We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Most Favorite Place To Stay In The Keys”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2010

With only seven rooms, the Ocean View Inn makes you feel truly special. Each room is meticulously decorated and very clean. It has everything you would need ... a little kitchenette, warm shower, flat screen tv, comfy bed, two nightstands, little sitting area, private patio & outdoor shower. The attention to detail is incredible throughout the rooms, property & sports bar! You really do feel like you are experiencing a little piece of paradise. A little raked sand trail leads you to a pool area, kids' jungle gym and sports bar. The view of the ocean isn't marvelous as the inn is bayside but it's still very beautiful. At night, many locals come & join in on the great atmosphere. The food at the bar is great & very reasonably priced! The workers are friendly! The service is impeccable! We just loved it!

The only downside ... the rooms are paper thin. You can literally hear the next room brushing their teeth.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnmhoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2009

I reserved this place entirely due to the tripadvisor reviews. Pulling up to the place, it doesn't look like much, and I think my girlfriend was getting a little scared. The room was great - immaculate and very nicely decorated. The semi-private patio was a nice touch, although we didn't use the outdoor shower. Only complaint about the room was the water pressure in the (bathroom) shower was way too low. Free wireless internet worked great.

The attached bar/grill is definitely a locals' hangout. Nothing wrong with that, but it wasn't really our style. We did have lunch there to try to catch up on the NFL action that was going on Sunday, and the food was, again, surprisingly good. The bartender triples as the grill waiter and motel clerk - I don't know how she did it. Don't go there if you don't like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NightLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

The rooms are immaculate, the pool is spacious, the location is convenient, and the prices are well under comparable hotels I shopped around at. The main focus of business is the bar (with an indoor and an outdoor half), which is sportscentric with nearly a dozen flatscreens at each, and apparently a popular local hangout - lots of patrons during happy hour and weekday evenings. The bartenders are genuinely friendly, rather than fake friendly for tips.

Despite the attached bar and the location directly on US-1, the room was never noisy at night.

We used the OV as a base for everything from Key Largo to Key West and couldn't have been happier at the end of the day when we got back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Just returned from a relaxing visit to the FL. Keys. 11/26/09 to 12/3/09. The first 3 days we stayed in Key West, ate awesome seafood, did the Duvall Crawl, relaxed, my husband rode a bike to discover this beautiful island. Then we left there and booked our room at the Oceanview Motel and Pub in Islamodra, FL. Our room was simple, clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly. The coolest thing about this motel is the local flavor for this big easy town. In addition, our room had a patio surrounded by palm trees and a sandy path that led to a heated pool with a view of the Atlantic. Islamorda (Villages of Islands) had excellent restaurants, beautiful sunsets, and some good shopping. I plan on going back soon. We also met some friends with a boat at Marathon key we had 2 great days of fishing and caught yellowtail snapper. So if you get a chance check out the OceanView (locally called the OV) the rates are great and you will have an awesome time. Marty in Tennessee

2  Thank TNtraveler2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We chose to stay here to allow for a leisurely drive to Key West from Fort Lauderdale. The high ratings in TripAdvisor sealed the deal. The place was really cute and the room was quite large. The room was clean and cheery and the bed had a large fish pillow. The Inn is close to the road (since the key is not very wide here) but once inside the room, it was surprisingly quiet. The patio had a tall wood fence on each side for privacy from the other units and lots of foliage to hide us from the pool. The pool was only a short walk away.
We had a few drinks at the outside bar. We took our last drink back to enjoy on our patio. It was really windy, but we caught whiffs of delicious smells from the kitchen, so we decided to eat in the bar. The Cuban sandwich was delicious. We struck up a conversation with one of the servers and then with two locals. They gave us some excellent advice on what to see and where to eat on our way to Key West.
We found the bed to be comfortable and got a good night’s sleep. We highly recommend this place and we would stay here again.
The only bad part was having to wait in the pub to check in and out. All that cigarette smoke was nauseating.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cake_of_Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

My husband and I have been visiting Key west for some time now but thought stopping on our way down. I read about the OV on Trip advisor and thought why not. We were so happy with the place we will go back!
We travel a lot (about once a month) and at first sight did not know what we were getting ourselves into. The sign at the door said "For room keys see bartender". I made reservations way in advance worried since there were only 7 rooms that our reservation still held. The bartender pulled out a notebook and checked us off and handed us the keys to a VERY clean nicely appointed room. Cute back patio with path through luscious plants ( The nice woman taking care of the grounds had a side kick 2 pound dog named Killer! HA) leading to a quaint pool and great sports bar. The bartenders were great and it was fun hanging out with the locals. One bartender handled a gentlemen who had drank too much very well by not serving him anymore and giving him options of staying there or calling a taxi. It seem in this economy that so many keep serving to make more tip money but this girl acted like such a professional. Please go wed. night for flip night, it was a great time.
I hand it to the GM Lars and his staff they do a great job!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We were delighted with our stay at the Oceanview Inn. The amenities are certainly not obvious from the view of the inn from the road.

However, whether it be the bright tropical motif and private patio with each of the seven rooms or the open air sports bar with a gorgeous view of the Florida Bay, this place has plenty to offer and is sure to please visitors that are seeking a true Keys experience. The staff could not have been any more welcoming and helpful which was the general feeling of the guests and numerous locals that make it their regular daily destination for excellent food and camaraderie at one of the two sports bars on property.

On the eight acre site is a small beautifully landscaped swimming pool, fenced childrens play area, and boat dock on the bay accessed by a meandering wooden walkway through Florida mangroves.

We had a wonderful time and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bilcalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
4.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
746 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Address: 84500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3421
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing