We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we splurged for the oceanfront suite--”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
s.c.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“we splurged for the oceanfront suite--”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

And it was awesome. Everything was very clean and the maids never once bothered us but seemed to know when we left the room and whisked in and straightened up. We had a great huge balcony and a living room with a flat screen TV. Small kitchen area, but I wasn't cooking.The bed room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful with lots of flowers and it was always in pristine condition. We enjoyed ourselves very much and would go back--asap if we could!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellettfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    279
    132
    50
    49
See reviews for
222
311
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Two nights at this hotel, mid week. One couple in the least expensive room with view of greenery, the other in a suite with view of the ocean. The welcome was friendly and fast. Oddly at a hotel with these prices they hand you two towels for the beach and ask you to return them at checkout. The budget room was in the older section of the hotel. It was clean, small with a little screened in porch, decor dated but clean. Very small bathroom with no vent for oders. You may as well have been in the bathroom with whoever was using it. It had a very noisy AC unit over the door. Outside the door was an Ice machine and vending machines, both noisy. It also seemed that housekeeping liked to park their carts there. At close to $200 American a day I would not stay in this room level again. The suite on the other hand was very large and lovely. My friends only complaint with that room was that they had ants. The included breakfast was what you would get at just about any discount hotel / motel. The location is perfect for Islamorada with lovely grounds. If you can spend the money for an ocean room go, Otherwise look elsewhere. P.S. The beds were very, very comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from #105, 106. 107 my guess is they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acawray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We loved this resort! Great, friendly staff. Clean, well maintained.
Awesome for families or couples!!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovellem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our group was there for the fishing. I cannot imagine a more convenient location. We walked to the docks (50 yards). About five great bars/restaurants within walking distance. The hotel accommodations are adequate for those all about fishing and carousing (very little time in room). Unfortunately, we did not have the best weather or catch many fish. Still, I would return to the Chesapeake resort without reservation (though recommended).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfield ct
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A great time here. We choose the perfect week to come- April 18. Spring break families were gone. We had the place almost to ourselves, which is probably very unusual. The setting was beautiful and everything was very clean. Two pools to choose from and there was a great outdoor pavilion to sit and eat or just relax in. If you want, you can grill your own meals there and enjoy a lovely view.
We had a room with view of tennis courts. It was the only building with screened in porches. These were the least expensive rooms but we were fine with that, since the weather was great and we were outside the whole time. These rooms only have double beds and a small, modest bath but were clean and fine for us. Beds very firm. Didn't check out the rooms with water views so I don't know how they compare. We always love the free breakfast hotels because we hate waste time going out to search in the morning. They had lots of tables outdoors where you could enjoy your breakfast peacefully. And there was plenty of food available here.
We did a little kayaking and tennis, and a bit of paddleboating. We didn't take advantage of either the boat or the bikes, but they were available. The 18 dollar a day fee didn't bother me because of free parking, breakfast, and water. We paid 161. per night for our room.
We would come back here. Plus there were lots of good restaurants within 5 minutes drive.

Room Tip: A great time here. We choose the perfect week to come- April 18. Spring break families were gone. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parentswithfourkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, GA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I had no idea what we were going to experience. The reviews on here were mixed but the pictures looked good. The Resort is beautiful. Small but charming and well cared for. Very convenient (next door) to 3 great restaurants. We stayed in 602, had a fabulous view and the suite was clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for peace. If you go, be sure to lay in a hammock under the palm trees and feel the ocean breezes. And say hi to our new best friend "Bert, the pelican". You'll find him every morning sitting on the rock.

Room Tip: The 600's have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My siblings and our spouses (8 total) joined together for a short reunion at the resort just last week, April 2012. We knew of the place from my brother in law so we expected it to be nice. I didn't know just how nice it was going to be. We all had rooms overlooking the ocean, in King suites. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean as well as the bathrooms. We would sit out on our balconies for coffee in the morning and watch the sun rise. It was absolutely beautiful! I would go back a million times.
The staff was all very friendly, helpful and engaging. We did everything from kyack, swim in the 2 clean heated pools, play tennis, sail, relax on the beaches, sip wine under the tecki huts, enjoy a variety of breakfast items, read the local papers every morning and bike ride.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toots03225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
1.5 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.9 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada
Chesapeake Beach Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing