We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional cancellation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unprofessional cancellation”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I do not recommend this hotel. I made a reservation through booking.com followed by a cancellation less than 3 hours later that I made by mistake. When I called the hotel to ask if the reservation could be reactivated they said they could not as I went through the booking.com website. When I called the booking.com web site and they tried to resolve with the hotel, they did not want to reactivate the reservation as they said the room was not available anymore, this only a few minutes after the cancellation, which is manifestly a lie.
I tried to write to find a resolution but I did not get any response. I filed a complaint with BBB and wrote again.
This is not a professional way to handle reservations and customer service, if I had taken the time to read the other reviews here I would not have booked in the first place !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tangialli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are so very sorry that you did not understand the booking and cancellation policies of our hotel. We are told by the great people at Booking.com that you have to acknowledge the cancellation policy several times during the reservation process, and that you did this. We are so sorry that your plans changed and you cancelled the reservation, but the hotel was never at fault for your circumstances.

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    83
    77
    52
    108
See reviews for
98
139
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Holes in the wall. Unhelpful staff. Nice views. Good pool. Nice pillows. The rooms were very small. The bathroom needed to be redone. No hair dryer. Room was not ready when promised. Wouldn't let us check in even though room was paid for by us but in my daughter's name who we had to pick up from Miami and wouldn't get back till after midnight when front desk was closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We do want to note that our hotel policy makes it clear that you cannot check into another guest's room, regardless of whether they were a family member or not. We are so very sorry that you did not agree with this policy, but we assure you it is for the complete protection of our guests, and not meant to inconvenience anyone! The hotel does provide hair dryers and irons on request.

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Loose tiles on steps with no rail - dangerous! Cable service did not work. All lights were unplugged. And only one worked when plugged in. Toilet ran constantly. Shower did not work. Nothing would make it the shower even dribble water. No room phone. Office closed when we walked down there. So we complained at checkout and the owner threatened to call police! HORRID, HORRID place!

Room Tip: Stay in your car at the state park before staying here. The showers work there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. What you failed to mention in your review was that you were literally screaming at the office staff for "shutting off the water to your room." We tried repeatedly to explain that we of course did not shut off your water, but since you just kept screaming that over and over we had to threaten police action. We apologize that the previous guests unplugged a couple of the room lights, we know it must have been an inconvenience to plug them back in.

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First, if you risk all by staying here get a confirmation price in writting. The clerk/owner will lie in order to over charge you when you check out. The room: Nothing has changed since Pres. Regan was in office (1980's) Every appliance was full of rust, the carpet were disgusting, the showers appear to have low pressure and the water handle were broken. the ceiling had mold. The bed felt like bed rock. There was no cleaning lady. If its wendy the entire room will creek. The Better Business Bureau will be contacted as well as the Heath Dept. BEWARE!

Room Tip: Stay Away and drive past. The pictures do not give this place any indication whats real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doc29500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are fortunate to have the opportunity to respond to this review.

This gentleman checked into the hotel, signed his bill with the total charges outlined to the penny. When he came to check out, we asked how everything was and he said it was "great" or something close to that effect. When we presented him with the final bill (which matched what he signed at check in to the penny) he exclaimed that he was supposed to get another (lower) rate. He believed that what he booked online was a different rate, yet he could not produce any documentation to that effect. We tried to explain to him that he may have been mistaken, even showing him his own signature on all the charges. We even compared his rates to all the websites, and found no discrepancies.

We are sorry that you felt the need to leave such a bad review for your own mistake! We assure the readers that this is not a valid review!

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Desperate for a room since we pulled in after dark in the pouring rain, the desk clerk at the Harbor Lights, in respsonse to our question of whether we could see the room replied, "No, we do not show our rooms." Needless to say, we discovered we were not so desperate after all and went on to find a delightful place nearby.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for the recent review.

We are not sure why you would give us such a bad review, when you did not stay with us.

We apologize, but there are many times that we are unable to show guest rooms. Because of our limited staffing, we often cannot leave the desk. Our policy to not show rooms at night is also for safety, as our desk staff is female and we are sure you can understand the concern and liability. Our guests expect cleanliness as well, and no one wants to check into a room where someone has tracked in mud (you even admitted it was raining!) and debris!

We are also certain that the hotel you stayed at did not show you a room in the middle of a rainy night either, which is why you did not mention it!

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Manager is not a friendly guy! I got to the hotel about 8:45 and went to the front desk and checked in no problem. I was running about a hour late because of fantasy fest and if you know the keys then is a very busy time of the year and traffic is common. Come to find out there boat ramp closes at 8:00 pm. I had my boat just about backed up in the water and around the corner comes one of the managers friends saying " The boat ramp is closed " Then he proceeds to bring me to the manager. I tell the manager I was sorry and I really needed to put the boat in the water tonight to go bullynetting, He says NO and its not his problem. I was very upset and walked away and I could hear his group of friends laughing. DO NOT STAY HERE place is ran by a Gestapo of a manager and place is ran down. WORST KEYS EXPERIENCE EVER!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LouisGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are sorry that you felt the rules did not apply to you.

At the hotel it is our obligation to provide comfort, peace and tranquility for all our guests. Our boat ramp hours are posted clearly, so that our guest rooms in that area are not disturbed by the noise of launching boats.

We want to mention that the time was closer to midnight and the amount of noise you were making was disturbing our other guests - exactly why we have the limited hours of operation.

We are just sorry that you felt the need to slam the property with a bad review because you cannot understand that the comfort of our guests is our number one priority, and that the rules are there so that all can enjoy responsibly.

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is a pure dump the rooms were nasty the floor was falling apart the stove didn't work. they need to fire the manager at the front desk this lady was rude as hell I mean over the top rude she acted like we weren't paying good money to stay at this dump. I will never stay at this place if your smart you will just keep driving by. pictures on YouTube

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robertpaulhobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay!

It seems like something else might be going on here, as we have no record of an oven not working (we checked them all) nor do we have anything with the "floor falling apart" in any of our rooms!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
5.5 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Property: Harbor Lights Motel
Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada
Harbor Lights Motel Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing