We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We saw this hotel while having lunch at the fish restaurant next door and called in to find out about costs/facilities etc. As soon as we saw the room, that was it - we booked! The staff were friendly, the view was fantastic, the room was great - large size, well furnished, modern, clean and with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We were very pleased with everything (it is definitely NOT a typical motel). Yes the highway runs past the front of the hotel (as it does past all the other hotels in the Keys) but we didn't get bothered by road noise at all. A great place to chill out, enjoy the hammocks and drink in the fabulous sea, sky and sunshine. We would definitely come back.

  • Liked — Quiet location and fabulous view
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Floridafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    278
    131
    49
    49
See reviews for
220
309
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2008

What a great 5 days! the people were wonderful and friendly, The accomidations were top notch and a great surprise. It is clear they have work hard to impove the property. Great furnishing, Greater TV and stereo. Greater still the extras they told us about like.. working with restrauants for special deals and VIP treatment. To have a resort where the View, comfort and staff are top notch so awsome. As a note the gardenview are furnished wonderfully but the ocean room are super. They also have cool villas with kitchens we are going to try on our next visit.

We went to Key West but return to Islamorada and The Chesapeake Beach Resort for 2 extra days

  • Liked — It was just remodeled with outstand design and comfort... and the view is to die for
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiss_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spf40
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

My family stayed at this "resort" for a week. The only reason we booked it was because the web site said that it had been renovated. We found out the renovation was not finished yet! I called the front desk to complain and was told that there was nothing they could do. I called around and could not find anywhere else to stay since it was school break so we were stuck! We had booked a two room ocean view suite that cost over 400 a night. There were holes in the walls in the main room, the bedroom and the bathroom. There was rust marks all over the kitchen and the flat screen in the bedroom did not work also, the housekeeper would turn off the air-conditioning after she finished cleaning the room so the room was stuffy and hot when we returned at the end of the day. The view from our room was very pretty but it looked over diesel fishing boats that would start up at about 730 in the morning and wake us all up. Islamorada is a nice town with great fishing and some really nice restaurants but if you want to stay somewhere nice and restful don't stay here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — I paid way too much for a horrid room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

My family and I stayed there for 4 nights. We had an Oceanfront View room. These rooms have a great view on the sea but more important they are not facing to the loud highway. So I would recommend to book one of those rooms - it is worth the money. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The buildings of the little resort are old. BUT they have renovated them nicely and the garden is very well maintained. New A/C, plasma TV, new and nice furniture, new beds and matress.
Breakfast is simple but good. With two pools and enough places and chairs it never felt crowded. The atmosphere is relaxing and perfect for vacation.
For dinner very convenient there is a brazilian steak house a seafood restaurant and a more basic restaurant at the marina right next door to the hotel. Half a mile south there is a post office and a CVS. At check in you get a helpful list of restaurants and shops. I would not go again to "Ziggies & Mad Dog's". Staff was not the friendliest and for what you get it is to expensive.
For 18$ a day you have unlimited access to the hotel's bikes and a lot of water sports gear. The kids love it to use it whenever they want.
If we come back to the Keys we would definitely stay at the Chesapeake Resort again.

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

I was amazed with the Chesapeake Beach Resort. My wife and I were greeted with the most friendly staff I've ever encountered. From the grounds keepers (who do an immaculate job and keeping everything trimmed and even groom the white sand beaches EVERY morning) to manager. My family absolutely loved the chartered fishing (no doubt that Chesapeake hired some truly professional fishermen because even after a cold spell had killed off thousands of fish, their Pro Anglers took us "back country" fishing and caught lots of Black Drum (very tasty with some Tony's seasoning and lemon). But i can't forget to mention all the kayaking and Hobie Cat sailing we did there as well. And after days and days of having the best time of our lives, each night we would come back to our spotlessly cleaned room, relax on the brand new furniture (which they put in the day we arrived) and watch HDTV (i don't know about you fellas, but i never expect a place to have large flat screen TVs with Hi Def football on. Definite plus about this place).

By the way, if you're military, you'll be amazed at how warmly you'll be recieved.

So i've sat here writing for the past 5 minutes only giving praise...and well...that's all i got.

And if you can...get to Ziggy and Mad Dogs, AWESOME FOOD!

  • Liked — The
  • Disliked — i guess that would be driving on A1A Highway
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank uniboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dg9068, Director of Sales at Chesapeake Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
We are happy to here you had a great vacation. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darien
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Not a resort. It's a typical two level motel right on route 1. The photos on their website make it look much better than it is. I agree with another reviewer here in that it needs a deep cleaning. It's very dated in decor and the building style itself. The "private lagoon" is very tiny. The "white sand" beach is not sandy at all, very rocky, which i suppose is like most of the beaches on the ocean here. I was very disappointed, and wished we had booked the Chica Lodge instead. Now THAT's a resort. The only good thing was the ocean view from our balcony.

  • Liked — view of ocean
  • Disliked — falsely represented as a
  • Stayed July 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank darien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dg9068, Director of Sales at Chesapeake Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
We do understand why you were disappointed. There was a management company operating the resort for the past seven years, that did run it down. The owners of the property have steped back in and have started the renovation that the property needs. It will be completed this year. we apologize to you for not having a plesant stay at the resort,and would love to have you return and see the upgrade to the resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2007

we stayed at chespeake lodge resort on Islamorada, and I would tell anyone GO and VISIT!! evrything and evrybody including the weather was
perfect, just a great relaxing vacation...we are returning next year!!

Helpful?
1 Thank vivp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
683 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada
Chesapeake Beach Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing