We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
seaford, new york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

I thought this place was very peaceful, the grounds are beautiful and the staff was nice. The breakfast was also decent, yogurt, cereal, fruit bagels ect... I stayed in a villa 304 which was an efficancy, no one reviewed it so I thought I would give you a description. Nice size alittle dated but clean, bathroom could be bigger but how much time do you really spend inside. Went fishing on charter Suzanne right next door great skipper and mate had a blast, went out on capt. michaels party boat caught fish but to many people. Had fish cooked at lazy days the best highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carafid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    266
    117
    47
    47
See reviews for
208
288
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

We just returned from a 6 day stay at the Chesapeake. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel. We stayed in 307 which is an efficiency. The room was small (two double beds, tiny kitchen, and living area), but clean and since we were not in the room to much it was fine; the large flat screen TV, wireless internet, and screened in porch were nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the grounds well maintained, and the breakfast (muffins, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices and coffee) was good. We traveled with our daughters 11 and 13.

We enjoyed kayaking, paddle boating, swimming in the ocean and the pools, playing tennis and shuffle board, and relaxing in the jacuzzi. There isn’t much snorkeling, but there was decent fishing; we caught a variety of fish including snappers, grunts, small barracuda, and even a flounder and puffer fish. It was great family time.

Although we stayed during the height of spring break, the resort felt empty, there were enough chairs and hammocks and we never had to wait for a kayak.

The only downsides of the hotel was that each morning we awoke to a garbage truck emptying the resort’s dumpster – it wasn’t a big deal, but it was kind of annoying and our room was closest to the dumpster (the dumpster was behind a wooden fence, so we never noticed it any other time). There was also some traffic noise from Route 1, but with the keys being narrow, almost all of the hotels will have some noise.

We booked a 4 hour fishing trip in the Everglades flats with Mark Johnson (Florida Keys Fun Fishing) and had a great trip. Mark specializes in family trips and did a great job with our family. We went to 3 different sites, caught 6 sharks and a variety of other fish.

We enjoyed a trip to Anne’s beach, which is about a 15 minute drive south of the hotel. On low tide we were able to walk quite far out with the water still below our knees. The shallow water was loaded with crabs, small fish, and shells. We returned to the beach on high tide and saw a small shark swimming in the shallows.

We spent a day in Key West and enjoyed the sites; we liked the pirate museum.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank We_need_a_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green bay, wi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

After reviewing Trip Advisor, I settled on two places in the Keys. I called both to see if I could get an additional discount and Chesapeake Beach Resort was willing to give me one :) We stayed in Miami overnight and spent the day in South Beach w/ our 19 yr old daughter-perfect for her. Continued south later in the day and stopped at a grocerier to pick up H2O, wine, snacks, etc. I am so glad we did as everything was very expensive on the islands. There is a CVS near the resort. We stayed in Rm 210 -2 dbl beds, a cornor room, but it had a view of the ocean, something you would have to pay extra if you stayed in the villas ( recommended by another TripAdvisor member). Staff was very friendly.
There is an $18/day resort fee which includes bkft, fishing poles, tennis court, outdoor fitness area, catamaran, kayak, bikes, computer in the lobby, free Wi Fi, and parking. Robbie who manages the equip. very laid back and friendly. Docking for boats is also available. Remember FL sales tax, and hotel tax is 11%. We traveled to Key West on St Pat's and had a great time, ate outside, laid in the sun , did the trolley tour, and walked by the "72" bars on Duval St. Two hours to get there.
Back at the resort the weather was beautiful and relaxing. Two pools, a hot tub, paper everyday, bottled H20, and eating outside for bkft was a nice way to start the day. There is sand but the H2O has a lot of rocks in it. We snorkeled at John Pennecamp, $29/person plus rental of fins, mask, you must buy the mouthpiece. Many restaurants to eat at are near by, prices vary. Lots of different seafood, all you can eat buffet next door, but expensive. Saw many beautiful sunsets when we ate on the beach and lots of different birds. Shops nearby, able to run if you want on a side road, not Hwy 1. Great place to stay at! Two hours from Ft. Lauderdale Airport via tollway.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill2bz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

I can only speak on what i know and what i saw virgin took this hotel out of there book in 2008 and told us a couple of months before our wedding this was where we were to spend our honeymoon after getting married at St pete beach we was told we were in the holiday inn at key largo and told it was a better hotel well let's just say it was a dump!! i rang the chesapeake and thank god they had room for us and we left for there it IS OUT OF THIS WORLD I LOVED EVERY MIN they could'nt do enough for us noting was to much trouble lovely staff enjoyed the breakfast at the end of the day it's up to you if you want to eat it and what you eat the grounds were lovely and the waterside bay and to top it off wild mantee's on tap every day also a local police man was getting married while we were there so if it was good enough for him i rest my case and what alovely and friendly wedding party they were i will tresure my time there and i will return they made my honeymoon where virgin let us down since then and after alot of complaining and phone calls we did get a good will payment back from virgin but you know what i did'nt care this resort is something off a post card and i love it

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonChickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
369 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed at the resort over Thanksgiving weekend, so it was before the real tourist season started in the keys. We had room 410, ocean side suite. The view was like a postcard. It was stunning. The sunset and sunrise was both just stunning from this room. We had most of the resort to ourselves. There were non-motorized water sports available at no extra charge (probably already included in the resort fee). We took a kayak out for more than an hour and cruised along the coast. Just wonderful. We sat on the in the evening and overlooked the ocean. Perfect!

The breakfast that was included was more than adequate. we sat outside and watched the egrets and the cranes (again, another postcard setting). The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. The water was perfect and the location was great. The resort looked well maintained and seemed very clean in general. What more could you ask for?

We were heading for Key West for a couple of days as well. And we realized after reaching Key West (which is a total tourist trap compared to Islamorada) that we would have been better off staying in the quiet, clean and beautiful resort of Cheasapeake.

Ask about discounted rates. We managed to get close to $90 off each night after calling the resort directly.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyMetroNYCarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights for exploring Florida Keys. About 80 miles to Key West but easy and very scienic drive.
We had a sea-view room in an excellent position - wonderful sunrise views.
Great fish buffet restaurant next door (Whale Harbour).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

After locating resorts in the area, viewing the Chesapeakere's brochure (which was mailed to me) and checking the resort's web site, I secured reservations and arrived after a very long drive. Although the grounds are well maintained and ideally situated, once I entered my "villa" (#309), I felt I had traveled back in time to the 1950s. Other than the flat screen TV hanging in a corner of the room, the interior of the villa bore no resemblance whatsoever to the brochure photos. The interior of the "villa" called to mind childhood vacations at cheap roadside cabins. At $89/night this "villa" might be a find. At nearly $400/night, it's simply ridiculous. I canceled the balance of my stay and left the following morning. Complaints are too numerous but include: cheap, outdated, mismatched furnishings; closet-sized bathroom that has not been updated since the motel was built (although spa soaps were laid on the moldly window ledge); a noisy A/C wall unit with two working positions (off and extremely cold); and a plethora or rust and squeaks. This hotel does not live up to its advertisements.

  • Liked — waterside location
  • Disliked — totally outdated room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Property: Chesapeake Beach Resort
Address: 83409 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036-3526
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada
Chesapeake Beach Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing