We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed for 2 days on our way back from Key West. We read the reviews before making a reservation and were disappointed with the condition of the resort. The location was good, but for the price the property seemed as if it had seen "better days." The bathroom was clean, but in need of a re-do. The room was just ok. Don't expect more than an average room.

Room Tip: Based on some of the reviews, there must be a newer section. Ask for a room in that section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLoversJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

This location looks GREAT on-line but in person is a different story. It is very out-dated, needs lots of repairs to the buildings and pools (2 small). We chose this location for the lagoon area to be able to dock our rented 19' boat for 2 days. We wanted to fish the back country flats with our 2 teenagers and let them experience salt water fishing. The fishing was great! We caught LOTS of mangrove snapper, pin fish, 2 bonnet nose shark, and a small bull shark.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room location on the upper floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at the Chesapeake Beach Resort for a week arriving on June 8. We stayed in a garden view room (204) which was on the second floor near the highway end of the building which means there was lot's of road noise during the day if you were sitting on the screened balcony.

These are the smallest rooms in the resort but the 3 of us managed. There is a nice sized refrigerator in the room but no microwave which meant that if you wanted to reheat anything that you had to go to the laundry room to use a microwave.

There are two pools at the resort the deeper pool on the northern end of the property was our favorite because it was a little cooler than the other pool, and all the little kids went to the other pool because it was shallower. There were plenty of loungers at both pools as well as loungers overlooking the ocean. The pools did look like they needed some maintenance the water was looking pretty cloudy by the end of our stay.

There is a $18/day resort fee that covers breakfast (which wasn't too bad), paddle-boats, kayaks, and bikes. There was no wireless internet in our room, we had to go use it in the office up front. The desk clerk said that a storm had knocked out the wireless. You also get one bottle of water per person staying in the room a day which was nice to stick in the fridge.

The one bad thing about Islamorada in general is the traffic can make it a real pain to make a left turn no matter where you are staying. You just have to take your time and maybe go the other way and turn around.

One nice thing about this resort is you can walk to Wahoo, Whale Harbor, or the Brazilian steakhouse.

I guess my biggest complaint about our stay here was housekeeping just didn't like to leave any toilet paper when they cleaned the room. If there was a nearly full partial roll that seemed to be good enough but we had 3 people in the room and the paper was really thin.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again because the grounds were so nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther away from US 1, we couldn't hear any noise in our room but sure could whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nitroxscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I got a wild hair and headed south from our Hm in Delray - looked around key largo - have never been- and then headed straight for the Chesapeake . Last visit was march of 2012, and its nice to be back . We go to the Cheeca lodge throughout the year, but now I can't remember why...
Familiar faces at the front desk and we got a wonderful rate on a premium ocean front suite.
Clean as a whistle (whatever that means- but VERY clean), well appointed -robes and bath stuff are cool.
Went to islamorada fish company to get key shrimp and smoked fish- we can cook the shrimp on our little 2 burner stove - sitting on one (of 2) balconies having a blueberry beer, listening to the u.s. open and watching the boats and pelicans....
Pure heaven!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were delighted with our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The layout and functionality of the room was excellent and the balcony was a real plus. The room had a mini fridge, a desk, a table for dining or cards or whatever, a very comfortable bed and a nice, large well stocked bathroom. Most comfortable. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room with good view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay here at the Chesapeake, had an oceanview room which was spacious and clean, the beach area and grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the view from the balcony was amazing. The pool was the warmest I had ever been in, it was awesome, overlooking the ocean. I think the prices are reasonable for what you are getting in that area, they give a AAA rate which was pretty good. I liked this part of the Keys the best as it was close to all the other keys and had more restaurants and things to do in the area, you can walk to a few of the restaurants. Unfortunately it rained a lot and I wasn't really able to use all of the amenities but did get to go out on a paddleboat one afternoon, they have only a few paddleboats and kayaks and the guy running it was sleeping and didn't seem to be too friendly when I went over there but I did find the staff to be nice, I checked in with Cesar who was very friendly and informative, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was our first time here and the property was fantastic. Great location with easy access to the other Keys. You can bring your own boat. Room needed some updating. Friendly staff. Resort fee should just be added to the room rate so you can compare to other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oahudrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,411 reviews
14.9 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
719 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £157 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada
Chesapeake Beach Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing