We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, but very nice staff and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you are looking for a better deal in Key West this would be the place. There is a less expensive one down the road(east) and the opposite side but it does not have a beach view which I would recommend also just can not think of the name. The room is nothing special, but clean and hopefully they updated the internet service since it was very bad i the room I stayed at. If you are looking for a better deal and very nice people who run the place you will defiantly love the place!!

Room Tip: Ask to get a room with good Wi Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandySSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Decided to try this motel with my girlfriend and my family for a four night stay. I have stayed at a few places in the Islamorada through the years - Postcard Inn (used to be Holiday Isle), La Siesta, and Chesapeake Beach Resort to name a few - all of these places I would rank higher than this motel. For our stay, we stayed in rooms 15,16, and 17 (garden/pool view rooms). I am rating Sands of Islamorada a 3 out of 5, though probably would have given it a 2.5 out of 5 if that was an option. On the positive side, the place is quiet and it has an "Old Keys" feel to it. As others have mentioned it has a throwback to the 60s feel. There are beautiful large coconut palms on the property, and the back area by the ocean is very nice with wide Atlantic views. The rooms were of a good size and cleaned well, and there are two grills which is nice. We used the grill by the pool, which worked well with no problems. Yeni and her husband are very nice and are very helpful if you need anything. But there are some issues and some improvements that need to be made. First, we unfortunately had an issue with roaches. Unfortunately the room that had the biggest issue was the room that my mother was in and she is petrified of roaches. There were three (large) roaches she found in the bathroom area that we think were getting in under a crack in the baseboard, one of them made it into her bag of toiletries. We stuffed the crack with toilet paper and had Yeni's husband spray in the bathroom and my mother didn't see any more roaches. In my room, we saw one small roach at the very end of our stay when we were packing up to leave and noticed a couple of what looked like roach droppings on the fridge and floor so we knew there must have been a bigger roach in there that we didn't see. So the bug issue is the biggest issue that needs to be addressed. Additionally, it is very hard to find the place from the road. They need to create some sign to make it easier to see. The place is overall rather "run down" and just needs some updating. We do see some things are happening. For example, we were told the roof was just replaced. The good thing about the place is that the cost is cheaper than most hotels/motels in Islamorada, which was nice if you are on a budget, so we felt like we were not spending a fortune. I don't plan to return unless the bug situation is under control though. I do think the place has potential and think that Yeni and her husband will be able to address the issues in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CHRISTOPHER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We loved the sands! The owners are a young couple that have just had the place 18 months so this is a recent review. Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed every minute! Their sign had been destroyed in a recent accident so it was a little hard to find right away but once we found it we love it.
Small quaint and very friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable with a fridge and microwave. Some have a kitchenette we did not, no problem great resturants close by. Rather retro actually and just what we wanted. The air conditioning worked the pool was clean and the dock had comfy chairs to sit and relax at the ocean side. We were in room 12 and it was perfect for us. We arrived at 9:30 after an all night flight to Miami from Ecuador. we knew check in was 3 PM but Alex felt bad for us and sent us off to the requested laundramat and had our room ready by 11:30 an unexpected treat since that rarely happens at the big chain places. Not a fancy resort so don't expect that. They are working on remodeling the place as they can. No jets on the hot tub only dissapoinment but minor.Don't let the first impression fool you !! We are spoiled by the fancy hotel images this place was great!! Alex and Yeny go out of the way to make things good for their clients and made us feel like friends rather than just customers. Ask them anything sent us to good food and fun excursions.

Room Tip: rooms on the ocean side have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank barbj534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

OK, first the positive: The place is very quaint. The grounds are nice with beautiful views of the Atlantic. The rooms are tiny but very clean. Rooms 18 and 19 were the best with wrap around patios with hammocks and chairs. The staff is helpful and friendly. The pool spacious and clean, and the jacuzzi, except for sand in the bottom, likewise.

The negative: Internet was not available in the rooms. The grounds need upkeep, eg, painting the outside fences, cleaning the chairs, etc. The rooms, though clean, needed work. Our room, 19, had holes in the wall in the bathroom, the shower backed up all the time and the toilet needed at least two flushes, sometimes three. Lightbulbs were missing from the lamps so we took them from the outside lamps. Our room was forty minutes late with no explanation. At $175.00 a night (which was discounted) plus taxes and fees, not a great value.

So: All in all, a nice place but unless the price goes down, I would not return. Also, get the rooms near the sea (19 and 18). The other rooms are close to the highway and to all the traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 19 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chefbobbydesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
14
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

When first pulling in I thought, I messed up. BUT, after entering, accommodations were incredible. The staff was friendly and courteous. The suite was spotless and beautifully appointed. Tropical vegetation, Tropical birds flourished. The pool and hot tub included for ones pleasure. We spent the first night at Breezy Palms, directly next door. It paled by comparison. It had warm rooms, dead and plastic plants and unfriendly staff. Do yourself a favor and stay at The Sands of Islamorada. They are also pet friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on the way to Key West. It was an older location. The room was simple and clean. This hotel was good for a night passing through but I don't think I'd want to stay here too long.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After much research on Tripadvisor, we decided on this motel for our spring break trip to the Florida Keys. The rates were on the lower end for this area and time of year. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The room we booked for 4 nights was basic, but clean and well maintained. It was a great base for our exploration of the Keys. The property is quite small and a bit hard to find since the sign is very small. These are very small issues and offset by the reasonable price and friendly family ownership. This is certainly a great option for families looking to visit the Keys and not pay Key West prices.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank tknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#12 of 19 in Islamorada
589 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada Hotel

Address: 80051 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: £107 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands of Islamorada Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sands of Islamorada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing