We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dolphin sandwich”
Review of Habanos Oceanfront

Habanos Oceanfront
Ranked #26 of 92 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Dolphin sandwich”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Best Dolphin sandwich cooked to order, great portions, and the best location. Love pulling up on the boat to the marina, eating then taking off satisfied!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freshee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    137
    47
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“It was good but they forgot our food.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We brought our own fish to cook and it was very good. However, we had a table of 20 and about 6 of us ordered blackened fish and we never did it. They cooked all of the fish grilled or fried. Don't get me wrong the food was delicious and for a good price but it was very dissappointing not to get what we had ordered. Hopefully they get it right next time because it was indeed worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHCRANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok Cuban Food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food was ok, not the best Cuban I have had but not the worst either. The place was very busy and service was average. I would stop here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManyAdventures365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The food is superb!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would have given this place 5 stars, but if you have read the other reviews you know already that the service is lacking. They just don't have either enough servers or kitchen help because the wait for everything is long. Hat being said I will be returning because if you love Cuban food, this is the place to go. Everything was seasoned well, and cooked just right. I had the the palomilla with moros and tostones. The steak was flavorful and tender which you know if you have eaten palomilla isn't always the case. The moros was perfect and the tostones were thin and yet not cooked to death. Crispy in the outside and tender in he middle. The best Cuban food I have had since I left Miami in 2006. We went around 6:30 or 7 and there were no empty tables in the back so we sat in the front section. There is only one waitress for the whole section which can be a lot if it's full and it was. Plus there were a lot of take out orders which also were her responsibility. She was pleasant to us but just totally overwhelmed with customers. I don't know why they don't hire a couple of more servers and make the experience what is should be. They could double or triple their service, I watched more than one person walk out because they just didn't want to wait. Even so I'll be going back again before I leave.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pandemoniumaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Fast or Accurate Service ”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Visited when driving between Key West and Miami. Restaurant was busy, and staff were not seating line of people very quickly. When we did get a table it took several attempts to get a waitress. Food came out fast but was wrong in several ways. Didn't receive drink refills and had to beg for a check, along with corrections to check. I am used to slow and surly service in some south Florida restaurants, so consider this graded on a curve. Would not recommend given all the other friendly and tasty places along 1 in Islamorada.

Helpful?
Thank JWZurawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Habanos Oceanfront also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Long Key, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Habanos Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing