We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy in love...Pet Friendly, the best forget the rest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Where to begin... This place is AMAZING, and like others afraid to brag because we want it just for ourselves!! We came by and drove in a year ago, and the same way we left. It was runed down. Not impressed at all. This time we were purposely looking for a pet friendly hotel/motel and when we look in tripadvisor we saw the Sands of Islamorada Oceanfront Resort was one of three in Islamorada. We met Immanuel the new Manager, he is a charm, personable, professional, very helpful and accommodating. We just had to stay. We did for three days, fully enjoy every bit of it. Room was immaculate clean. All amenities included, plates, cups, wine glasses, silverware, Kleenex, paper towel, etc... PET FRIENDLY!!! The view is amazing, the grounds were kept immaculate clean, remember it still has an Ernest Hemingway charm of the Dlorida Keys, and should never loose it. You ask and you shall receive, Immanuel goes above and beyond to accommodate your family pet and you in any way. The boat docks are super nice, the boat ramp is popular with the doggies as well, since it provides them with easy acces to the ocean to swim. Everyone is friendly, repectful and among anything everyone is just having a fabulous time. The hammock, the barbecue, the jacuzzi, the pool immaculate clean. Plenty lounge chairs and seating chairs. The sunrise views are expectacular! The two Macaos are super cute, they love to say Hello to you when you walk by. Thie is a fabulous jewel, a place to bring your family for reunion or get together, because that is what you feel once you check in...Family, Home... Can't explain what it is but our cat hid from us on top of the kitchen counter when it was time to go home... He just did not wanted to leave...had so much fun in this place and with the other pets which where all very nice and well behave, after all we who stay here love our pets and are all pet friendly caring people. We have seen other pet friendly places BUT hands down no other is like this one. The new owner should be very proud and we would like to encourage him to aloud Immanuel continue with his wonderful ideas of improving this property of 9 rooms. Two face the ocean. But regardless the common ground, the pier walk, the small beach area and the friendliness to the pets, like having the doggie bags and a fresh water station for dogs and boats to rinse after coming from the ocean through the boat ramp is a very nice touch. Again, so Florida Keys charming with a bit upscale for a motel and just 5 stars in our standing for all which makes you so sad at check out time. Immanuel we want you to know you have turn this place 180 degrees to amazing improvement and you're future visions are so amazing! We will return, we will tell everyone, because the Sands Of Islamorada Oceanfront Resort is here to stay and get better and better; we can't wait to be part of that experience. You are the best forget the rest.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed three nights with a group of adults and teens in one of the efficiency units with a small kitchen. The rooms and grounds were not luxury, but they were clean and comfortable. When relaxing watching the ocean we never felt crowded. The only real complaint was low water pressure in the shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We utilized the hot tub and grill and enjoyed meeting some of the other guests.

It's in a nice location. We brought kayaks down and launched them at the ramp, paddling to Cheeca Rocks for snorkeling one day and Indian Key State Park the next.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We went here for a few days with another couple who have a golden retriever, as we do. Took the dogs and threw in the Cockatiel for good measure. They don't mention a limit on pets, and there is no pet charge. You can't go wrong with this place if you have a dog that likes to swim.

The grounds are a bit on the rough side--not overly manicured, the pool is old but clean, the hot tub works (well, after they worked on it). The manager is new, we think new to managing a hotel, actually. Example: at the end of a long dock is a swim ladder. When a lady was trying to get out of her boat and climb up the swim ladder, the board it was attached to on the dock was coming loose. My husband helped her up, then told the manager. He said, "What should I do?" My husband said, "Take it off and call someone!"

The rooms are very clean and have sort of a 50s style. Some have one king; some two queens. They have a full-size fridge, microwave, very small coffeemaker, and small kitchen table. Nice size bathroom with shower. Good water pressure, lots of hot water. Note: no silverware or plates, just two wineglasses and coffee cups. There are plastic chairs and end tables outside the room, plus lounge chairs (again, plastic) at the beach area. There is one suite available upstairs with living room (sofa bed) and full kitchen, and porch/deck area. Beneath that on the first floor is a larger room with covered outside deck. Both these decks are direct oceanfront.

There is a launch ramp for small boats and docks to tie your boat up. Hoses everywhere to wash your boat and your dog. We took the dogs swimming via the launch ramp. There's very little boat traffic, so it is safe. There's a couple of picnic tables and a grill.

Don't go here expecting luxury. This is VERY typical "Old Keys." You have to like Old Keys rustic charm. There's a large birdcage outside with two large parrots, and the grounds are a bit iffy, as in old. But we had a ball with the dogs, and this is an area (mm 80, Overseas Highway) with a lot of fun shopping and good restaurants. In fact I hesitate to put out this review for fear it will get too popular with dog owners. But I can never stop myself from sharing dog-friendly places, and this place definitely is.

I'd give it a five rating if the grounds were a little better kept. When you first pull up you think, "Uh-oh," but the place grows on you. we will be back next year.

Room Tip: The large suite would be nice for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I can't praise this place enough! We were on a motorbike tour and arriving here warm and dusty was like coming to an oasis in the desert. The people were lovely and friendly, the room was fabulous and the bed was heaven.
I whole heartedly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glutenfreeswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I almost hate to tell everyone how much I love this place because I'm afraid there won't be a room available next time I want to stay here!
This is such a cute, charming, clean and cared-for hotel. The rooms are more like little cottages. We stayed in a downstairs room with 2 double beds, a large closet, a table and chairs, refrigerator/freezer, toaster, coffee pot, sofa, and of course a bathroom. Each cottage has its own entrance, They allow pets here for a small additional fee, and doggie cleanup bags are provided if you don't have your own. There is a private beach in front of the inn with a boat ramp, and a long dock where you can tie up several boats. Adirondack chairs are provided for your lounging pleasure! The swimming pool looked very clean, and there are a couple of beautiful birds on the property. I didn't hear them, but the caretaker said that they can speak a couple of phrases.
I think the ONLY negative thing I can say about the inn is that the electrical outlets need replacing, as they are stretched out and plugs do not stay in the sockets.
There are quite a few other places to stay in Islamorada, but I will come back to this one every time. The manager in the office went out of his way to accommodate us on 2 different nights.
Check out the photos of the rooms from other people on TripAdvisor! I am already planning an extended vacation at the Sands of Islamorada next year in room #19!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakkerBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This quaint little property is an idyllic setting. It is quiet, away from crowds and quite simply beautiful. We stayed in one of the efficiency units with a wrap around porch and beautiful view of the ocean. It is my understanding that this property is under new ownership as of Nov. 2012. The property is older and it appears they are working to improve it and hopefully will continue to do so, a few minor quirks but it would certainly not discourage me from staying again. The property manager is friendly and helpful and the property is dog friendly.

Room Tip: Room 18 and 19 are efficiencies with wrap around porches and incredible ocean views. Definitely wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justretired09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here with our dog and a small boat. The room was very clean and the bed was act ually comfortable! It is older but most are in the keys. If its reasonable in price it's not going to be modern. The manager was friendly and helpful. Must like dogs if you stay here. There are not many that accept dogs so there will be a few.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,493 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada Hotel

Address: 80051 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: £106 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands of Islamorada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sands of Islamorada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing