We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gulf of Mexico Views!”
Review of Topsider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topsider Resort
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Gulf of Mexico Views!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Dated resort, but like everything else in the Keys. Rooms are built up, so as to prevent flooding. 2 bedroom units will sleep 6, but 2 should be children due to size of the unit. Clean and friendly staff. Free boat dockage and fish from pier. Free internet.

Room Tip: Get units 1, 2, 11 or 12 for good views of the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

First of all, yes, the units are older, but hey, are you there to spend time sitting in the room? We caught a huge baracuda off the dock and some other unidentified fish. The beach was wonderful, went swimming every day. Never had to fight for a beach chair or pool chair no matter what time of day. The swimming pool is kept at a perfect temperature, nice and warm. If you are looking for fancy rooms with people to wait on you, this is not the place. But if you are looking to spend time with family and relax, it is great. Don't forget to ask if the end units are available (#1 and #11) as they are just steps from the water. They are just $100 more per week than the others and well worth it. For $1200 ($1300 for end units) for a 2 bedroom 2 bath place in the keys for a week, I consider it a bargain. Free use of kayaks and canoes, which we used every day, and free use of bikes also. You can bring your own boat and dock it free or rent a boat locally and dock it there, which we did one day. Also, close to lots of great restaurants and acitivites. The kids loved the funny octagon shaped houses, too, thought they looked like spaceships. And each unit has a washer and dryer also, a big plus.

Room Tip: Ask for unit #1 or #11 on the end by the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jillywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I am an advid traveler and a South Floridian. My family and I often go down to the Keys for a quick weekend getaway. TERRIBLE EXPIERENCE !!!!! After being checked into the hotel by the "Holtel Manager" (for over two hours)or whoever this latin woman was, we were chased down and my husband was screamed at by her that she needed to speak with him. She was FRANTIC and RUDE!!! She told my husband that we needed to leave ASAP since she messed up and the owners of the unit were on there way! She refunded us but provided no help to try and relocate and asked my husband to "NOT MAKE HER LIFE ANY HARDER THAN IT IS!" I have never seen, heard or could possibly believe a story like this if it had not happen to me. My kids were very dissapointed and after our two hour drive home since the entire Key was sold out we are in shock and disbelief. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. They can not be trusted and are extremely rude. I will be contacting the owner of this resort. The "managers" name is Tuesday and I can not believe her customer service skills along with the fact that not only did she kick out my family but she had to kick out the family before us at check-in for the same reason! She was unprofessional and insensitive. I can not believe any manager would ever ask someone to not make her life any harder than it is. The rooms smell funny and are completely outdated. Also if this isn't bad enough she even had someone follow us to the room and wait until me and my daughters changed to leave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Athomas0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

bronx ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

As far as a resort goes for one thing its a timeshare.....most folks own or exchange

though not 5 star acomidations 5 star location ...those who rent are looking for

a bargain ..at about 1100.00 a week for the Keys thats cheap...2 bedrooms 2 bath

full kitchen....in the Keys you get bugs ....all kinds get over it.....you can bring your boat

what else would you want???... a great place for family fun.......paradise for sure

Room Tip: All units the same try for middle.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papabear_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I have been spending our holidays at Topsider for the past eight years and on several occasions have also take our son and his young family too. The place is an absolute treasure waiting to be discovered.

The 'villas' benefit from being 14 feet above ground level which is where the cooling breezes are and completely detached from each other which means its virtually impossible for the noise from your neighbours to disturb you.

The grounds have just been given a complete makeover with fresh landscaping and new boardwalk and picnic area but the gem in Topsider's crown has got to be the fishing pier. which is about a hundred feet long and provides the location for stunning sunsets and great family fishing.

The management is always prepared to go that extra mile to make our holidays at Topsider even better and any little problems are dealt with by the ever helpful Manny.

If its too breezy down by the private beach, we retreat to the sheltered pool area and exchange gossip with the friends we have made over the years.

Although the accommodation is farly basic, it is spacious and has everything we need. With broadband to keep in touch with the UK, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, we are self sufficient and don't need to overload our luggage by taking too many clothes, etc.

If you want five star luxury with 24 hour service this is not the place for you. If you want a great family holiday making lots of new friends and enjoying the weather, the sunsets and the extraordinary wildlife, go to Topsider.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MamaTeresa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The setting is beautiful. The rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly, helpful, BUT the beds are awful and the interior is in need of a dramatic update

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dakota89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Very disappointed. Got to Topsider at about 2PM on Saturday to check-in. Room wasn't ready so clerk asked me to come back in an hour which was not a problem since went grocery shopping for the week. Upon returning (bout 430) the key was left in an envelope and I never saw any staff again the rest of the week, except for the maintenance man, who according to the check in instructions we were not to contact with any questions since all requests had to go through the office. I left a message in the box on the first night that the modem did not work and never got a response.

Other reviews mentioned the loud AC. It was loud but biggest complaint was the note saying do not turn AC below 75 degrees otherwise it will freeze and they will not fix it and we would be left without AC for the week. It is the Florida Keys and get hot so disappointed that AC wasn't working. They also mention that the units are poorly insulated right in their welcoming paper work.

The cleanliness of the unit also left something to be desired as the sheets and towels had many stains on them. Though the sheets looked clean it was a little disturbing sleeping on red stained sheets.

While all of these situations made for a bad trip, what caused me to leave after 3 nights and pay for a hotel for the remainder of the week were mosquitoes.The first 2 nights I had some mosquitoes in the bathroom and bedroom. Sprayed some bug killer and hoped that would help. It didn't. the third night i wasn't covered by the sheet. Woke up at 330 with my feet covered in bites. At least 50 bites all over my feet and was up for hours. In the morning saw mosquitoes all around the unit. Never left the front door open but mosquitoes invaded the unit. Decided that rather than continue in these conditions to eat the cost of the unit and go pay hundreds to stay somewhere else for the rest of the week.

It's a shame since the other guests were very very pleasant and the units are nicely situated for privacy. The grounds were also well kept. However due to the lack of response from the non-existent staff and horrible sleeeping conditions I would recommend looking elsewhere for a trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
8.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caloosa Cove Resort
Caloosa Cove Resort
#1 of 7 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topsider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsider Resort

Property: Topsider Resort
Address: 75500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-4005
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topsider Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topsider consists of 20 fully furnished octagon shaped stilt homes nestled in a lush tropical setting facing the bay. Each unit has two bedrooms, two baths, living room and a full kitchen. Downstairs you have your own storage/laundry room with a full size washer and dryer. HIGH SPEED INTERNET ACCESS IN EVERY UNIT On site there is a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and two shuffle board courts. There is a play ground area with swings and slide for the kids. Bicycles as well as kayaks and canoes are also here ready for your enjoyment! Topsider has its own boat ramp that guest can use at no charge. Of course we can't forget Topsider's famous pier. This "T" shaped pier jets out into the bay 180 feet giving those with boats plenty of room for docking and those who don't a great place to fish from. It's also the perfect place for everyone to enjoy those fabulous Florida Keys sunsets. So please take a moment to explore the site and see all the wonderful things that are available to you here at Topsider and the Florida Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Topsider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topsider Hotel Islamorada
Topsider Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing