We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Management”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have been going to Coral Bay Resort for the past 7 years. We were going to change our plans this year because of health problems, and I was informed that they were not taking reservations for the next year(never has been an issue in the past), it was now a first come first serve basis. After receiving the confirmation of the cancellation, there was only one room reserved, we had reserved 2 adjoining rooms the prior year. The daily check of the resort felt more like a prison camp check rather than a resort feel. We felt like an inconvenience being there! The property does have the "old" Keys charm, but the poor/rude/condescending management will drive customers away. I hope the owner finds new management soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarponfishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsles, General Manager at Coral Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
I am truly sorry for all of the past guests who have experienced bad stays at Coral Bay. I am happy to let you know that my wife Angie and I have just started as the new managers. Prior to coming here we were the managers of Holiday Isles Resort in Madeira Beach, FL from July 2007 to Feb 2011 (check out our reviews). I would ask that you give Coral Bay another chance, Angie and I will do everything we can to make sure your stay will be the BEST Islamorada has to offer. Tanks and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Tim & Angie Michael
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    53
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
105
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I would never consider to stay in that hotel again , the manager or front desk attendant was very rude , not friendly at all , she made our stay really unpleasant

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguelprevost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We loved coral bay. The rooms are fresh and clean. The grounds are lush and Beautiful. We love our lazy day front porch and the view of the bay. The sunsets on there docks could not be beat. The staff and management are friendly and seam to really care about the resort. Its the best trip we have ever had to the keys. It was nice to relax and enjoy the keys the way it use to be. We will be back because we fell in love with this place.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Kitchen they have the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have been enjoying coral bay resort for many years now, but the new management has something to be desired. the desk woman made us feel like were a burden rather than a loyal customer, she couldn't seem to find us a room in an almost empty complex. Then seemed to find us one that suited her, not Us? I hope the owner will find management more suited to being customer friendly and not self centered.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rascalRockland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I loved Coral bay.I found it clean,the grounds lush and beautiful. Could not beat the sunset I saw and loved the pool and beach.Was so surprised they provided fishing equipment and a cutting table to clean your fish. The lady at the deask was a little strict but I got the feeling she just really cared about the place and wanted to keep the rooms nice for up coming guests. The rooms were spotless andI enjoyed the place very much.

Room Tip: Loved the room with the king bed and sliding glass doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I had to read the reviews before writing mine since I wanted to see what others had to say. My husband and I have been coming to Coral Bay for 8 years and have always felt very welcomed. We have never had any mold issues, the room always smells very clean, and the staff has always been very sweet and accommodating. One trip we were very late in arriving and they left everything we needed for us to check into our room, with no hastles. We usually stay in one of the rooms with the king beds and kitchenettes. There are always settings for 4 people (plates, glasses, utensils, etc) but considering there are only two of us, that's more than enough. If you want more, buy plastic - honestly....you are on vacation. Since they have the freezer in the utility room with the washer and dryer, we have never had an issue getting ice even at midnight. The door has always been open. The pictures that are on the site are accurate. This isn't a mega resort with turn down service and a pool with swim up bar, but a quiet and laid back Keys place. We trailer our boat and keep it in their "marina" since we dive for lobsters and fish from sun up to cocktail hour, when we come back, shower, and then enjoy the breathtaking sunsets and great restaurants Islamorada has to offer (but that's another review!). There is a natural ocean tidal pool and traditional built in. If you are in the Keys to enjoy the diving and fishing rather than parting and nightlife (but then again you are within driving distance of places like that), this fits the bill perfectly. If you've checked out my profile, you can see I don't frequent "dives", so I don't agree with some of the harsh reviews. In the years we have been going there we have met the nicest people and the bulletin board in the front office filled with kudos says it all. If it's a spa you are looking for, go to Cheeca Lodge or the Marriott in Key Largo, but if you are going to the Keys to enjoy the beautiful water, outstanding fishing and diving rather than sitting pool side and sipping frozen drinks, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

With some TLC this could be a great place. The refrigerators do not have storage bars on the doors so the space is limited. There are very little utensils ( A trip to the target would solve this ). Management could use some people skills. Pool and grounds were in great shape.

Room Tip: Ask if the fridge has storage bars on the doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
8.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
8.7 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Property: Coral Bay Resort
Address: 75690 Overseas Hwy, MM 75.5 Bayside, Islamorada, FL 33036-4004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy beach, heated pool, free dockage and ramp. Efficiencies, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Unspoiled and unhurried, the Coral Bay Resort preserves an informality and grace that other keys can only distantly recall. We invite you to join us and our many other long-time guests this year for a step back into a simpler, more relaxed time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Islamorada
Coral Bay Islamorada
Coral Bay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing