We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Best of Both Worlds!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Best of Both Worlds
Ranked #9 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Best of Both Worlds. We'd give Best of Both Worlds 10 stars if we could. Let's see, would it be for the Resort itself, or for the hosts, Kevin and Dana? Hmmm.... both! We loved our cottage which looked right onto the bay. We had kayaks and bicycles available for our use at any time. We had resident parrot fish, other random fish, lobster, pelican, osprey, a bald eagle, and dolphin! Yes, dolphin - we had our own wild dolphin encounter when kayaking in the bay.
The cottage itself was perfect, the bed comfortable and the kitchen large enough to cook in. There were special touches in the cottage that let us know Dana and Kevin wanted us to feel special and comfortable. The location made getting to Key Largo AND Key West possible.
We both felt honored to be in the presence of Kevin and Dana. Kevin (see bio) rescued/trained animals and dolphins for 38 years. Wow. You'll want to have lots of conversations with both of them. And make sure to have Kevin take you out for a sunset sail. That was frosting on the cake.
Thank you Kevin and Dana, we are still smiling when we think of you and Best of Both Worlds!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haleya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

My first time in the Florida Keys and won't be my last. It was paradise for me. Kevin and Dana are the best. I loved everything about this place. Very cozy, quite. The view of the sunset was beautiful. I hope to return sometime in the near future with my family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent four nights at this lovely old place. It reminds us of what the Keys used to be. Kevin and his wife Dana were so gracious and kind. Kevin gave great advise on where to stop and eat. He also gave us great info on the area and wildlife. The gardens and yard overlooking the water were so peaceful.

Room Tip: If you are out in the yard at night use bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryNoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Have been there two year in a row now and it keeps getting better. new mangers Kevin and Dana are wonderful laid back, can-do people. Four lovely and very different accommodations right on the water on bay side of Keys. Great location just south of Islamorada- which is really the Keys that most people are looking for. You can walk to Robbie's marina for fishing, kayaking, eating. Best of Both Worlds provides bikes, kayaks and you may be able to talk Kevin into a short sunset sail if you are nice. Accommodations are not fancy but clean and very warm. Everything you need is provided, and if not readily available, will be found for you. You can get to any part of Keys easily from here and you can also sit around and do nothing...a magnificent location to do that. Great sunsets and as romantic as you ant it to be. A keeper!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona-Ferlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for a week over the New Year's holiday and have already decided to return in 2014. We stayed in the "Cottage" (there is also a small house and an efficiency on the property) with our two dogs. The Cottage was cozy and had everything we needed (including Wi-Fi and cable TV, recently added), and is a stone's throw from the water. There are kayaks for guests to use, and we thoroughly enjoyed paddling around the clear, shallow water nearby. A totally unexpected bonus was that the property managers, Dana and Kevin, were not just managers, but excellent hosts. They took us out sailing one afternoon -- our first time ever. Needless to say, we had a fantastic time.

Another bonus for "dog people": there is a bike path/walking trail that goes for miles in either direction (well, the whole length of the Overseas Highway, actually), and this is an excellent place to walk your dog.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneGoldenMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From booking to departure, I am so glad we chose Best of Both Worlds to stay at on the Keys. We were looking for a private rental/B&B place that wasn't overcrowded, and got an amazing value and a relaxing stay. Here's the breakdown:

Booking: I received a reply from my email inquiry within a few hours and had all my questions answered and accurate quote given. This was great since we were booking a little last minute.

Value: At $135/night, we had a large cottage (one room, but very spacious) to ourselves that had huge glass sliding doors opening up to the ocean. You just don't find that many places! Private bathroom and a full kitchen (stove, kitchenware, fridge, plates, etc). If you don't want to cook inside, you can cook on one of about four grills on the property. There is a washer/dryer on site, but currently is coin operated ($1.50/load). Very convenient to throw suits/towels into.

Rooms: There are a few options for rooms - I can't speak to the others, but I am partial to the cottage - great for couples, since it's pretty spacious with one big bed. There is a TV with cable, but we only used it while cooking for background noise. As a warning, the smoke alarm is sensitive - use the fan when cooking anything like bacon. Though, we did feel good knowing it worked! There is an air conditioner in the unit that worked well and a large fan if needed. Additionally, there is WIFI that was reliable and easy to access.

Extras: On top of the room, there are also kayaks, bicycles, snorkeling gear, and boats that you can use for free! It was very refreshing not to be nickel-and-dimed for everything (especially after we had spent a few days in Miami). I am a wimp with seaweed, so having watershoes I could use was a nice bonus! We went kayaking in the two-person kayak and got to see pufferfish as well as a stingray when we went a little down the ways into a shallow area.

Hosts: Kevin and Dana were our very gracious and friendly hosts. I believe they just purchased the place, but are very knowledgeable about the Keys and the area. Kevin even offered to take us out on one of the boats for sunset, but unfortunately it got a little too choppy and cloudy for it. They gave us great recommendations for animal activities (rescue sites and marine parks) as well as the best breakfast in town.

Location: The place is set back about 1/2 mile from the road, waterfront, and very secluded for a private feeling. At most, there are 8 people at any given time (cottage, house, and efficiency rental), so it never feels like you have no privacy or are crowded in on. They are also pet-friendly.

I can't really say enough about the place! It's not five-star luxury, but very clean, very friendly, and very fun, which is exactly what we wanted in the keys. Can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: I personally love the cottage that is spacious and glass doors open up to ocean-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This was our first time in the FL Keys. We stayed at the house. It's a great place to stay and Linda is really awesome and makes you feel right at home! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and safe. It's not modern or fancy and you don't have television, but there is WIFI, you have the Florida Bay, BEAUTIFUL sunsets, kayaking, snorkeling, sailing(very reasonable rates for sailing), and probably one of the best views that you could ask for at a GREAT value! It's also quiet, and CLEAN!!!! You are not far from shopping and restaurants. We really loved it and plan to return the same time next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
13.4 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
285 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
630 reviews
11.7 mi away
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 11 in Islamorada
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
748 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
6.4 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best of Both Worlds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best of Both Worlds

Address: 75700 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-4003
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £125 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quarter mile off the highway, this 1.75 Acres of private waterfront property is quiet, secluded, and lush with coconut palms and papaya trees. A slice of Old Keys-style paradise, there are only three units on the property, all of which have beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico and the many mangrove islands in the distance. Three of the units on the property are efficiency units and come with everything you need. Two are perfect for couples, and one is great for larger groups. The old conch-house style units are very clean and comfortable, with just a hint of the old quirky, "Keys-ee" decor. Have you ever wanted to try sleeping on a boat? We have one of sailboats waiting for you. Need room to spread out? Consider staying at the townhouse on the property next door. Only steps away from the water, you will not find accommodations that offer more peace, quiet, privacy, and amenities. Experience the beautiful sunsets every night, and take advantage of our complimentary bicycles, kayaks and snorkeling gear. Have your own boat? We've got plenty of room to dock it during your stay at no extra charge. Maybe you'd like to try sailing? We also have sailboats on the property available to rent. When you are not out sailing, snorkeling or kayaking, there is always plenty to see and do at the Best of Both Worlds, Islamorada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Of Both Worlds Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing