We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar...Remember it's a bar”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
882 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Good bar...Remember it's a bar”
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Didnt stay at the hotel, but had lunch at the bar outside. Seems friendly enough, lot of local regulars. Waitress was not good, but I understand that Gloria is the star there, and wasn't here this day. Good burger and wing stop, keep your expectations in check.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    49
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
86
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denton
Level Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We wanted to stop for the night in Islamorada on our way to Key West, this place was recommended by someone on one of the forums here. I called, talked to one of the (friendly) owners, and booked over the phone . . .$179 for a large room with tile floors, two beds, small table w/two chairs, microwave, minifridge, coffee maker, large TV, bath w/shower and extra towels, private patio outside w/large table and chair. They had a heated pool and a large outdoor patio off the bar. They also had a bunch of playground equipment for kids . . . and a pathway down to a pier in case you wanted to arrive in your boat!

Our room was very cute . . . it was done up in a beach motiff and everything was colorful and spotless. We were very surprised. There is only eight rooms here and we had #8, the farthest away from the bar area. We slept great, heard no bar noise, and only a faint highway noise.

Nice place to stay, we would return.

Sandy (in Denton)

Room Tip: Room 8 is quiet and farthest from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The rooms are fantastic I like #4 the best. Heated pool, dock, its just a great place one of the last vestiges of old florida. Tell Lars and Gary that Chris says hi. I was there for the lobster mini season

Room Tip: I like #4 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stopped here on the way down to Key West. Thursday was Steak night and one of the best NY strip(and cheapest !)steaks I had on my trip. Great Sports bar, if you enjoy watching on tv with a beer. Rooms were fine and although quite close to the road we had no noise at night. If I went back to the keys I would make certain i stopped here again .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveatharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stopped at the sports bar. When it was time to go, we got the check. She told us the card didn't work. So we gave her a new card. She ran the new card and I walked out. My husband stayed another 5 minutes. She came running back saying the check was wrong (it was not). She added another $15 to the total. Then asked him to increase the tip. He said no. Then we left and found three different charges on our cards. We had tipped her 20% she didn't think that was enough and so she increased the check to give herself more funds. We are protesting two of the charges.

We won't return. She's a bad waitress to begin with, she gets to you when it's convenient to her. She's been there too long and so the customers are getting strong armed by her.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Nice little out of the way hotel,,,,, Clean, great pool, and terrific sports bar. Great staff. Just right for a single night or several. ....each room has a lot of conveniences if your stay a few days, or just the night.

Room Tip: I prefer the very end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlypalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our stay at Ocean View was one of the highlights of our vacation. After several busy days, it was great to simply relax by the pool, take the short walk to the bar, sip our drinks, and just enjoy the sun. Our room was great, clean, and had a coffee pot (with enough coffee for 16 cups), a fridge and a microwave. There is no alarm clock, nor is there a hair dryer - no big deal, though.

We didn't eat at OV, but we did have drinks - very reasonably priced after what we experienced at Key West. We enjoyed talking with the other friendly visitors - a nice couple from England that we shared the sunset and drinks with.

A great find was the little boardwalk that took us to the water. Walk from the pool, past the fire pit and horse shoe pits, and you will discover your pathway to the water. There are benches to sit and relax as you watch the boaters or the sun. Take two drinks with you.....one won't be enough!

We will be back to visit Ocean View Inn, it just won't be soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
0.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
729 reviews
2.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Property: Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Address: 84500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3421
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing