We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary and we were very pleased with the 1 bedroom apartment. The staff is excellent! It's quiet and peaceful here. Exactly what we wanted. When we did want to go and venture out, it was only a short drive to the tiki bar and restaurants. We're already planning our next vacation here at Coral Bay Resort!

Room Tip: #16 is a 1 bedroom apartment. It's excellent for a couple or small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    52
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
104
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

After not having been to the Florida Keys for 3 years, we returned to Coral Bay Resort and it
was even better than before! The rooms are beautiful and have new tile baths, etc. Each unit
has their own outside table and chairs. The pool is always clean and refreshing, but you can
also swim in the "tidal pool" or snorkel in the Florida Bay. There is a beautiful tiki hut out near
the bay and we enjoyed our morning coffee there most days. There is a rock pier with a bait
station where fishing is quite enjoyable, especially in the evenings. There is also quite an assortment of tropical fish swimming around the rocks and coral that make it seem you are looking into an aquarium. We always have a wonderful time at Coral Bay just lounging around and enjoying the beautiful grounds, water and gorgeous sunsets. It is also conveniently located to travel north to Key West or north to Key Largo.
There is also new management at Coral Bay, Angie and Tim, and they make you feel like family.
It's great to spend your vacation with such good people and in such a gorgeous paradise!
Susan and Bert Tyler, Richmond, VA

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orchidz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Though I am fond of Coral Bay and have enjoyed my visits over the years I am disheartened by the deteriorating conditions. The grounds have not been kept up and weeds are growing out of control. Wasps made nests under several porch tables. The once white sandy beach has eroded in spots and is in need of fresh sand. Ants in the units, especially the kitchen, continue to be a worsening problem. A few roaches were also seen.The beds need new mattresses and the top bed spreads haven't been replaced in many years. The new management must address these issues if they expect repeat and new customers to return. I won't give up yet on Coral Bay and will give the management a chance to get it back to "what it used to be."

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnasium40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsles, General Manager at Coral Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
As you can see this review does not match up with any reviews received since Angie & I have taken over as property managers. All of the problems brought up here were all ready in action. We just received 3 fresh loads of sand for the beach and Tiki Hut, we had already begun a rotation of pest control, the bedspreads are not as described, there are no tears or wear at all on any of our linens. The ant problem has been addressed with application of Terroll, we have all new lounge chairs, tables on the porches in front of the rooms and all new umbrellas for the outside tables. We have added numbers to all of the parking blocks to aid the guest in knowing where to park for their rooms. I often wonder what motivates guests to respond to on online forum, without first coming to management and giving us the opportunity to address their concerns. We are happy to work to make each and every guest happy. Talk to us first, and we hope you give us another chance, the property is awesome, and so are the improvements, we can only do so much in a time window, but we promise from now on, it will be a state of constant improvement. We are here for you and want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Tim & Angie Michael, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Our family has been visiting the keys for 30+ years. My parents have a timeshare in the area (lower matecumbe) but we always have a need for more accommodations which led us to coral bay. We couldn't have been luckier. The grounds are beautiful with royal poincianas and a "love bird" house. Clean, nice pool with floats and towels always available. Boat dock on the Florida bay side with a swimming lagoon and beach. The owners were super nice and accommodating and very available to meet the guests needs. Some of the rooms were recently renovated with modern, ikea-esque fixtures. Our room was not recently renovated but was nice and clean and more than met our needs. While we stayed (beginning of June) the resort was pretty quiet though I think they were at or near full capacity. Mostly families or older couples. I was with my two small children and we were probably the rowdiest crowd there. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay while enjoying the fishing, sites, and characters and of course the sunsets Coral Bay is your place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north port florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at Coral Bay several years ago and loved it. Our room was spacious for a studio and opposite the pool. It was about 20 steps to the rock pier going out to the ocean. There was a great grill outside our unit. My husband forgot to bring his fishing gear with him and they graciously loaned him pools and tackle to use for our entire stay. He spent time everyday out on the rock pier fishing and caught a lot of fish which we grilled right outside our unit. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The grounds were beautiful and the whole place had a lot of ambience. It was set well off the road and was very quiet. We are looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rumpunchrobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Coral Bay is a great place to get away. Its beautiful location set right on the water has something for every one. A relaxing dock with beautiful view offers its guests an amazing Keys sunset, or to try your hand at the "big catch" , or even just a relaxing evening. The pool is set back, with a private, relaxing atmosphere. Tim and Angie are friendly, and accommodating, the perfect hosts! I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjones3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've been staying at Coral Bay for the past 20 years and really enjoy the place. Others have mentioned the boat basin, dock, fishing, etc, so won't go into great detail except to say its a wonderful location. Yes, the buildings are vintage Old Keys style ....I'm sure they date from at least the 30's if not earlier. They are all low-lying......no high rise or stilt buildings here, but they are well maintained and really solid. It kind of reminds you of old style row houses with the adjoining front porches. We've met many great people there over the years and quite a number have done as we have, gradually increasing from one or 2 week stays to a month or more. If you don't enjoy socializing and chatting with your temporary neighbors from all over the world, this is not the place to come.... we have learned so much from all those conversations over cocktails and fresh fish dinners! The term "resort" is a bit of misnomer..... it's really more like a little town with interesting and constantly changing neighbors. We haul our boat and a pair of kayaks and bikes from western PA every winter, so you know the destination is great to make that trip worthwhile. There are excellent bike trails for miles in both directions and the scenery is unbeatable. Kayaking is wonderful......you always see some interesting wildlife. Kids seem to have a good time if their family is used to doing water things together........those who go off and leave the kids to find something to do will be disappointed...... not even remotely close to Disney or the theme parks (thank goodness). OK...hope that conveys a bit of the sense of the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
8.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
8.7 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
6.6 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Property: Coral Bay Resort
Address: 75690 Overseas Hwy, MM 75.5 Bayside, Islamorada, FL 33036-4004
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy beach, heated pool, free dockage and ramp. Efficiencies, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Unspoiled and unhurried, the Coral Bay Resort preserves an informality and grace that other keys can only distantly recall. We invite you to join us and our many other long-time guests this year for a step back into a simpler, more relaxed time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Islamorada
Coral Bay Islamorada
Coral Bay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing