We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Location and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lookout Lodge Resort
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Location and Comfort”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I never regret coming back to Lookout Lodge each year. So far from what I hear 2014 has been the best season in years and you can tell. Everyone from the hoteliers to the restaurant staff to the fishing and diving guides are breathing a sigh of relief. I also noted a lot of improvements. Charter boats have been kept up, dive shops painted and even the road to the Keys has been repaved.

I checked in rather late, just as the manager was ready to close which is at 9. But Gregg took the time to welcome me back, ask how I was doing and if I needed anything before he went home. I was good, just needed a comfy bed. He checked me into 106 which has a great view of the marina, There were a few people here to fish and they had their boats docked. I missed the legendary sunset that night but sine I had most of the week that would happen when I do my tradition BBQ on the deck!

Gregg had already turned on the air so when I opened the room door I got a comforting cool breeze hit me. As I put my things away I could not help notice all of the improvements - new spreads, new curtains, new paint - wow they were really doing a nice job. The next day I asked Don, the owner what was up. He said he has been working on a room improvements punch list painting everything lighter, tropical colors, replacing the darker drapes and curtains with nicer and lighter patterns, putting flat screen TVs in all of the room and on the waterfront front, changing out all of the screens.

For me it seemed more than necessary as last year I was just fine with the rooms. They were clear and comfortable and who care if the 32" TV was a tube unit! But I admite I did enjoy the improvements, their personal attention and OMG the sunsets are to die for! Can't wait to return in the fall!

Room Tip: If you travel with another couple or family the two bedroom suites are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ecoguides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    35
    11
    10
    14
See reviews for
36
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The location of this hotel was great, located at Islamorada it was less crowded than Key West but close to all the attractions. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. The hotel had outdoor tables, hammocks, seating, and BBQ so meals could be made and enjoyed outside. It did not have a pool but was located next to marker 87 restaurant with a beach (the Keys do not have a lot of beaches). Kayaks and stand up boards could be rented at the beach. Marker 87 is a good resturant with a great bar.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have a oceanviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As I read from several others, I am also reluctant to write this review. Mostly because the staff was so nice an accommodating. Great service can be found here, however, the rooms can't be ignored. Depending on your standards, some may find the rooms old, worn, and cramped. The bathroom was SO SMALL. Larger, taller guests will most likely be seriously uncomfortable here. My wife is about 5'5, 150 pounds (not very big) and could barely close the bathroom door after walking in the closed space. The bed coverings are also quite ancient, but comfortable enough. Its difficult to get past the extremely worn look, but our room was very clean. Our Keys experience was fabulous, and the room didn't subtract from it at all. There just isn't thing terrible, or exceptional about the living space. Its just average. On a closing note, the creme brulee at the restaurant next door is scrumptious!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Q M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I checked out of this hotel 1 week ago today. The reviewer directly beneath mine said it all. The staff here were really very nice. The hotel is old and looks it. The shower was difficult and I'm a very small adult, about the size of your average 12 year old boy.

The carpet was ucky, to be honest. I think if they just did some updating, it would be a nice place.

I'm not worry we stayed there, but I also wouldn't go back. I found it not up to my cleanliness standards and...I'm not a 4-5 star hotel girl. I grew up camping and have stayed in old cabins in our national parks. These cabins were in much better shape than Lookout Lodge Resort.

Sorry guys who work there...you're all terrific. Perhaps the owner would consider updating and investing in new carpeting, new ceramic tile, etc... The vancouver reviewer was right...the ceramic was worn and chipped enough that it does look dirty or like there are dead bugs on the floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I'm conflicted about posting this review but after much thought, I've decided to do so:

First, let me say that the staff at this hotel were very pleasant and helpful. That's why I didn't want to post this review. But the negatives about this hotel really, really dampened our 4-night stay on the keys, so I'm posting this in case someone else who is similar in likes/dislikes is considering staying here.

Our original room was at the end of the building, closest to the highway, on the ground floor. The kitchen area of the room and the bathroom featured ceramic tiles on the floor, but the tiles were worn to black in many areas, making them look very dirty. The carpet in the bed area was dark, worn, and looked dirty. The walls also could have benefited from a cleaning. Everything looked old and worn. I always wear indoor slippers when staying in hotels so this level of cleanliness (or non-cleanliness) really bummed me out. The room also smelled like it had been fumigated and there was white powder in the corners near some of the door jambs. I didn't touch it, but to me, it looked like some kind of bug poison.

The room was very cramped for us (2 adults, 2 kids under 11 yrs old), partly because we didn't want to put anything on the floor, so stuff was piled on chairs and the table.

This is not what I expect from a room that is costing close to $200/night.

After some discussion, my wife went to the office and asked if another room was available. The young woman working the desk was very helpful and she offered us the ground floor room at the other end of the building. This was a larger room with a screened-in balcony and a separate bedroom. It would cost us an extra $100 (so almost $300/night!) but we hated the original room so much that we took it.

This new room had enough space for us, plus it was also brighter, thanks to the balcony. It still smelled a bit like the first room, plus the bathroom toilet was loose and would rock a bit whenever you sat on it. It also could have used a thorough cleaning. Its carpet was similarly worn and dirty.

On the day of our last night at that hotel, we had to move to the room directly above, because our current room (ie: the 2nd one we stayed in) was reserved for someone else. We had plans to go out snorkelling so the manager graciously offered to move all our belongings, as well as the contents of the fridge, to the new room. So we just packed up our stuff, left it by the door, and when we returned later in the day, everything had been moved for us. Great service!

This third and final room was cleaner than the second, but it was still below our expectations of cleanliness. Also found a roach under the kitchen sink but I guess that's to be expected in these types of climates.

Oh, the pillows were also overly puffy, making it hard for me to sleep without putting a kink in my neck. And the mattress or box spring creaked every time I moved.

On the plus side, this hotel was literally right on the water. They had a nice water-front area where you could grill food, relax in hammocks, and look at the water. There were also steps so you could walk into the water and swim (water was about 3-4 feet deep for quite a ways from the shore). No beach, though.

They also had a little break water where you could dock your boat, so I could see how this place would be popular with boaters.

Oh, there was also a kayak rental place next door, as well as an outdoor restaurant (about 75 ft away) and appeared to feature live music EVERY NIGHT. So if you like to relax outside WITHOUT live music, then this is not the place for you!

I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it for people who have standard requirements for hotel cleanliness. The place isn't horribly dirty, but it is below average. So if that's the kind of thing that bugs you, then you won't enjoy a stay here. I've stayed in worse places on my own and didn't mind. But when I'm travelling for a relaxing holiday with my wife and kids, my expectations are higher, especially when I'm paying $300/night! I will say, though, that I am perplexed by the posters who found this place to be very clean. Oh well, different strokes for different folks. In my defense, this is the first time I've stayed somewhere and posted a complaint about its lack of cleanliness, and I don't stay at places like the Hilton, either.

This was our first time to Florida, and while at the Keys our plan was to go sightseeing, not hang out at the hotel. In hindsight we should've gone for something away from the water in a larger area like Marathon, where we would be paying for a higher quality room rather than pay for a great place to watch sunsets from.

But like I said, I do feel bad posting this because the staff were very friendly and helpful. Well, except for one guy who lectured me in front of my 8 yr old daughter when we were coming back from the restaurant next door because we stepped over the 2 ft fence instead of going through the proper gate. I immediately apologized for the mistake yet he continued to lecture.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lars582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I have to admit, with the mixed reviews I was skeptical but wanted to stay in the area and this was the best place to get two bedrooms at a reasonable price.
First of all, this is a 'boutique' type of motel. The rooms are different configurations. If you are looking for a Hilton or HI, then don't stay here.
We were greeted by Greg on our arrival and he was friendly and helpful. The room (two bedroom w/kitchen) was very clean and everything worked. It is stocked with some dishes, glasses and silverware; when I go back again I would stop at the supermarket in Tavernier to pick up some food first.
The grounds are really well kept and the view on the water is phenomenal. There's a little beach next store where you can rent kayaks and boards. A few tiki huts for shade along with a couple of gas BBQ grills.
All the staff was friendly and we're definitely going back again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank phantomco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have spent hours to find a quite and nice place in the Keys and I'm very happy to say I did find a rare jewl. My husband and I spent one week at this resort and absolutely loved it. From our room we had a direct few on the Golf of Mexico. The area was quiet at night. I was surprised how little we heard of the people living upstairs.
The staff was super nice and helpful. We felt very much welcome and at home. Since there are not many rooms it is easy to get into a conversation with the other guests of the resort.
I would very much recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing get-away. Thank you very much to the Lookout Lodge Resort Team - we had a great stay.

Room Tip: 106 has got to be the best room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swedishland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
7.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,336 reviews
3.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
737 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lodge Resort

Property: Lookout Lodge Resort
Address: 87770 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3051
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lookout Lodge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lookout Lodge Resort is designed to be your home in Islamorada while in the upper Florida Keys area. 1 & 2 bedroom suites with beach front sunset views are our specialty. Our resort offers private swimming & sunbathing areas (no pool), with chickee huts, lounges and lagoon. We afford swimmers, sunbathers and kayakers quiet pleasurable hours in the Florida island sun. For scuba divers and snorkelers: beautiful scuba diving, snorkeling, and lobstering in ocean reefs are just minutes away! We custom design island weddings on our Islamorada beach. Come on down as the Florida Keys await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lookout Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Islamorada
Lookout Lodge Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing