We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs an upgrade”
Review of Topsider Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topsider Resort
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Topsider is well loved by the people that own units there and have been going there since childhood. It is definitely well worn and in need of an upgrade.

The management and maintenance staff are super friendly and attentive.

If you don't mind the accommodations, it has a pool, a beach area, and dock. Each unit has a combined kitchen and living area, a master room with a queen bed and a small bathroom, an additional bedroom with 2 twin beds, and a bathroom with tub/shower. The biggest improvement needed is the A/C. They are not efficient and the units get very warm during the day. A facelift of the décor is needed as well.

Room Tip: Units 1 and 11 face the beach/water area and unit 10 and 20 are closer to the pool and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mt Shasta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here for 26 years . This place is clean quite and unique. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an exceptional stay in the Key's! There is a pool, a hot tub , and a tennis court! Also , a private beach and a boat for docking !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wrecklessdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This one'll take a while. When booking a unit here I asked the rental manager for a unit near the water. She said #3 was available so I booked. When I got confirmation in the mail the document said unit #16. I called to ask why the change to a unit so far from the water, she said the owner of the week (time share) decided not to rent his unit. I said OK. When we went to check in we had been moved once again. I wanted to stay away from the highway because of the 24 hour traffic noise. When we checked in the unit was clean but most everything was very worn (needed replacement and dated). The bedding was poor and the air conditioning sounds like a freight train. Kitchen items are very limited.
By looking at Google/Bing maps it looks like the units have a water view but the decks are actually facing the garden area between the two rows of units. The garden is a lush area and very well maintained. The walkway through the garden has just been refinished and leads to a very nice pier and dock area that appears to be brand new. The facility has a nice large heated pool (brand new pool heater) with plenty of seating. It also has a very nice beach with lounge chairs, kayaks, and a canoe or two that you can use. There are also bicycles. Along the center walkway are grills and picnic tables for outside dining. We experienced absolutely no insect problems during our visit.Topsider has only about 20 units, so there's lots of space to spread out. Full size washers and dryers in each of the units appear to be new as well. Any maintenance issues were handled immediately. Manny, the maintenance man went out of his way to make sure everything was satisfactory. Topsider is very near Robbie's Marina and the Hungry Tarpon Restaurant. We visited there frequently. It's also not far from Lor-e-lei and Lazy Days, some of our favorite places.

Room Tip: Get one away from the highway. Get one with level floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Shasta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This resort is amazing . Ever since I was born my parents brought me on vacation to the Florida Keys . Every year it was Topsider!! I love the private beach, pool, and tennis court . There are also bicycles that you can ride for free and little boats you can paddle around in that are provided by the resort! I just couldn't imagine staying any place else in the keys!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank wrecklessdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It's too easy to pass Topsider Resort as you drive south on the Overseas Highway from Robbie's. The resort sign has seen better days and is situated well back from the road but don't let this put you off. If you persevere past the 'Private' signs you'll find yourself in a hidden paradise with tennis court, swimming pool, two small private beaches and a long fishing dock where visitors' boats are often moored. The accommodation consists of only twenty detached octagonal stilt houses which were constructed over twenty years ago but although basic in design, contain all the amenities and facilities you need for a fishing, swimming and beach holiday for couples or families. However Topsider's best feature isn't the lovely landscaped gardens or even the popular fishing dock, it's the friendly welcome you receive from all the others who obviously adore this place and go back year after year after year....

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the bay and be in the thick of what's happening, go for 'units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaTeresa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I can't believe some of these reviews by some people who seem to be high maintanence! This is the keys and you will find bugs! Tuesday and richard have been extremely nice since I have owned. 2001! Some people just can't take care of themselves on vaca. Love the place and would never trade. Manny is great and takes great care of the place. My ashes will be here someday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sharkman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The location of the Topsider is pretty convenient. There are some fun things to do nearby and it is about 1.5 hours to Key West.

The grounds of the resort are beautiful, as is its location on the Gulf of Mexico side of Islamorada. We stayed in unit 4. Pretty much everything in the interior was in serious need of updating. The beds were pretty comfortable and the towels were very nice. Was surprised that the management tells visitors not to turn the thermostat below 75 because the air conditioner might freeze up. Frankly, I'm not interested in staying in a place in Florida where I'm expected not to set the temperature to my liking. I wondered if it wasn't more about saving money on utilities than concern about the air conditioner. The other unwelcome surprise was finding ants in one of the bedrooms. Had to ask the management to get a blow dryer for the unit, surprising in this day and age.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
8.7 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caloosa Cove Resort
Caloosa Cove Resort
#1 of 7 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topsider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsider Resort

Property: Topsider Resort
Address: 75500 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-4005
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topsider Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topsider consists of 20 fully furnished octagon shaped stilt homes nestled in a lush tropical setting facing the bay. Each unit has two bedrooms, two baths, living room and a full kitchen. Downstairs you have your own storage/laundry room with a full size washer and dryer. HIGH SPEED INTERNET ACCESS IN EVERY UNIT On site there is a heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and two shuffle board courts. There is a play ground area with swings and slide for the kids. Bicycles as well as kayaks and canoes are also here ready for your enjoyment! Topsider has its own boat ramp that guest can use at no charge. Of course we can't forget Topsider's famous pier. This "T" shaped pier jets out into the bay 180 feet giving those with boats plenty of room for docking and those who don't a great place to fish from. It's also the perfect place for everyone to enjoy those fabulous Florida Keys sunsets. So please take a moment to explore the site and see all the wonderful things that are available to you here at Topsider and the Florida Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Topsider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topsider Hotel Islamorada
Topsider Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing