We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

It's no frills, but it's everything you need - for literally about half the price everything else was asking for. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are large, climate controlled, and have a kitchen and fridge. The place is a little old, but it was better quality than the joint we paid 50.00 MORE for the night we left here.

Also, one thing that really irks me is when you book a place for multiple nights, but you still get 1 night's worth of toiletries etc. These guys gave us 6 bars of soap. It might be a strange thing to appreciate, but I appreciate it nonetheless.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely book in advance. Because of the great value and the repeat customers, this place never ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    61
    37
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
64
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
STUART
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I've stayed at this "Mom & Pop" motel several times and have never been disappointed. You can't beat the price! Clean and comfortable rooms, delightful hosts, and great location...all at a bargain price in today's economy. You just can't beat that combination! Can't imagine staying anywhere else when I go to Islamorada!

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes, but I've never stayed in one equipped that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DEBBIEB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

This place offers Spartan but adequate accommodations for people traveling on a budget. The place looks as if it were built sometime in the ‘50’s and might have been updated around 1972, but if you’re just looking for a place to lay your head and aren’t hung up on aesthetics, this will do just fine. The room was old but clean, the water was hot, and everything basically worked. Put yourself in an old Keys Jimmy Buffett frame of mind and it’s okay for the $80 per night during high season (Christmas week). If you don’t mind paying $200 a night and up you can probably find nicer accommodations but you’re by no means assured of them.

The Lorelei waterfront restaurant/bar was just a 5 minute walk away, and was a delight on our first night there. For a couple days of scuba diving and roaming the Keys, the Key Lantern/Blue Fin did just fine.

The place is actually two motels under one management (you register in the same place for either). There’s mobile homes parked between the two, it’s kind of scruffy, and overall tacky as hell, but it was home for us for a couple days. We’ll do it again if we’re on a budget.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John_and_Linda53562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Pricing is great. I have to admit the beds were real comfortable. It's not the Hilton but who cares its all about location ,booze and the freaking Florida keys. I will be back soon. Lots of great places to eat around here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junior40Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have stayed in Islamorada many times, but this place consistenly delivers on cleanliness which is a lot to ask for down in the Keys. If you want a clean, no frills place to crash between dives or fishing trips this is your place. The innkeepers are very nice too. No mold problems like other Keys lodging...

Room Tip: The room next to the innkeeper is large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is a fifty's style Mom & Pop type motel. I stayed there in April for the first time and will stay there on my future trips to the Keys. This is an excellent place to stay if you take your bicycle as it is all flat land and there are all kinds of restaurants and attractions within easy cycling distance. This is a $45-$65 motel in an area where most motels start at $90-$100 and average about $200 a night and up so it pays to call ahead for reservations. The owners are very friendly and helpful and if you just walk in they will try to accommodate you but with their prices they tend to fill up fast.
All the rooms are on the ground floor and you can park in front of your room so you don't have to lug you baggage onto an elevator or up a set of stairs.

Room Tip: The Blue Fin has better parking for RVs and large SUVs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMC8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The room was large and clean as was the bath. There is no ambiance here, but just a block away is the Lorelei Restaurant & Cabana Bar right on the water with good music and drinks. If you just want a place to spend a night or two without any frills, this is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GtwnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Property: Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing