We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside far exceeds inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outside far exceeds inside”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the resort for 4 nights w my husband and daughters. Had an ocean view room with a stunning view. The outdoor balcony was spacious and the best part of the room. The inside of the room was dated, tired and had the worst mattresses I think I have ever experienced. My husband slept on the floor. I was told the sleeper sofa had a full mattress and would be comfortable for the girls but it was miserable. The temperature control was excellent and quiet. The shower was acceptable and nice to have the double sinks separate. We also appreciated the mini kitchen w full frig, stove and microwave; fully equipped w dishes, pans and utensils. Grill is on property so we cooked in several nights and enjoyed eating in the outdoor cabana. Felt like we were the only guests there which was nice. Breakfast was very average and lacking in healthy choices so I bought my own breakfast food and ate on our balcony. The room cleaning services were also very average. One night we got back late and realized we had absolutely no toilet paper, and the soap we had used up was not replaced. We enjoyed the outdoor property a great deal and would give that part of the resort 5 stars. The property is clean and constantly maintained. Loved the ability to use the kayaks, paddle boats and sailboat. Although the seat on the paddle boat was broken and one of the kayaks was cracked and kept filling up w water and sinking. Also the pictures lead you to believe you will enjoy a nice beach but like much of the Keys there is no real beach. Can't really swim in the ocean water because when you start walking out it feels like muddy quicksand so it's really not for swimming. The location is wonderful but would not return mostly because of the awful mattresses and tired rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BJBRN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    276
    127
    48
    49
See reviews for
215
307
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Chesapeake. Everything was clean and nice. It is right on the water with great views of the sunrise. The breakfast was included and it is all I'd hope for. There are 2 pools, a hot tub and great sunning areas on the water front. Most resorts offer kayaks, sailing equipment and other beach things at an additional cost. It is all included free at the Chesapeake - FREE! I highly recommend this special spot in the sun.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Although the hotel office is right on US1, our ocean front room was quiet and very relaxing. My teenage son and I stayed 4/11-4/15 for spring break. Convenient location for access to Bud n' Mary's marina for fishing, Robbie's for the snorkeling trip, and lots of local restaurants. Room and grounds were well maintained and staff was friendly, especially the guy running the beach equipment hut. For most of our trip, it seemed like we were just about the only ones staying there, which was nice. Morning breakfast wasn't fancy, but variety of cold and hot food and allowed us to avoid going out. The hotel is clearly not new, but good value for the money and nice views of the ocean. We spent our free time playing in the pool, fishing near the marina, playing tennis (resort provided equipment).

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We traveled to Islamorada for 10 days and spent 8 days at this hotel. It was quiet, clean and we had a nice ocean view. They also had under building parking so your car wasn't roasting in the sun. The hotel offers a free breakfast every morning consisting of a nice variety of choices...eg. Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit....self serve but kept clean and orderly. Also get 2 complimentary bottles of water daily. There is a mini fridge in the room so you can store water, soda and leftover dinner portions from all the great local restaurants. Only thing lacking is an on-site restaurant. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: There are several room types from a hotel room, to two bedroom suites and little bungalows...I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longbranchliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a room with 2 double beds and a balcony with a great ocean view. We had a four night stay and didn't want to leave. It's in a good location for exploring further up and down the Keys. Desk staff were friendly and knowledgeable - happy to share tips about local restaurants, snorkelling locations, etc. The facilities available within the resort fee ($18 per room per night) included use of kayaks, pedallos, a small catamaran, su beds, hammocks, bikes, 2 pools and a tennis court. All were indecent condition and availability was good - we never had to wait to use any. Buffet breakfast was ok (crispy bacon, sausage patties, scrambled eggs, cereals, toast, bagels, croissants, cereals, fruit, yogurt...) and I was fine with the room. My wife says it could do with the decor being updated but I hadn't noticed. It was half the price and twice the size of the room we had in Miami. Room had a fridge & TV; beds were comfy. In summary, if you have active kids with you, I'd recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a great time staying at the resort. The rooms are huge and we had a balcony that faced the ocean. It was nice that the bikes, kayaks and paddle boats are included in the price. We had fun riding around the island. The free breakfast is well "free" so don't expect too much, but the place is quite charming. Not too busy when we stayed so we felt we had the area to ourselves most of the time. They have hammocks around the beach and nice spots to just hang out and relax.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelpage3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Great location - it is beautiful looking out over the ocean. The grounds are well kept. We had an ocean front room which was clean and perfect. Bed was firm but comfortable. This is not a luxury resort - but we weren't looking for that - we were looking for clean, comfortable, relaxing. This place met all of our requirements. The hotel was centrally located so we are able to go north to Key Largo or any place south easily. We did spend a couple afternoons simply lounging around by the water. There are kayaks, paddle boats, and bikes available with no charge (included in the resort fee). It would have been nice to have access to the bikes/kayaks earlier than 9 am.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.9 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada
Chesapeake Beach Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing