We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful with beautiful views”
Review of Coral Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We went down to Miami on a family vacation and decided to drive down and spend a night in the Keys, one of the folks at the visitor center in Key Largo booked our room for us as it was last minute. The place was very quiet, we went in the beginning of February. The grounds were beautifully kept, the beach area raked every morning. The pool was clean and warm, which was good as the ocean water was too cold to enjoy for long.
Our room was comfortable and very clean with a nice front porch with table and chairs.
This place is totally a hidden gem and I would go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Two4mans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We decided to get away from the cold this New Year and stayed here for 5 days. It was just what we needed: peace and quiet in a small well-kept resort.
The sea was a little too cold for swimming but the pool was lovely. Rooms are good and the kitchen had most of the things you would need (a big knife would have been good though).
It's far enough away from the road so you won't be able to hear the traffic, and the traffic's not too busy here anyway as it's not one of the bottlenecks that you find elsewhere in the Keys.
You need a car to get to restaurants. There are a few on the island but they're quite far (a couple of miles), and the road isn't well-lit at night.
The staff leave you alone to get on with it, but they're around or at the end of a phone if you need them. Couldn't ask for more really.

I will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in the same sort of building. From what I could see, the larger rooms have two dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonym0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

One of the keys' best kept secrets. My husband and I spent five wonderful days in Coral Bay. It is small, very, very clean, picturesque and quiet. It is also smack in the middle keys so a day trip to Miami or Key West is not impossible. There are lots of water activities in the area and the owners take such good care of the place. The guests are very sociable and the evenings and just perfect. Great for couples and families. This place is definitely going to be a family tradition for us! Plus Angie is like, the sweetest and easy going person. She will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is comfy! Hi Angie!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I hesitate in writing this review because I want to keep this place a secret. But the Coral Bay Resort is a hidden gem. We stayed here for 5 nights in early decemebr and loved it. From the initial booking with Angie until we checked out we could not think of a better place to stay. It is a small resort that still has the old Keys feel. All the rooms are unique but have been recently upgraded and decorated. Our room was a one bedroom efficiency and it had more than enough space for the two of us. It was spotless. We even had a sitting area in the front and back.

What really makes Coral Bay special is the grounds. There is an aviary, heated pool, boat launch, tidal pool and a private beach. There is even a tiki hut by the water to watch the sunset.

One thing to note is the resort is located a few miles south of Islamorada and you will have to drive to restaurants and shopping. But that is not a problem because the staff can refer you to lots of good restaurants (thanks Angie for the tip about Lor e Lei!).

If you are looking for a nice, relaxing Keys vacation then this is the place. But don't spread the word too much.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Depending on how close you want to be to the water and what you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We loved our stay at Coral Bay Resort! Lovely, lush tropical landscaping & fantastic Gulf views & sunsets!

The efficiencies are recently updated & well appointed. We had everything we needed in the kitchen & the king bed & upgraded bedding were great. Bathroom was also recently upgraded & we had plenty of room for storage

The property itself is very well cared for. There's a lovely, heated pool & a great lagoon for swimming & snorkeling. Peace & tranquility when you want it & only a short drive out to fabulous restaurants, diving, fishing & all the activities the Keys offer.

The staff couldn't be more accomodating....we would definitely book this terrific hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a King bed room & thought it was great but the property just isn't that large, my gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Just returned from 5 wonderful days at Coral Bay. This resort is beautiful, very clean, and the landscaping is gorgeous. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back to Coral Bay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room close to the water, which was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaGerry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Simply put, this place is a gem! You will never confuse this property with a mega-resort, but then again, mega resorts are typically too large and impersonal for this traveller. From check-in until check out, you are treated like family. Innkeepers Tim and Angie are as nice as can be and really have taken personal interest into the upkeep and service that makes this place something special. Even Angies' father, Tony, who doubles as part-time groundkeeper, helped to make our visit a nice one. He offered fishing equipment, advice, and some great stories while we took advantage of the super fishing area less than a half minute walk from our front door. He came back at night with a chum bag and flashlights to lure a few resident bull sharks out of hiding, and also brought out about a dozen curious guests looking to sneak a peak. The rooms are clean, most have a full kitchen, and nice charcoal grills outside to cook steaks and the catch of the day (if you had a little luck) The location is outstanding, Robbies Marina (featuring the fabulous Hungry Tarpon restaurant, and an oppurtunity to hand-feed some massive tarpon) Bud and Mary's Marina, and a vast array of eating and drinking establishments are a stone throw away. We found ourselves staying on property the majority of the time, swimming in the heated pool, fishing, talking with the melting pot of really nice folks, and enjoying cold drinks. I could go on and on but i will stop at this, there is a starfruit tree on the property and if you are lucky, Tony will show you the old-school coconut husker you can use if you enjoy fresh coconut milk. It's little thing like that that made this trip memorable, we will be back as soon as possible, next time with friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, it has two double beds, a full kitchen and is closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croppyboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
6.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
7.2 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
8.7 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Address: 75690 Overseas Hwy, MM 75.5 Bayside, Islamorada, FL 33036-4004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £90 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy beach, heated pool, free dockage and ramp. Efficiencies, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Unspoiled and unhurried, the Coral Bay Resort preserves an informality and grace that other keys can only distantly recall. We invite you to join us and our many other long-time guests this year for a step back into a simpler, more relaxed time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Islamorada
Coral Bay Islamorada
Coral Bay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing