We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deceptive tactics (Really The Mosley Motel), disrepair.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Lights Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Lights Motel
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deceptive tactics (Really The Mosley Motel), disrepair.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

I booked this place online through expedia. Mosley Motel is the name it was advertised as. Deceptive since it has been the Harbor lights for years. The only way that someone that knows this place would book it is if the name was different and thought that it had been possibly renovated.
This is an awful place to stay.
The toilet in my room had to be replaced because it would not flush. I was informed that it was a new problem ...really?? Then why the plunger sitting next to the toilet.
After the toilet was replaced, it rocked a bit.
I give the management credit for installing the new toilet. That's it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maddyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
We are so sorry that you felt that your recent stay warranted a very bad review! We believe that your recent review was a bit unfair, and are very happy that this forum allows our response so that future guests can make an informed decision before making their plans. We try hard to make sure that each guests has the very best stay possible, and will contninue to do so!

As we tried unsuccessfully to explain to you when you checked in, we were never the Mosley Motel. We found out recently that Expedia loaded a very small amount of information wrong on some of their pages and they are working hard to correct this. We are 100% at their mercy, and I am sure that they did not do this to trick you in any way or to be "deceptive". In fact, by the time this gets posted I am told it will be taken care of! We are deeply sorry that this small mistake was such a huge issue for you! We are not sure why this warranted a terrible review, but we are working so hard to get this corrected and apologize profusely for the terrible inconvenience this must have caused you and your family during your vacation! You are truly the very first guests we have had that had their whole vacation ruined by a small typo on one line of their reservation! We would also like to point out that everything else had the correct name, address and phone number.

We are also very sorry you had an issue with the toilet in your guest bathroom. To be perfectly fair, we did completely install a brand new toilet within 15 minutes of your initial complaint that it was "flushing too slow". The new one worked perfectly by the time you returned to your room after dinner. We think that is pretty impressive service, especially in the evening! The plunger was left inadvertently in your room, and we would have retrieved it immediately had you just called down! We strongly feel that we reacted to your initial complaint in a fast, professional, and thorough manner and do not know what more we could have done since we completely corrected the problem. We apologize again for having put you through this terrible ordeal while you were gone from the property enjoying your dinner!

Thank you as well for the pictures showing the tiny rust spots in the bathroom. We try and remind everyone that we are a 50+ year old oceanfront resort with the normal daily challenges you might expect from a property that age and sitting a few feet from the Atlantic Ocean. We readily admit that there are small areas around the property that have rust - but we also remind you that this is not the same thing as being dirty! Please understand that these little spots are an ongoing battle, and we do our very best every day to stay ahead of them every day. Ocean = Rust - even at 5 star resorts!

As you may have discovered during your recent visit, they Florida Keys are somewhat remote. We wish we could run out and buy a soapdish to replace a damaged one - like the picture you took of the one in your guest bathroom. Unfortunately, we are at the mercy of delivery schedules for even the most basic items you might take for granted living somewhere else. Our nearest big hardware chain is over a two hour trip away! We hope to have that particular one replaced ASAP as soon as the part comes in. Again, we are so sorry that this negatively effected your vacation!

Please again accept our sincere apologies. Even though we strongly feel that your review was quite unfair given the circumstances, we will continue to work hard on your suggestions and comments to try make sure that we present the very best affordable oceanfront resort in the Keys.

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    82
    75
    52
    104
See reviews for
97
134
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

fine place to stay. i typically travel on a budget so this place worked for me. if you are expecting a 5 star joint this isnt your place. if you just want a clean place to rest your head at night then this is great. we had a third floor room which had a private balcony which was nice. the staff was very accomadating. we didnt use the pool but it looked nice. the showers had good water pressure. we spent the following night at a hotel across the street called the ocean view inn which was really cool, although a tad more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kris1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank you so much for trying us out! We enjoyed having you and hope you will come again soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

My sister and I stayed here just a week ago. We were able to get a room with just a few hours notice. The receptionist was really nice and helpful. The building is an older one, 2 stories, right on the shore. Its painted white with yellow trim. Our room was on the second floor, it had 2 queen beds, a kitchenette,with a fridge, dishes, microwave and a table with chairs, cable tv, large window that opened. The bathroom was fairly small, the bottom of the door was worn, there were plenty of towels but you will need to bring your own shampoos and blow drier. The closet only had a few hangers. the inside was battered but not dirty. The floors, carpet and bathroom were very clean, no odors.
The beds were in good shape, as were the sheets and pillows, We inspected for bed bugs, no bugs anywhere, Yay! I slept like a rock. Outside, wow. The pool was clean, there is a small boat ramp, and kayaks are available for 20 dollars for the whole day. If you want to swim, snorkle, just walk down the ramp and go. The keys have very few sand beaches so know that all the fun is in the water. We loved the sunset, we could see fish swimming around too.
This hotel is pet friendly too, the people next to us had their golden retriever with them.
All this for only 80.00 a night. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jplodzien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Wow! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We also wish you could have stayed longer!

Folks may notice from your great pictures that our little hotel recently went yellow! We have a btand new paint job! Thank you so very much for the great review!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed at one of the small condos on the property that face the water. They were definately dated with old furnishings - a little run down and neglected (biggest problem was non-working electrical outlets) but nice and clean with easy access to the water. There was no internet access from the condo but was available at their office. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Very reasonable rates compared to other comparable places in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makwa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank you so much for your good review. We do have a challenge sometimes with our 50+ year old property, but we hope that it did not inconvenience you too much during your stay!

Thank you again, we hope to see you soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

This hotel is not anything fancy but it has a great view, nice clean spacious room with a fully supplied kitchen. We loved staying there and just talking to the guests by the pool ..very down to earth place. Good price! No hidden costs or fake pictures... some work being done around the hotel at this time but still the people made up for any inconvenience.. you just feel very comfortable there!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you so much for the great review! So everyone knows, we have completed a rennovation of teh exterior and we are now YELLOW! As soon as we can figure out how to laod some new photos we will put them up! We appreciate everyone's patience that week we painted, and it now looks awesome! Come back and see us soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Clean, quiet older motel. Needs some TLC but good value. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoxieGal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you so much for trying us out!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

It's always so nice when something is even better than we expected. Obviously this isn't a deluxe resort, so we had lowered our expectations, but for a vintage, budget motel, this place is great. We loved opening our blinds in the morning and watching the sun rise over the Atlantic. Location was convenient to the best things in Islamorada. Staff was friendly and helpful. My only gripe - spring for some bathroom amenities. Can't you use 25 cents of the room rate for a miniature shampoo?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWeiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
You nailed it! Thank you for the great review! Come back soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
5.5 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
1.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Property: Harbor Lights Motel
Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada
Harbor Lights Motel Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing