We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice time there. Right on Atlantic Ocean. No beach but nice pool. Can fish off of platform. Seen girl catch small shark from platform. Was cool. Bed was squeaky and wish had small microwave in room , did have small frig. Nice enough. Would stay again..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We do have only a handful of rooms that do not have a microwave and/or full kitchen - so be sure to reserve a kitchenette on your next visit! And you are right, if you love fishing this is the place for you!

Thank you again! We hope to see you again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Do not I repeat DO NOT stay here.
Friends husband booked the room for us for two nights. The hotel charged his card for one night.
Drove down 3 hours to get there arrived 7:30 p.m.
The owner herself told us we could not check in only the husband could. (Even though when he booked the room he told them it was for his wife)
The owner would not let us check in and said she would not refund his deposit because it was too late to cancel. (We did not want to cancel we wanted a room)
We wanted to pay for both nights with our card and credit his card but she would only do this at new higher rates.
She was rude and treated us like we were idiots.
Went down the road stayed some where else.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank notahappycamperat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are so very sorry you are reporting only portions of this transaction.

This person was absolutely irate that we asked for ID and credit card when they arrived to check in. We come to find out that the reservation was not in her name, nor was her name ever mentioned when the reservation was made. In fact, this reviewer is not even related to the person who made the reservation, and she was never listed on the room or reservation. Please note that the hotel will never check a person into a room that they did not reserve, even if they are related. It is against hotel policy, and we are unaware of any hotel that will allow you to do so.

What this person failed to mention was her screaming and demanding at the front desk. We had to threaten to call the police if she did not calm down. We ended up asking her to leave after her tirade ended. Of course we refunded the cardholder's deposit - even though it was not the hotel's fault.

Todd & Becky Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Thank you Harbor Lights for making our family vacation to the keys so enjoyable. This is our 2nd time here but we came back again this year with our family. We enjoy the laid back feeling we would expect from the keys. The managers were pleasant and we always had plenty of fresh linens. We stayed in the cottages which worked out because there's is a door that makes them adjoining. We loved being so close to the ocean with a swimming pool just steps away. We met so many wonderful people from around the country & world who felt the same way we did. Also, thank you for sending our Granddaughter's Leap pad back. We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Debbie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are so very happy to have you back!

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Todd & Becky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We usually do write nice reviews, even with those places that are not quite good. My girlfriend and I are not quite picky and we do not complain, but when we arrived at this hotel from the backside, since we missed the entry, We were approached by really rude and unfriendly guy, totally out of himself and with life death threats about being shot because we were parking from the backside and not being able to find the entrance. We apologize and look to calm down the guy (we are not used to aggression). We moved and look for the reception. There, we found out that was the owner of this place overreacting to our mistake. This is a total lack of professionalism running a business and complete lack of understanding of customer service. Our booking was already charged to our credit card so we did not want to make things more difficult canceling the booking and ask for a refund. We decided to Check in, move around in our trip to Key West, spend the night and leave the place ASAP. The amenities were poor for the price you get, but the customer experience do not worth the savings you could do. There are better places expending a little bit more. The mattress was really bad and too noisy. There was loud music until late night and drunk people were around all night long. Couples and Family, keep and stay away. There are better places with just a few extra Dollars. I would say this is a perfect place for a lonely fisherman with extra beers. With that customer attitude I would not be surprise if this place is out of business in the next months.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are so very happy that Tripadvisor allows us this forum to respond to reviewers. What is interesting is some of the facts that this traveler chose to leave out.

This couple parked around the back of the hotel. It definitely looks like the back of the hotel, and they had to drive by the front of the hotel and the clearly marked office to get to the back where they parked. That in itself is not so bad, and we understand that occasionally people can make mistakes.

What happened next, however, is what they left out of their description of events:

These guests thought it was perfectly acceptable to approach guest rooms at the back of the hotel, and proceed to look through both open and closed windows and sliding doors. We are talking full on staring with cupped hands and everything!

Were we mad? Yes. We are not sure of any excuse that can be given for suspicious people (who park around back where the office cannot see them) who then proceed to look into guest rooms! We are not sure how looking into these rooms was going to help you find the office at the front of the hotel.

We take the safety and security of our guests very serious. This did not ring true when they gave this excuse, and it does not ring true even now.

Todd Chandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The kids (early 30's) liked it because it was convenient to The PostCard Resort where they could swim in the ocean and there was a decent size pool. I was OK with almost average condition until the charges hit my bank account. They said, "Oh, yes. We can split the charges between your card and your friend's card." I signed for one night but was billed for two in our room and one in someone else's room. Today the guy said, "sorry... those have already been processed." So have the over draft fees and I am 1500 miles from my bank with an overdrawn account, but that's not his problem.

No phone in the rooms. 19" color TV. WIFI signal is better from DropAnchor2 at adjacent hotel. No beach. No microwave. Faucet missing a nozzle so you get shower while you brush your teeth. Last person who painted needed glasses. Trim paint on ceramic tile, window glass, floor. Forgot to paint around outlets by the bed.. Piece of ceramic tile missing from tub wall. Coffee available in office when they get around to opening at 8:30. Toilet flushes if you hold the handle down until it gurgles. Venician blind looks like it went thru a war.

The nicest thing is that not many people were staying there (go figure) so we had the pool to ourselves.

That being said... My signature on a $125 statement yielded $410 charges plus overdraft fees that the hotel guy said we could work out between ourselves. Ugh.

Room Tip: Try an RV. The two rooms on the end can see the ocean. Others see parking lots. The cabins do se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KURTZINPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

This review is unfair at best because it is either a mistake or a fabrication.

There are three people that work the desk here at the hotel. Two females, and one male (myself). I can say without a doubt that I have never had a conversation with this reviewer about a split bill or multiple charges. Since I am the only guy that works here, I am assuming that they are talking about a different hotel or are outright lying. And I would never say "work it out between yourselves" when it takes 30 seconds to fix a charge!

On the outside chance that this was a recent family that rented two rooms, then switched rooms amongst themselves and then switched cards at checkout - all without telling the desk - This is not fair to blame the hotel for your actions!

Sincerely,

Todd Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a room on the second floor; nice view, big room with fully equipped kitchen, and clean. Some rust and old paint is expected from the tropical weather. The pool area is great to spend a relaxing afternoon after a day of exploring the Upper Keys, and enjoy breakfast watching the sunrise from the picnic area. We are looking forward to go back and stay in one of the cottages. Great place if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Second or Third floors have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for your business!

We appreciate the nice review, and hope to see y'all again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It's practically in the middle of everything! We really enjoyed our stay. Yes, the place is dated, but what do you expect when you deal with tropical weather. It's CLEAN!!!, It's COMFORTABLE!!!
You get what the photos show you and if you're on a budget, it's a perfect place to stay. We're looking forward to coming back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for the great review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.5 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
2.8 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £364 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada
Harbor Lights Motel Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing