We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our 2nd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Once again, the Chesapeake Beach resort has made us ridiculously satisfied. If you're looking for a high-end hotel, keep going. It's a throwback-type motel that you would expect in the 50's or 60's but it really doesn't disappoint. It's quaint and the location is great. Unlike other resorts we've found throughout the Keys, they don't mind you bringing a cooler with beverages to the pool-beach area. The kayaks, bikes, pedal boats, Hobie Cat and various other activities are included in your stay. It's really a great value. We'll be back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard32796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    266
    117
    47
    47
See reviews for
208
288
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel because we have a 23ft Yamaha and wanted to launch and dock our boat at the hotel where we were staying. Upon arrival, James at the front desk checked us in quickly and our room was ready at 12:00 PM. Upon walking into our garden view room, I was overwhelmed by the smell of pledge cleaner. I have severe asthma and couldn't breath in the room. I attempted to air out the room however, the bugs were rolling in. I went back up to the front desk and asked James if he had any other rooms without the pledge smell. He said that he did not but would do what he could to fix the problem. After receiving approval from his manager Massiel (who is super friendly and accommodating) James took us to a different room that offered a breeze direct from the ocean. He also placed an air purifier in the room for hours in an attempt to remove the pledge smell. James and Massiel's effords worked and I was able to breathe for the 2 days we were at the hotel. THANK GOD!!
We live in Ft. Lauderdale and have stayed at several hotels in all of the FL Keys. Before coming to the keys, one must keep an open mind to their expectations. The hotels in the keys are not 5 star hotels by any means and are "no frills." As long as they are clean and free of bed bugs, you are good to go!!
The boat ramp is narrow, slippery and lined with coral which made launching and loading the boat quite difficult. The floating boat docks had cleats which were not attached parallel to the dock but rather in a 45 degree angle which caused scratches to the hull of the boat. Not all of the floating docks had fenders on them.
The continental breakfast is fabulous and is from 7-10 each day. They serve eggs, bacon, sausage,cereal, muffins and coffee/juices. We boated 3 miles south down to a very nice restaurant called Lazy Days and it was great!
Overall, the stay at this hotel was nice. The Chesapeake offers great service/staff, location is awesome, the premise itself is nice and the fact you can dock your boat here is a great convenience. If you or your family have severe allergies/asthma, be sure to call ahead to have non-invasive cleaners used during the cleaning process of your room :) Thanks again James & Massiel :) We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This place has so much going for it. The location is incredible. The sunrise is awesome and the grounds and offerings are nice. However they have let the place go. The ocean there smells horrible so I do not recommend swimming in it but the kayaks, paddle boats and other sports shack items are included in your stay. I did not find anyone there rude until I had to ask for towels. when we checked in there were only two towels in our room and five of us. We had to call three times to get towels sent up. We went on an early morning fishing trip the next day and came back to take a shower, our room had been cleaned but no towels. I went to two maid carts and they said they did not have towels for the rooms. They suggested getting pool towels from the front desk. I called and explained and got a huge sigh but did get my towels - thank goodness. Not sure why they have a hotel with not enough towels. The fitness center is a hut with free weights and a bike and out of order. the pools are nice but need a little refurbishing. The place could be super nice but it needs some clean up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBary, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Once again stayed here.. Brought family with us.. We had three seperate reservations.. We had the time of our lives.. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want. Staff were amazing friendly and attentive. Breakfast was always well stocked. The location is perfect with things to do and restaurants closeby. Rooms were well appointed and if we needed anything more it was readily delivered to us. On relaxing evenings we bbq'd on property and then the whole group retired to the tiki and played games. I could gush on about it... But they have never disappointed!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio suites... Regular rooms, king suite with a/c porch, studio suite with screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayntfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jupiter, fl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We usually stay at The Islander but decided to try Chesapeake Beach Resort and we really enjoyed it. Breakfast wasn't just continental. They had eggs/bacon/sausage/waffles etc and it was included in the price as well as their outdoor sports. Kayaks, bikes, paddle boats are all included. At The Islander, you pay $40 to use a Kayak all day and they don't even offer breakfast anymore. The staff was AWESOME! We lost our room key (a real key) in the water and they gave us another one, free of charge! When we went out on the paddle boat, I took off my Swiss Army watch and forgot it in the boat. A few hours later I remembered and when running down to the boat and it was gone. Went to the front desk and they had it there. I was so happy and impressed with these guys. I read another post where someones Bulova went missing but I kind of think that was their own fault since the rooms have safes and are free of charge. Room was clean and updated and it overlooked the ocean and the pool. I loved the parking because it's under the building so your car never gets hot and that's important in the Keys in July! We will go back for sure. Great pricing and includes a lot. If you've never been to the Keys just remember "resort" doesn't mean the same thing there so if you want a true, over priced luxury resort, go to Cheeca Lodge. We went parasailing there and it's gorgeous, but it's also a LOT more $$$$.

Room Tip: If you want a kitchen or to bring a pet, they have separate buildings but they don't have as go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bender45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed there many times before, the last time was last weekend. My husband left his watch (a $3000 Bulova watch) in the top drawer of the dresser. He went fishing, came back went to dinner, came back went to sleep. The next day he packed his cloths and left When he got home he noticed his watch was missing. Immediately he contacted the resort. They said they sent the manager over to the room and didn't find anything. (no one had moved into the room yet). I contacted the Monroe Police Dept. and made a report. I called the resort again and they were rude and didn't care. PLEASE DO NOT STAY THERE. THE STAFF ARE THIEVES. NO RESPECT FOR YOUR PERSONAL THINGS. When you go to the Keys you go to relax, if you do go to the keys, DO NOT STAY HERE, AND PUT ALL YOUR STUFF IN A SAFE.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. The staff are a bunch of thieves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mouse l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel was as nice as the big name resorts for a $100+ less. Clean, quiet, comfy beds, directly on the beach, balconies in all rooms, great restaurant with ocean views next door. I highly recommend & will stay again.

Room Tip: the ocean view rooms are the best, but the garden view room was very tropical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcajupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada
Chesapeake Beach Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing