We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management makes all the difference!”
Review of Coral Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I read the reviews sitting in the car while my husband went in and talked to Angie. First thing he said when he returned was how friendly she was. She and her husband have been the new managers only two weeks, so please disregard earlier reviews about rude management. The place is great: cute little beach, lovely pool, nice clean rooms with patios. Ours had a full kitchen, and the next morning my husband made a homemade breakfast, our first in a week. The place has a real old fashioned Keys feel. We absolutely recommend it. Why not five stars? They need to perfect some small details left from prior management.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank GraceSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I were refered here by the Florida Visitors Center while we were making our way down the keys. We had no plans. We just wanted a beach. It is such a cute, quiet little place. It only has 18 or so rooms. Has a protected beach, huge deck, pool, spots to dock boats. Sat on deck and watched the sun go down. Beautiful. On the gulf side, which we found out is the side to be when the wind is blowing. No resturant, but the kitchens allow you to do your own. While we were there we were talking to "Angie", asked her how she liked living there. Because we thought it was Heaven. She said she has only been there a couple of weeks. New Management. Explains the difference with the reviews I read after getting back. We stayed 2 nights then went down to Key West. Stayed another night on our way back. Would recomend to family and friends. Accually have already told my family about it, and plan on going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have been enjoying coral bay resort for several years now, but the management has something to be desired. the desk woman made us feel like were a burden rather than a loyal customer, she put us in a room that was at the front of the complex next to the office, after I had let her know the area we wanted to be in especially this year since we were bringing our boat for the first time. The next day we met a couple who had been moved from the unit we were in to one close to the cove. We don't know if they actually got our room or not. They made no offers to assist us getting closer to the cove, knowing that I am handicapped. The very next of day we found out the couple who had been in our unit was now in the same unit we had last year. The manager was obviously showing prefereintial treatment to this couple. I hope the owner will find management more suited to being customer friendly and not self centered. We cut our trip a day early and unless there are some changes made, we will not be returning. It was almost as if these two ladies were attempting to ruin this business.

Room Tip: Coral Bay has an "L" shaped group of ground level units around the pool and the love bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keysrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsles, General Manager at Coral Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

I am truly sorry that your vacation was ruined, that is never a good thing. I was there and actually saw how you were treated, but at the time was not in the position to do anything about it. The former manager was on her last days, and unfortunatly you happened to be there at that time. My wife Angie and I are the new managers, we actually started the day after you left. If you come back you will see many changes and I assure you will not be treated anything like you expereinced. Angie & I have many years of experience running hotels, and understand what it takes to provide our guests the best vacation and customer service possible. This is a beautiful property, the only thing it was lacking was proper management, as you can see from the many reviews aimed at the manager. So please come on back and Angie & I will guaranty a GREAT vacation.

Tim & Angie Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have been going to Coral Bay Resort for the past 7 years. We were going to change our plans this year because of health problems, and I was informed that they were not taking reservations for the next year(never has been an issue in the past), it was now a first come first serve basis. After receiving the confirmation of the cancellation, there was only one room reserved, we had reserved 2 adjoining rooms the prior year. The daily check of the resort felt more like a prison camp check rather than a resort feel. We felt like an inconvenience being there! The property does have the "old" Keys charm, but the poor/rude/condescending management will drive customers away. I hope the owner finds new management soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarponfishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsles, General Manager at Coral Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

I am truly sorry for all of the past guests who have experienced bad stays at Coral Bay. I am happy to let you know that my wife Angie and I have just started as the new managers. Prior to coming here we were the managers of Holiday Isles Resort in Madeira Beach, FL from July 2007 to Feb 2011 (check out our reviews). I would ask that you give Coral Bay another chance, Angie and I will do everything we can to make sure your stay will be the BEST Islamorada has to offer. Tanks and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Tim & Angie Michael
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I would never consider to stay in that hotel again , the manager or front desk attendant was very rude , not friendly at all , she made our stay really unpleasant

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguelprevost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We loved coral bay. The rooms are fresh and clean. The grounds are lush and Beautiful. We love our lazy day front porch and the view of the bay. The sunsets on there docks could not be beat. The staff and management are friendly and seam to really care about the resort. Its the best trip we have ever had to the keys. It was nice to relax and enjoy the keys the way it use to be. We will be back because we fell in love with this place.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Kitchen they have the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have been enjoying coral bay resort for many years now, but the new management has something to be desired. the desk woman made us feel like were a burden rather than a loyal customer, she couldn't seem to find us a room in an almost empty complex. Then seemed to find us one that suited her, not Us? I hope the owner will find management more suited to being customer friendly and not self centered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rascalRockland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,387 reviews
9.1 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
9.3 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
6.6 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Address: 75690 Overseas Hwy, MM 75.5 Bayside, Islamorada, FL 33036-4004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £86 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy beach, heated pool, free dockage and ramp. Efficiencies, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Unspoiled and unhurried, the Coral Bay Resort preserves an informality and grace that other keys can only distantly recall. We invite you to join us and our many other long-time guests this year for a step back into a simpler, more relaxed time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Islamorada
Coral Bay Islamorada
Coral Bay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing