We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this place so much I'''”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caloosa Cove Resort
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I loved this place so much I'''”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Hello again it's been two years since i last reviewed this resort although i've stayed there twice(spring and fall/winter) a year for nearly 15 years. In fact My wife and i love this place so much we bought 2 weeks here(timeshare) and use them faithfully every year, I feel quite guilty keeping quiet about Caloosa, as it's probably been one of the best kept secrets in the Keys for years and every now and then my selfish guilt prompts me to write a review.so sorry in advance to the other Caloosa fansand here goes.
The views are fantastic from all of the property including the rooms 1 balcony for efficiencies and 2 for suites,
The Safari Lounge is the onsite bar and has some amazing views too, as well as some very welcome and extremely cold beer.
The resort is maintained to a very high standard, mainly by Barry and Ron, which is no mean feat as the climate here can be brutal, and yes some areas of the the main building do show a little well repaired age related patina, which one of us doesnt?
The grounds and pool are beautiful and immaculately maintained and there is ample car parking, and luggage carts, the composite decking is very user friendly and looks good too.
the elevator is situated to the left of the office and is ideal for transporting heavy luggage and shopping:) although pretty much unnecessary most of the time as only 2 floors.
The rooms/suites are always very clean and well presented with everything you need to keep the beer cold and even cook the catch if you dont feel like using any of the excellent eating places locally, just don't expect glitzy Orlando style 5 * accommodations YOU ARE IN "THE KEYS" Trust me in the Keys this is what passes for Really GOOD, Just look out of the window, or sit on the balcony enjoy, unwind and repeat and for pete's sake bring your own hairdryer, if it's a life or death thing for you????
Some people find the old air conditioners noisy, it's never bothered me, however they are gradually upgrading them for newer quieter versions.
My Wife and i have tried many of the hotels and accommodations in the Keys during the last 15 years, and it never ceases to amaze us at some of the places that supposedly rank higher than Caloosa, it's a very hard act to beat, if you know & love the keys then i don't think you'll be disappointed, just don't come too much as it makes it more difficult for us to get an extra few days or a week booked at short notice:) only kidding- enjoy!
Wi Fi is free and recently upgraded
and surprise, surprise there are bugs in the keys, although you rarely ever see one actually in Caloosa, there are also small lizards running about outside, and if you get lucky maybe a land crab or iguana, or even a Manatee in the marina.

I’ve also included my 2009 review below and just updated/added any bits you might find useful,

Look for the big rhino advertising the on site and extremely friendly bar "Safari Lounge" as you drive down the keys its around MM 73.5ish
If you are looking for pretentious nonsense, then Caloosa is not for you! if you want cheap and cheerful(not a lot left in this area) then its still no and if you want to pay through the nose for some dressed up vintage motel then Caloosa is not for you either, if you want a location that is up there with the best the keys has to offer, in a friendly well maintained resort with friendly helpful staff ( The Ladies in the Office will look after you especially Betty and Dusty) with a proper marina on your doorstep(right next door to “Channel 2” Tarpon Heaven) then this is the place for you!! and you'll probably love the place as much as we do
best breakfast approx 10 miles north and well worth it’s still Mangrove Mikes although they do fantastic lunches too
Best Dinner same direction Tower of Pizza, not much to look at but if you like Italian- the Fooood is superb(not exactly fancy just real good)
up and coming restaurant on site at Caloosa Habanos, Habanos has been increasing in popularity my experience is limited but reports are good.
On site Gas station/tackle bait shop and a separate Hardware/Marine store
Best tackle shop around still World wide sportsman (Bass pro) and they have an Islamorada Fish company restaurant on site and the Zane grey Lounge for a Beer while the sun goes down,
Good steak at Outback Steakhouse(Hampton inn)
Marina facilities onsite from Caloosa Cove Marina although they stopped hiring out boats some time ago
Charter boats on site
check out the tarpon at Robbies marina- you can feed them too just watch out they can JUMP(webcam)
Hope i'll see you there
ps my only negative point, they recently replaced a lot of the beds with really SOFT mattresses and they take a bit of getting used to, going to bed can be a little like throwing yourself into a really big super soft marshmallow, once you get used to it it's ok and if you like a soft bed you'll probably love it,

Room Tip: they are all good, however rooms on the Marina side have a view of the Marina/ocean and rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank silver_kingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    42
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virgin Gorda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Hello:
Just spent a few days at Caloosa Cove in the Keys. There were 2 of us, so the smaller unit was fine for us. Clean, everything worked, internet was great. Pool was great. Only downside is the beach is sand only. There is really no way to get into the water. The outdoor deck was great and we used a computer there. We did have to ask for an extension cord for the power to get to the deck. No problem.
I can highly recommend Caloosa Cove.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tpcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at this resort for a short 4th July fishing trip. Needed space for 2 couples and 1 solo. Their facility was able to accommodate our needs with a 1 bedroom den included 2 full baths, kitchen and 2 balconies. I had asked for a unit near the elevator and close to parking since my husband has some mobility issues. We arrived for a late check in and found everything just as requested - score!!!!!

The amenities were great too; a beach front area with grill, a great swimming pool, the Safari Bar and a just off site restaurant - what more could you ask. score!!!!

It is located on lower matacumbe key and was less than 10 min from our chartered boat out of the whale harbour marina. score!!!!

The elevator quit working - one phone call was all it took to let the on site manager, Betty know and it was fixed very quickly. score!!!!!

All in all it is a place I would return to and would not hesitate to recommend. score!!!!!

Room Tip: Their website has floor plans of all the units and you get to talk to a live person when you call
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonilda1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The place was empty during our one week stay. No problem with ants like other reviewers noted. Rooms are dated but clean. Good wifi signal all the way out to pool. Free wifi. No problem with pool decking either, also noted byother reviewer. It has been replaced with a composite decking, so no splinters and not too hot for bare feet. An easy place for a family to stay, kitchen is adequate, two full baths in our suite. Adjacent bar is a little scuzzy, but friendly (and smokey). Convenient location, short drive to Layton and to islamorada. 2 hour drive from Lauderdale airport, 90 minutes to Key West.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shuldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Next to a marina where you can dock your boat for a fair price. Has a large glassed in tiki bar by a large pool overlooking the ocean. An independant restaurant next door -Hubana's will bring great Cuban/American food to the pool or your room. We had a 1 BR suite, which was very roomy, but '80's decor. Queen size bed was not the best and the 2 pullout sleepers were very uncomfortable. Room unit A/C's worked well but were not quiet.
This place had some definite pluses and minuses.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinesusieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We're so glad to see the place is still as we remembered it 9 yrs. ago, staff still friendly and helpful, rooms still clean and oh so nice and cool, and of course our favorite, the beautiful pool, with its new decking.
It's the place to stay for that laid back no frills, most beautiful sunrises you could want to see.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My initial impression was somewhat favorable. The one-bedroom suite was spacious, and I liked the two balconies. The room is VERY dated, however, with small TVs and cheap, old furniture. What really set me off, though, was no blow dryer in the bathrooms. I consider that a basic amenity. Also, my family often stays at condos and/or houses when we vacation, and the kitchens always have the basics -- like salt and pepper and dish soap. Not here. There was absolutely nothing of that sort. Despite that, though, it was a comfortable stay. Nothing great, but serviceable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaloosaCoveResort, Manager at Caloosa Cove Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Caloosa Cove Resort. We hope you will come back and stay with us soon.

Kris, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
6.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
10.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
10.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,638 reviews
8.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloosa Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloosa Cove Resort

Property: Caloosa Cove Resort
Address: 73801 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 73.8, Islamorada, FL 33036-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caloosa Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caloosa Cove Resort is a 30 room, Oceanfront Resort in Islamorada on Lower Matecumbe Key Mile Marker 73.8. All rooms have spectacular ocean views. Our rooms accommodate 3 in an a Jr. Suite, 5 in a Den Suite and 6 in a Lg. Suite. Each room has a fully stocked kitchen with essential cooking utensils, full size refrigerator, stove oven and microwave, 1 or 2 full bathrooms, 1 or 2 outside patios with seating and more. At the resort we have a very large pool and deck area with TIKI huts for shade, beach, tennis courts with rackets/balls, Shuffle Board, Ping Pong, free WIFI resort wide and much more. Self serve laundry services and amenities also on property: Habanos restaurant, The Safari lounge, Caloosa Cove Marina and Storage , The Island Store for bait, tackle, fishing licenses, fuel and basic grocery items and finally Caloosa Cove Hardware Store for all your hardware needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caloosa Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloosa Cove Hotel Islamorada
Caloosa Cove Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing