We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockroaches, Mold on the Floor, Ick.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Gainesville FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cockroaches, Mold on the Floor, Ick.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

If you don't mind cockroaches, this is the place to stay. The fact that it's only $75 (with tax) off-season on a weekend doesn't make it worthwhile. The grout on the tile floor was filthy and actually had white mold growing in several places. The stove was nasty, the shower had either cold or scalding water - nothing in between - and at 4:00 a.m. I was awakened to pounding and banging 2 doors down. At 7:00 it sounded like the neighbor was rearranging all the furniture. Never, ever again.

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank akacratsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
66
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

My family and I stayed 3 nights. The bed was clean and comfortable, but this motel is not clean. There was dust caked on the ceiling fan, the shower was covered in mildew and soap scum, and their were ants. We had the room with the double bed, and kitchenette. The stove and fridge were next to each other, and the side of the fridge was splashed with food. This hotel is also directly next to a trailer park. The owners were very friendly, but this motel needs a good scrubbing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kllksjiemeiejlkjeiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Danville, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stayed at Key Lantern/Blue Fin for 4 nights. My father-in-law, husband, and I shared a room with two double beds and a kitchenette. The accomodations were basic, but clean. The owners were extremely friendly. The motel is within walking distance to the Lorelei which has decent food and nightly entertainment. There is an onsite laundry facility (open air- but come on people this is the Keys). We were very pleased with our stay. We were looking for an affordable place to sleep and shower, and this definitely fit the bill. The beds were extremely comfy and the kitchennette was furnished with dishes, cooking implements, etc. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights, and wow, what a great deal! The accomodations were very comfortable (the bed was especially nice), and we'll definitely be back again. I would recommend the Key Lantern to anyone looking for a nice place to stay. No frills, but inexpensive, the area was quiet, and the owners were super-friendly. Check it out!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

Can't beat the price. For 39 bucks i dont think you can find too many others like it anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deapdiver2986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
Level Contributor
349 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

Dollar for dollar this is the best bargain in the Keys. We stayed in the Blue Fin side of the motel. I did not see the inside of any of the rooms of the Key Lantern, but I expect they are maintained to the same high standard as our room. Granted, it is an older place; the rooms do not have a telephone, radio, clock, carpeting, or big fluffy towels. They also do not have a pool. So what? If you require those things, go elsewhere. What it does offer you for an extremely reasonable rate is very clean, spacious room with cold AC, a ceiling fan, comfortable beds, nice refrigerator, a TV with 78 channels, parking at your door, two comfortable chairs, a small table, secure locks on windows and doors, charming hosts, and an excellent location.
My husband was apprehensive when I told him the price, but he was quickly won over when we got inside the room. We drove up from Key West for a quick getaway. Islamorada is what Key West was 35 years ago. We had a wonderful time.
The Blue Fin is located right next door to a great restaurant, the Lor-E-Lei and is conveniently located to most things.
We will return whenever we have a chance. If you are traveling on a budget, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a clean comfortable room, this is the place for you. What are you waiting for? It's beautiful here in the Keys.
Shhh! Don't tell too many people about the Key Lantern/Blue Fin Motel. We want to keep this gem for ourselves.

  • Liked — A clean room at a fair price.
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was perfect for our needs.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank guavagirlKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortes
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

I scuba dive off Islamorada every month and stay at the Lantern each time I go there. It is a basic SS&S motel. Clean, usually quiet and handy to the dive shops. I get the $39 room or $55 room depending on the time of year. The owners are very friendly and helpful. I have no complaints since I know what to expect considering the cheap room rent. Those who complain are only kidding themselves. You don't get a room at the Ritz for $39. John White.

  • Liked — Cheap.
  • Disliked — What's to not like?
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Honduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Property: Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Address: 82150 Overseas Hwy, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036-3673
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing