We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for a great hole in the wall - this is your stop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are looking for a great hole in the wall - this is your stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Awesome service and good food. Four beers and 2 entries under $30. We liked the local atmosphere and the cigarette smoke was tolerable...we are nonsmokers. Kitchen is open late.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanienchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    47
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Stayed for four nights with hubbie, brother and sister-in-law. The room was lovely and clean and more than adequate for four adults and the beds were the comfiest we had all holiday. Everything is super clean and well looked after and the staff can multi-task with the best. We liked the fact that it was a local bar and flip night is such a great idea. It is on the main highway (aren't they all in the Keys?) but if it was any further off it it would be in the bay. No problems at all with noise or dust.

Also worth a note as many reviewers seem to find it an important factor when reviewing places the wi-fi was free and extremely fast and reliable - more so than a $350 a night Miami hotel.

The $6 pork special was a good food choice. We found it excellant value for money and will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Big disappointment.
Very close to the noisy and dusty Interstate 5.
The rooms are clean, colourful and adequate.
The pool is OK and there is a path to a jetty which was nice.
Inside the sports bar was dark and dingy. I like, and understand, the game Americans
call football but unlike several other sports bars we have visited we were not inclined to linger.
The was an outdoor bar area too which is fine if you enjoy other peoples smoke.

There is no where within safe walking distance (lots of traffic, no pedestrian areas).
For our evening meal we drove south a little to Lorelie's.
N ice bar, good live music (on a Monday night), a nice meal on the beach right by the bay. Great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

With only seven rooms, the Ocean View Inn makes you feel truly special. Each room is meticulously decorated and very clean. It has everything you would need ... a little kitchenette, warm shower, flat screen tv, comfy bed, two nightstands, little sitting area, private patio & outdoor shower. The attention to detail is incredible throughout the rooms, property & sports bar! You really do feel like you are experiencing a little piece of paradise. A little raked sand trail leads you to a pool area, kids' jungle gym and sports bar. The view of the ocean isn't marvelous as the inn is bayside but it's still very beautiful. At night, many locals come & join in on the great atmosphere. The food at the bar is great & very reasonably priced! The workers are friendly! The service is impeccable! We just loved it!

The only downside ... the rooms are paper thin. You can literally hear the next room brushing their teeth.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmhoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

I reserved this place entirely due to the tripadvisor reviews. Pulling up to the place, it doesn't look like much, and I think my girlfriend was getting a little scared. The room was great - immaculate and very nicely decorated. The semi-private patio was a nice touch, although we didn't use the outdoor shower. Only complaint about the room was the water pressure in the (bathroom) shower was way too low. Free wireless internet worked great.

The attached bar/grill is definitely a locals' hangout. Nothing wrong with that, but it wasn't really our style. We did have lunch there to try to catch up on the NFL action that was going on Sunday, and the food was, again, surprisingly good. The bartender triples as the grill waiter and motel clerk - I don't know how she did it. Don't go there if you don't like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

The rooms are immaculate, the pool is spacious, the location is convenient, and the prices are well under comparable hotels I shopped around at. The main focus of business is the bar (with an indoor and an outdoor half), which is sportscentric with nearly a dozen flatscreens at each, and apparently a popular local hangout - lots of patrons during happy hour and weekday evenings. The bartenders are genuinely friendly, rather than fake friendly for tips.

Despite the attached bar and the location directly on US-1, the room was never noisy at night.

We used the OV as a base for everything from Key Largo to Key West and couldn't have been happier at the end of the day when we got back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jthrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Just returned from a relaxing visit to the FL. Keys. 11/26/09 to 12/3/09. The first 3 days we stayed in Key West, ate awesome seafood, did the Duvall Crawl, relaxed, my husband rode a bike to discover this beautiful island. Then we left there and booked our room at the Oceanview Motel and Pub in Islamodra, FL. Our room was simple, clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly. The coolest thing about this motel is the local flavor for this big easy town. In addition, our room had a patio surrounded by palm trees and a sandy path that led to a heated pool with a view of the Atlantic. Islamorda (Villages of Islands) had excellent restaurants, beautiful sunsets, and some good shopping. I plan on going back soon. We also met some friends with a boat at Marathon key we had 2 great days of fishing and caught yellowtail snapper. So if you get a chance check out the OceanView (locally called the OV) the rates are great and you will have an awesome time. Marty in Tennessee

Helpful?
2 Thank TNtraveler2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
0.4 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Property: Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Address: 84500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3421
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing