We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitoes, No AC, No staff”
Review of Topsider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Topsider Resort
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mosquitoes, No AC, No staff”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Very disappointed. Got to Topsider at about 2PM on Saturday to check-in. Room wasn't ready so clerk asked me to come back in an hour which was not a problem since went grocery shopping for the week. Upon returning (bout 430) the key was left in an envelope and I never saw any staff again the rest of the week, except for the maintenance man, who according to the check in instructions we were not to contact with any questions since all requests had to go through the office. I left a message in the box on the first night that the modem did not work and never got a response.

Other reviews mentioned the loud AC. It was loud but biggest complaint was the note saying do not turn AC below 75 degrees otherwise it will freeze and they will not fix it and we would be left without AC for the week. It is the Florida Keys and get hot so disappointed that AC wasn't working. They also mention that the units are poorly insulated right in their welcoming paper work.

The cleanliness of the unit also left something to be desired as the sheets and towels had many stains on them. Though the sheets looked clean it was a little disturbing sleeping on red stained sheets.

While all of these situations made for a bad trip, what caused me to leave after 3 nights and pay for a hotel for the remainder of the week were mosquitoes.The first 2 nights I had some mosquitoes in the bathroom and bedroom. Sprayed some bug killer and hoped that would help. It didn't. the third night i wasn't covered by the sheet. Woke up at 330 with my feet covered in bites. At least 50 bites all over my feet and was up for hours. In the morning saw mosquitoes all around the unit. Never left the front door open but mosquitoes invaded the unit. Decided that rather than continue in these conditions to eat the cost of the unit and go pay hundreds to stay somewhere else for the rest of the week.

It's a shame since the other guests were very very pleasant and the units are nicely situated for privacy. The grounds were also well kept. However due to the lack of response from the non-existent staff and horrible sleeeping conditions I would recommend looking elsewhere for a trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very disappointing. The pictures accurately portray the property. The grounds are well kept and other owners are very pleasant. However, the unit itself and management are lacking. Even though it is sunny Florida they leave you instructions not to turn the AC below 75 otherwise it will freeze and you will be left without AC since they wont fix it. They acknowledge the units are not well insulated.Their "internet in every room" proclamation might be true but the modem on mine was working. To get maintenance you are instructed to write your request on a piece of paper and leave it by the office. They make it clear that you are not to give this request directly to the maintenance man, even though he was the only worker i saw all week and nobody was ever in the office. Needless to say my request was still sitting in the same box after 3 days. Also there was my request for something to be done about the mosquitoes INSIDE the unit. They were everywhere. We never left the door open since when we first walked in we saw them. I bought bug spray and sprayed everywhere but finally after the 4th night (pre-paid for 7) I had to leave since we got bit so bad that we couldn't sleep.

I would have liked to discuss this with a worker but never saw any office worker. I also would have requested new linens since the ones i had were stained with what I hope is tomato sauce.

Cute looking place with well kept grounds but the units themselves were horrible. Never have left a timeshare early since if i pay for the week i want to get every use of it possible, nut in this case I left and wound up paying hundreds of dollars to stay elsewhere to finish out the week.

Room Tip: Avoid unites 10 and 20 which are closest to the road. My house is near a major road and i never wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect! The units are older but everything worked great! Every morning I would have my coffee at the end of the dock and saw Dolphin, Manatees, and sea turtles swimming by. Air conditioning worked great and I slept like a baby! There were always grounds keepers tending to the property so I don't understand the people that had negative reviews. Manny was always around if you needed anything, Including the good fishing spots! We would all gather on the dock to see the beautiful sunset every night! For those of you with the negative reviews....Maybe you need to look in the mirror and realize that YOU are the problem, Not the Topsider! Thanks to everyone that made my first trip to the Keys so great!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This place is truly a peice of crap. As soon as I walked in, I wanted to drive back 6 hours to get home. The unit is older than time with it's exposed wood and crappy paint job. The bathroom is made for a peice of paper, it's so small you could wash your hands whilst doing your 'Business'. God forbid you leave the bathroom door open because if you do, it is impossible to sqeeze by. The paper thin walls are also a pain in the bottom when you have noisy unit neighboors across the way. The AC is horrible, if you set it to below 75 the AC is at risk of freezing up and having none at all. Perfect for a nice Florida night wouldn't you say? The pier is a driftwood log compared to the picture provided on the website but, you CAN swim... At your own risk. I had to endure this horrible unit for a whole week and plan on never coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlyShark22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We first stayed here for a week on a timeshare exchange 4 years ago and OK, the place isn't in the first flush of youth but given that, with the exception of last year due to other reasons, we have gone back every year since but for two weeks and have just returned. Couple of years ago we too had a problem with the a/c but within a couple of hours an engineer was on site and the problem resolved. This year a problem with the dishwasher door saw a new dishwasher installed the following morning.
The ambience of the place, people, and staff (particularly Manny the maintenance man) just add to the experience. Fishing off the end of the dock was good this year and I hooked 3 shark (all released). Bicycles and kayaks are provided for use.There is an ongoing programme of upgrading the units and a new boardwalk has been installed. Plenty restaurants in easy reach, most with great value happy hours.
I have a difficulty in understanding the problems encountered by the previous poster as the contact numbers for out of hours are posted on the office door.

If you want a laid back, friendly break then look beyond the odd scuffed paint and temperamental window blind and find a peaceful sunny haven.

Room Tip: All units are build to the same floor plan with 10 on each side of the boardwalk. Units 1 and 11 ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Units were beyond tired, they were exhausted! A/C sounded like jet engines were taking off. Had to turn it off so we could sleep but because the unit had no insulation and with gaps over, under, and around the doors and windows, the heat woke us up anyway. No staff was around at check in. Had to go find someone. Had a problem one evening around 7:00. NO ONE was around to help. Instructions said to call 911! That's nuts. 20 units and no one around after 5:00 until the next morning. I would have overlooked the condition of the unit because it was clean but no one around for help, that's unacceptable. There wasn't even an answering machine to leave a message for help. With the aid of the neighbors, we were able to fix the problem. Would not recommend the Topsider to anyone and will never go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Loved it here. I went in Dec of 2007 and again in Dec of 2008. I didn't get to go last year but definitely plan on making it back there again this year!

Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy_jaclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,362 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
6.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,411 reviews
8.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
8.9 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topsider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsider Resort

Property: Topsider Resort
Address: 75500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-4005
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topsider Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topsider consists of 20 fully furnished octagon shaped stilt homes nestled in a lush tropical setting facing the bay. Each unit has two bedrooms, two baths, living room and a full kitchen. Downstairs you have your own storage/laundry room with a full size washer and dryer. HIGH SPEED INTERNET ACCESS IN EVERY UNIT On site there is a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and two shuffle board courts. There is a play ground area with swings and slide for the kids. Bicycles as well as kayaks and canoes are also here ready for your enjoyment! Topsider has its own boat ramp that guest can use at no charge. Of course we can't forget Topsider's famous pier. This "T" shaped pier jets out into the bay 180 feet giving those with boats plenty of room for docking and those who don't a great place to fish from. It's also the perfect place for everyone to enjoy those fabulous Florida Keys sunsets. So please take a moment to explore the site and see all the wonderful things that are available to you here at Topsider and the Florida Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Topsider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topsider Hotel Islamorada
Topsider Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing