We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats and mold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom villa with kitchen. There was mold in cabinets and rat poop under the sink. I had three young kids and they didn't even have a bath tub. The kitchen had only four plates and we were a family of five. The place when we walked in smelled like mildew. The only thing good about the place was the view. My son got so sick the last night we were there we had to bring him to the emergency room. We still are not sure why he got sick. We complained about the mold and told them where it was they said they would clean it and never did. I would never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Just canceled a reservation I made over 9 months ago. They have held my 1 nights deposit [~$200] for that time and now are popping me $25 cancellation fee even though the confirmation says it is 30 days before arrival. I even have a replacement guest waiting to take this room. BEWARE their hidden charges!

Stayed: September 2012
5  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Resort is Awesome. Fish and snorkle right in front of the Resort. There are
no real beaches in the Keys. It's mostly rock. We like laid back relaxing places.
And that's what you get at the Chesapeake. The views are so beautiful. There
are hammocks and lounges everywhere. Great places to eat within walking
distance. Or get in the car and drive in either direction 5 minutes. 2 wonderful
pools. The people who are giving this place bad reviews are rich snobs who
need to stay elsewhere anyway. Great little resort in the Keys!!!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are smaller because it's the older part. The ocean front rooms and villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlovers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

If I could rate this a "0" I would!! This is a very old motel not resort. There is a reason that all of the pictures are taken from far away. There are 2 pools on the property: both old and gross. When we went they were clearly not cleaned in several days. The beach access is ridiculous. The "beach" consists of rocks not sand because during high tide the ocean comes up to their retaining wall which all of the lounge chairs sit behind. There is one set of stairs to the beach so if which are no where near where the lounge chairs even are. The rooms were just average in my opinion, definitely not worth the money I spent on it. We were scheduled to stay over labor day and checked out after the first night. I would of checked out as soon as I got there if I wouldn't have paid $210 per night, which the first night was non-refundable. The so called breakfast consists of microwaved eggs and bacon, a few pastries, and cereal.

Very rude customer service personnel at the front desk. When I talked to the front desk the day I checked in the said that my card had not be ran for the the remaining 3 days and that I could check out early without any penalties. However, when I checked into a nice hotel following my check out from Chesapeake they had ran my card and when my credit card company called and talked to the front desk to get them to release the hold the man at the front desk was a real @$$hole!! He said that "he technically should hold my money since I checked out early just to screw me out of the $400+ on the rest of my vacation."

This place is awful...I checked into the Hilton in Key Largo and would give them 10 stars compared to this dump!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the premium rooms because if your in a garden view its the old part of the the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PamelaH8617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

At first I thought it was too good to be true, boy was I wrong! This place was disgusting and nothing short of a rip off. I was under the impression I was saving money by booking online but was later informed my so called discount was a scam! Plus they overcharged my credit card by over $100.00. The staff was rude and not to mention the cleanliness of the room. We found spots of blood on our sheets one night then the second brown hairs which weren't ours bc we have black hair. Disgusting!!!! Then they did nothing to replace the dirty sheets. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chesapeake Beach Resort and we really enjoyed our stay! Our room was nothing fancy but cute and clean. The landscaping is beautiful with lots of water features, flowers and trees! We enjoyed the gorgeous views of the water and the boats. It was so relaxing and laid back. The staff is very friendly and courteous! We would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyMinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

For the past couple years me and my fiance have been traveling to Islamorada and we always stay here. It is very peaceful, nice pools and a beautiful relaxing view. the location is fantastic Whale harbor has great food. Brazalaina great food and good price for all you can eat. Also The Seafood buffet was delicious. and in walking distance from the hotel!

Room Tip: we always get the room facing the ocean and after you stay there once u will receive 10 percent of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
3.5 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
754 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £156 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada
Chesapeake Beach Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing