We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

No wonder why it's rated #1 in Islamorada.
This resort is very quiet and affordable for the Keys.
Angie the manager was very nice over the phone during the booking.
We stayed in an efficiency room #7 just in front of the pool. Very spacious, 2 queen bed, full kitchen and very very clean. There is even a bbq outside the unit!

You might be lucky enough to see manatees!
I will definitely recommend that resort in Islamorada.

Room Tip: Room #1 is closest to the see. We had room #7 just facing the pool. The room by reception is less at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    52
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
104
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My family and parents spent 5 nights at Coral Bay Resort for spring break. We had a wonderful time! At check-in we met Angie and Linda. They were both very friendly and check-in was very easy. We got into our rooms ( 1 and 2) which were adjoining and closest to the water. The rooms were spacious and clean. My boys couldn't wait to get out to the dock to fish! We enjoyed the resort and met many nice people. My husband, dad, and boys fished everyday, while my mom and I relaxed and enjoyed the sunshine. We saw a manatee, stingray, and many fish from the docks. My boys also enjoyed swimming in the pool. Tony was very nice and informative about the resort and the area. The grounds were beautiful and we spent a lot of our time there. Sunsets were also beautiful from the dock. I can't say enough wonderful things about Coral Bay! We will definitely be returning. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We only stayed here one night but will certainly be back. The kids loved, loved it here! The fishing was great, the pool area is nice, the grounds are kept nice, the other guests were friendly and all the staff went out of their way to do whatever they could for us. Our room was spacious and clean! We will be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdeg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
366 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent a week here. We had room #14, an efficiency. I was a little skeptical when I made a reservation because I've stayed at my share of older Florida properties that have the "Florida mold smell" because the AC's are turned off in the summer. However I was pleasantly surprised.

Our room smelled great and was very clean. The building is older but our room has been remodeled. The shower is roomy. There's a full kitchen, a nice flat screen TV with plenty of channels, and a king size bed. And central AC - not something you find all that often, especially in an older place.

But the best part is how quiet this resort is. They were sold out, yet we hardly heard anyone and everyone on the property is very friendly. This is a nice property with a beautiful dock, complete with a tiki hut, a pool, and of course, a beautiful view. There's plenty of room to park a boat if you bring one.

Coral Bay Resort is on Lower Matecumbe Key, which is a little outside of Islamorada. It's a nice quiet part of the island and has a bike path that extends over the bridge a couple of miles towards Key West. A great place to get out of the hustle and bustle of certain parts of the Keys, away from the noise, traffic and tourists.

Everyone was very nice, including when we had a minor emergency late one evening and had to call the emergency #. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #14 is by the office towards the back of the property. It's a short walk to the water but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rockaway, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just spent four nights at the Coral Bay Resort and really enjoyed the property. We had an efficiency unit that was very reasonably priced. The unit was large and clean with daily maid service, offered a covered patio with table and chairs. The unit had a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and while we didn't cook, had a coffee maker, microwave, full size refrigerator, stove, utensils, plateware, pots and pans. The bed linens where basic. The property included a pool, private lagoon area, beach and boat dock area with boat ramp. The property was completely booked, included middle age couples, retirees, families with teenagers and fishermen and had a nice quiet atmosphere. You can swim, snorkel, fish, kayak from the property. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick Township, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife Lynn and I have stayed at Coral Bay Resort for about 16 years; this time a 40 day stay!!! .... and we wished we had more time. Angie Michael, who has served as Manager for two years, her mom Linda, her dad Tony, the cleaning staff Michelle and Meta are considered our family! We love them all. But more than that, we keep coming back for the may friendships that we have developed who also return every year.We cannot compliment Angie enough for the wonderful job she has done to bring this Resort from 17th at her start, to number one! The property is beautiful, and peaceful! Lynn continues to paint scenes here in water colors, and never tires of this.... and try as I may, I can't fish out Islamorada! Bless you Angie! .... and Bob.... you have a winner!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have been coming to the keys for years we try to get here evey few months,
The absolute best we have found is Coral Bay in Islamorada.

Angie and her husband have been managing it for about 2 years now and since they have come on board, the place has dramatically improved, They are friendly, helpful, and just downright "good" people.

The accomidations are old style florida cottages, but they are updated with really modern tiled beatuiful bathrooms and comfortable furniture. We usually stay in the larger cottage with a full kitchen., large seperate bedroom large living room and awesome bathroom, ,the rooms are reasonably priced and very clean.

Coral Bay has a large pool for swimming a boat ramp and an area to dock your boat ( I think like 12 to 15 boats can be docked at a time). There is a fish cleaning station, and hoses to wash down your boat.

There is a big waterfront Tiki Hut that is a great place to watch the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico at night, or just sit and have a beer and wonder why you don't just sell everything you own and move to the keys...

Each cottage has its own barbique pit, so you can cook fish, or lobster that you may have caught that day, or anything else for that matter... there are also outside tables to enjoy your meals in the fresh air.

This place is truly awesome .... as someone who visits the FL keys very often I highly recommend The Coral Bay Resort.... I can tell you for sure, you will not want to leave, and you will make this your Florida Keys destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
8.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
8.7 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
6.6 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Property: Coral Bay Resort
Address: 75690 Overseas Hwy, MM 75.5 Bayside, Islamorada, FL 33036-4004
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy beach, heated pool, free dockage and ramp. Efficiencies, 1 Bedroom and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Unspoiled and unhurried, the Coral Bay Resort preserves an informality and grace that other keys can only distantly recall. We invite you to join us and our many other long-time guests this year for a step back into a simpler, more relaxed time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Hotel Islamorada
Coral Bay Islamorada
Coral Bay Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing