We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at the Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands of Islamorada
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding at the Sands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

On a trip to the Keys we where looking for a dog friendly spot and we found the Sands of Islamorda.
After staying there we fell in love with the intimacy and tranquility this place had to offer. The management was so accommodating we said to our selfs that we would defiantly return.
When we decided to get married in the Keys we booked the whole place. What a wedding it was. The resort managers Yaney and Alex where so nice and more than helpful to pull this party off. They let us do everything we asked and even helped set it up. If you ever have a dream of a Florida Keys wedding we suggest you try this place. WOW!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chef4Films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    68
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
58
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We wanted a place we could bring our dog, and options are limited. Fortuantely we found this place. It's got a nice old-keys laid back kind of vibe. Not fancy, but not run-down either. You can tell the owners care about their guests. The rooms are simple but clean. The pool area is very nice and the beach/dock area is great for families. Plenty of room at the dock if you have a boat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AParkhillHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband & I stayed there last weekend with our dog & was pleasantly surprised.
Yeni the property manager is super sweet.
The hotel "Is the Keys"...simple & peaceful with beautiful views. Rooms are clean & beds very comfy. Very nice for a pet friendly hotel. Love the grounds but our dog loved it more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MicheleT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Sands for 6 days. The rooms are typical Keys but clean and neat. The motel is pet friendly and the view is fantastic. The motel is small and quiet. A great place to relax. They have their own boat ramp but the parking lot is small but accessible with a 25" boat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The end of the dock has a ladder to make it easy to snorkel. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor at the last moment and very glad I did. Very pet friendly and very welcoming management. I will return with my little dog soon. The rooms are clean and are nicely appointed. Very nice little property even though there is no beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent one night there. We came down to Islamorada with our dog so we were looking for a pet friendly hotel.
The overall experience was good: the room was clean, and the manager was friendly.
However, there was one thing we didn't realize by reading the comments on TripAdvisor, is that there is a water access, but for boats only. There is ramp, and a dock, but no beach. We thought we were going to be able to dip our feet in the water with our dog after a long drive, but had to head out to a beach a few miles down to do so.
The other negative point was that, in comparison to nearby hotels, the price was a little high given the quality of the property and amenities. We paid $160 + $20 pet fee for one night in low season. You can get a high-end resort room for a few bucks extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank VNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Sitting here now and thinking back to last weekend, at Sands Of Islamarda, and wishing we were back there!!!
I can't say how much fun we had along with our 2 dogs; a chocolate lab and a golden retriever!
From the minute we entered the property and greeted by 'Manuel, we new we were going to love it! He was so great and shared with us information that would help with our stay.
We had so many things we had planned ahead of time of places that we wanted to go BUT, we actually enjoyed this place so much, we didn't even leave the property! We cooked out each night on the gas grills and met so many great people!
The dogs had easy access to the water and had a blast :)
We stayed in room 19 and it was great; roomy, clean,comfy bed, equipped with everything, and great view!!!
We will definitely return to the Sands....
Halle and Swany

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 19 are the only beach views and have balconys... although the other rooms are also conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Halle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.3 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#11 of 19 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada

Property: Sands of Islamorada
Address: 80051 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands of Islamorada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sands of Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada
Sands Of Islamorada Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing