have been more pleased. It can sometimes be difficult to find a pet friendly place that is "up to par" (we have a large, 115 lb. dog so we know the drill), but this place definitely impressed us.

Thanks for a great time, guys. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I booked a room there after looking at some of the reviews, I thought it didnt look bad. Big mistake there were a few good things, the people running it were very nice, there was a very good restaurant right next door which made it easy for lunch and dinner (no breakfast served).
Other than that the beds were absolutely Horrible. I just dont understand how some of these people said the beds were great, not sure where they were sleeping. Ugg the room smelled clean yep all you could smell was clorox. The walls are PAPER THIN we couldnt fall asleep because the people in the next room were so nosy. Then were awakened at 4am by them fighting. Had to go to drug store next day and buy ear plugs.If just for over nite I guess it would be ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmo834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I did a nine-day stay in Room 105, bayfront, and I have to say that I found this place to be delightful. This isn't the Ritz or the Grammercy; it's the Florida Keys olde-style experience in spades and it's worth the price of admission. Fronting Florida Bay and the Keys' glorious sunsets this spotless inn and grounds are perfect for couples and families with children. Rooms are either studio efficiency or suite and the best ones are facing the bay, rooms 105 and 205 would be my personal choice to advise you about or if you need more space the two-bedroom over the office might work.

Food is readily available as Marker 88 is right next door, the Green Turtle, Islamorada Fish Company not too far away and Key Largo's "The Fish House" is a twenty minute drive. Groceries at the Winn-Dixie at Tavernier, great selection of fresh produce but get your fish and seafood elsewhere, Islamorada Fish Company being the first choice.

Steaks? Buy at The Trading Post, a gourmet grocery, prices high as hell compared to non-Keys areas but worth it.

There is no fishing at the Lookout Lodge, the entire area being protected by agreement between owner Don and the FWC so that children staying there can see the fish in the nightly lighted lagoon and can swim without fear of fishhooks. The Lookout Lodge offers kayaks for rent only to guests, there is no diving or snorkeling operation on site and the place is self-contained and quiet for the most part and I highly recommend it for all.

Great stay, great spot and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Bayside 105 or 209; avoid rooms close to US 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiminiZane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
7.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,411 reviews
2.7 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
428 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
758 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Islamorada
736 reviews
9.5 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lodge Resort

Address: 87770 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3051
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range: £139 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lookout Lodge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lookout Lodge Resort is designed to be your home in Islamorada while in the upper Florida Keys area. 1 & 2 bedroom suites with beach front sunset views are our specialty. Our resort offers private swimming & sunbathing areas (no pool), with chickee huts, lounges and lagoon. We afford swimmers, sunbathers and kayakers quiet pleasurable hours in the Florida island sun. For scuba divers and snorkelers: beautiful scuba diving, snorkeling, and lobstering in ocean reefs are just minutes away! We custom design island weddings on our Islamorada beach. Come on down as the Florida Keys await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lookout Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Islamorada
Lookout Lodge Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing