We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the sand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This place was the BEST PART of my recent visit to the keys ! I never imagined what was hiding behind the curb appeal of the pets are Welcome Sign .. Looks like a time capsule of old florida charm .. The Manager showed me the space and i was hooked ..Built in 1942... This place has recently been tastefully redone and no expense was spared.. Great Beds , Great Showers, Cold Air, Hot Tub and Pool ...Beautiful Landscaping, Nice Furniture , I could Go On !! Please dont Hesitate to check these Folks Out

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkOatsvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

My fiance and I came down for a three day fishing trip unaware as where to stay. We found a motel up the road about 5 miles that was absolutely horrible! After calling a couple of places recommended by people who had previously stayed, we found the Sands. We were met by manager Kathy and her husband who were very welcoming, helpful and understanding of our situation. She was quick to show us a room before we made a decision and pointed out a little about the property thus allowing us to draw our own opinion. I was able to make a decision very quickly this was where we were going to stay.
We had our dogs with us this trip which my fiance and I soon found out was difficult to accommodate at other places. When explained, Kathy stated "we don't shun them we embrace them." and to me that made me feel very comfortable. The place had a very cozy, old keys style feel, but with some modern upgrades and outstanding views. My dogs played in the ocean for hours and we had no problems at all. There was use of a kayak (at no extra cost) and a nice little beach at the end of the drive, two grills, a hot tub (which was hot) and a clean pool.
As far as I am concerned Kathy and her husband have made this little hotel a nice place to visit and stay, whether it is for one day or a week. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get a away from everything. We even booked a year in advance to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bnh267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

we first booked into a hotel a few miles from here, where we were not very happy at all as it was too commercialised, we prefer small and cosy, which this place certainly is! we were much happier when we moved here , the rooms were very clean and the pool and hot tub were lovely, also only 50 yards or so to the sea, with a boat ramp.
the managers are very friendly, and all in all I would recomend this place to anyone. we will be returning

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DianeHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My family (me, wife, and 19 year old son) stayed here for 3 days while fishing offshore, then drove down to Key West, then back for another 4 days, and another day of great fishing (book a trip with Paul and Hal aboard the Reef Runner out of Whale Harbor http://www.reefrunnerfishing.com/ if you get a chance. We caught 40 dolphin, 5 tuna, 1 wahoo and a great time!) We loved the "Old Keys" feel of this quaint Atlantic side hotel. Bob and Kathy are very personable and you will feel like you are old friends. They made us feel at home right away. They also work very hard to keep the grounds and rooms in great shape. You will love all the little critters too! Hand feed the squirrels, talk to Tela and Dolly...the Parrots, enjoy all the lush, beautiful landscaping, flowers, etc. Very clean rooms with all the little things that make it even nicer. Bob and Kathy truly went the extra mile for us. This is a pet friendly place, but all the pets were well supervised and just added to the experience. The pool and hot tub were perfect temp, and very clean as well.
If you are looking for a 5 star, stuffy, expensive, resort type place this is not for you.
If you are looking for a wonderful, old style, laid back, clean place on the water, where the owners will treat you like family...then relax and ENJOY!! With all the extras offered...you can really save money too! You can take the kayak out, fish off the dock, grill out (both charcoal and gas grills on the docks) and walk to many great restuarants and bars.
THINK PINK!! :)
Thank you Bob and Kathy!!
Eric, Shenia, and Steven -

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is the kind of quaint "Old Florida" hotel that barely exists anywhere anymore. It is clean, quaint, quiet, friendly, and perfectly located. I can not imagine a better place for a low-stress getaway. The patio, hot tub, boat ramp, and dock are all excellent. Beautiful natural surroundings, wildlife, and pet friendly. I took my kayak, bike, and my little fishing boat, and just unwound. Its convenient to the famous Bud and Mary's Marina by land and water. I really look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISail_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed two nights and the room smelled heavily of mold and there was mold on the ceiling above the bed. A used shampoo bottle was left in the bathroom. Dogs were running loose and doing their business in the sand. I like dogs a lot but loose/unfamilair dogs visiting us on our "private porch" at breakfast was just not appreciated. Very nice scenery but the place needs more TLC and upkeep.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank key53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Lovely spot on the south side of Islamorada. I'd characterize the Sands as a small, boutique hotel with all the extras thrown in. Pool, spa, pier for sunrise coffee and fishing. While it's right on US 1, I never heard the traffic. The room was lovely and clean and well-air conditioned. Minutes from great dinner and sport fishing locations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,493 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada Hotel

Address: 80051 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: £106 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands of Islamorada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sands of Islamorada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing