We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drop Anchor Resort(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
210
283
137
55
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
283
137
55
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatshot tuba garden view roomyogurtkey westbreakfast was includedocean fronttennis courtsevery morningfree kayakstiki hutbottled waterfishflat screen tvlaid backpalm treesfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have just stayed at the Chesapeake Beach Resort for a short "chill-out" break after a cruise around the Western Caribbean. We have stayed in Islamorada twice before as we think it offers the best combination of food , drink and entertainment options on the Keys. And that doesn't even include the numerous option for sports fishing along this stretch of US1 . This resort is the best of the three and we would say that locally only Cheeca Lodge is superior, but in terms of value for money the Chesapeake would get our vote every time. We prefer to spend our cash on food, drink and experiences rather than 5 star rooms and 5 star service once the essential standards of cleanliness and comfort are met.
The Chesapeake is intimate without being small and offers several option in terms of rooms/prices and pool/beach facilities. We stayed in 209 overlooking the tennis court. Although closer to the highway that the Ocean View rooms, road noise was not as issue although in that respect rooms 110 or 210 would be better options than, say, 101 or 201.
Resort staff were always friendly and busy keeping the property in good order. The man-made beach was very good, offering plenty of sunbeds and several hammocks. Kayaks and pedalos were free of charge to guests. The two pool areas and hot-tubs were well maintained and a reasonable size for swimming rather than simply lounging. The self-service breakfast was included in our deal and was good/ better than average with a good choice of cereals, pastries, fresh fruit salad and eggs, sausage, bacon etc.
Within easy striking distance of the resort , say MM 80 up to MM 88 there are numerous excellent options for food and drink with Lor-e-lei , Lazy Days and MEAT being the pick of the bunch. Wahoo Bar and Grill is right next door and is a great place to have your doorstep for a casual drink or lunch or dinner. When we next return to the Keys this resort will be our first port of call.

Room Tip: Go for Ocean View if you are happy with the ( naturally ) higher prices, but rooms 208,209 and 210 have nice garden views and balconys with a westerly aspect.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simba0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I booked this property from an internet search, and I was a little worried it wouldn't be as nice as it seemed. I was so pleased to find it was everything they say they are. Right off the highway, yet secluded and peaceful. Our room was ocean view near the little pool. They have a waterfall feature that really added to the tranquility of the place. We had a balcony, where it was OK to smoke (our room was non-smoking). There are plenty of places to find lounge chairs or hammocks to relax without being on top of your neighbor. The pool was not heated, which was too chilly for us when we stayed as the weather was a bit cool to start with. But the hot tub was fantastic! They serve a very nice breakfast daily with eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, bagels, toasts, cereals, yogurt, juices, etc. Great start to the day. There is not really a swimming beach, but wading was nice and the pool was nearby. Good time bird watching...seagulls, pelicans, osprey, vultures, and other water birds I don't know the names of. All the equipment was included in the low $18 resort fee. There was a sailboat, kayaks, paddle boats, bicycles, fishing poles, etc. I highly recommend this very relaxing and well staffed place for a perfect bit of paradise. Nearby bar and restaurants (at least 2 within short 3-4 minute walk). Also nice to visit the marina right next door at Whaler's Harbor to dream about boating and living on the water. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ocean view or ocean front and higher floors offer the best views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very nice staff. Gorgeous grounds, free use of bikes and kayaks!! Free wireless. We stayed in what was considered the cheapest room and it was absolutely great! balcony looking out on tennis courts, so nice and sunny. 2 beautiful but cold pools, little fitness center, lagoon area. Really nice. Too bad they didnt have an open tiki/snack bar then it would be perfect!! Great place for a family!!!!!! 5 minute walk to postcard inn for the nightlife :) iF i HAD BEEN STAYING LONGER I WOULD HAVE OPTED FOR AN OCEAN VIEW.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orca1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the Chesapeake Resort for 2 nights prior to a short Bahamas cruise and found the resort to be pleasent and quiet. If you look at the pictures posted either here or on their website they are what you will find when you arrive. The rooms were clean albeit a bit worn if you looked closely at every nook and cranny. Four of us stayed in a 2 bed room on the second floor (room 209) and were comfortable with space for us and our luggage. The balcony overlooking the gardens and tennis court was screened to keep the critters out and very nice to have coffee on. We did see a small iguana in the garden below and several geckos at night just outside the screening. The grounds are very well landscaped with gardens in different locations and the sand seemed to be raked smooth for maintenance. Staff were pleasent and accomodating. The 2 pools are nice and the hot tub was wonderful as it rained a good portion of the stay. There is a free continental breakfast that also has scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon in addition to the breads, bagels and cereals, coffee, juices and milk. Bikes and kayaks are available but we didn't use them because of the weather. As mentioned in other reviews they do sit right on the water and also have a very small lagoon/marina suitable for smaller boats, although a 40 foot sailboat was able to make it in to tie up. The views out over the Atlantic are wonderful with plenty of chairs, loungers and a hammock or two available to sit in to watch the sunset. Price was more reasonable than other lodging in the Keys for the dates we stayed (end of the holidays high season) and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank One_scuba_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a lovely room with an ocean view and balcony. The bathroom was rather basic.
We wanted to use a resort bike but the guy packed up at 5. We tried to use the gym area which was outdoors but the machines had all rusted so they were no longer adjustable.
Breakfast was adequate and you could take it outside and sit looking over the water - lovely.
There are kayaks and tennis courts but we did not get to use them, There were 2 pools and a jacuzzi. The pool water seemed rather cloudy to me and the side pool was quite cool. The edges of the pool were in definite need of refurbishment. All that said, though this is not a luxurious place, it has great views, a range of facilities and reasonable value fr money.

Room Tip: Ocean front worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaskelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews