We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down to Earth Captain, World Class Fisherman”

Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina
Ranked #21 of 160 Tours in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bud n' Mary's Fishing Marina is a historic fishing marina located in Islamorada, FL, the sportfishing capital of the world! We offer offshore, inshore, and party boat fishing. We also have boat rentals, lodging, diving, snorkeling, and a deli on site! Come see why Bud n' Mary's has been a florida keys fishing tradition since 1944!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My father, brother, and myself have been on several charters in Destin, Florida. It was pretty much the same routine with every captain we went out with. They would say hello before we began the trip and would say goodbye after the trip. The only interaction we received was hearing them on the speaker as they directed us from the tower. The fishing was usually pretty good, but the experience with the crew usually made it a less than desirable trip.

Fishing with Captain Nick Stanczyk is NOTHING like the charters we have been on in Destin. Nick is not only one of the best fisherman in the world, but he is a down to earth guy. This is something you will appreciate after you spend 10+ hours on a boat with a person you do not know very well.
Nick's first mates are also top notch. We have had the pleasure to fish with two different first mates and they were both hard working and funny guys.

We took a trip earlier in the winter where he put us on three different sailfish (one for each person on the boat). This trip we wanted to focus on Dolphin and Swordfish. He was able to put us on enough Dolphin for every person in our group to limit out two days in a row!

We didn't get our Swordfish this trip, but we did catch a massive Hammerhead! We will be looking forward to fishing with Nick and his crew for years to come!

Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time so share your fishing trip on here. Great pictures as well! Sounds like you've had a few great trips so we look forward to having you back down here again.
Thanks again
Bud n' Mary's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My daughter and I traveled from New York to beautiful Islamorada for the first time to visit my aunt and uncle! My uncle took us fishing on Thurs 6/9 on the Miss Islamorada! We had a great day thanks to the guidance and care of Captain Ben and the mates, Phil and Dillon! It was our first time fishing off the coast of Florida and not only was it fun but my daughter caught lots of Yellowtail! Definitely plan to return to Islamorada and definitely will book another trip with Captain Ben on Miss Islamorada!

Thank Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Glad to hear your family enjoyed the trip on the MIss Islamorada. Always special when the kid provides a fresh fish dinner for the family too! Thanks for taking the time to share you're experience and we look forward to fishing with you again in the future.
Thanks
Bud n' Mary's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

They know what they do. that have everything you need and the location is PERFECT! Try to rent boat there and do everything from there,,,

1  Thank Mauro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to make a trip advisor review. We do our best to get everyone out on a quality fishing trip! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Dave Morris generously rescheduled our limited fishing trip due to weather and ended up having a great day of back country fishing. Caught so many mangrove snapper but the real catch of the day was two lemon sharks. The marina and all involved were friendly, knowledgeable, and our Captain knew the area so well. Be sure to ask for him. Looking forward to tarpon fishing on our next trip!

Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for the Review! Capt. Dave will surely appreciate it and we look forward to having you back at Bud n' Mary's in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While in Islamorada, my group of four booked a half day guided tarpon fishing trip with Ben Ekblom. We had spoken to Ben in the days leading up to the trip and although a little rough around the edges, Ben seemed pleasant and excited about our trip. The morning of our trip, at appromixately 12:45 a.m., our guide sent us a text message that said he was waiting on the "mullet man" and that our trip would be delayed for up to 3 hours. However, he also stated that regardless of that, we would get the 4 hours we originally paid for. We found it a little unprofessional that he sent word through text at 1 a.m. that our trip would be delayed. Despite this, we were excited and completely ok with waiting to leave later. Upon our arrival at the marina, none of the preliminary work that is typically done ahead of time by a professional guide was done. He asked that we get our own ice and provide our sodas. Again, we were ok with this, we were excited to fish. Finally we take off and stop at his first fishing hole. Literally 5 minutes after arrival, he states that we need fuel and goes immediately back to the marina. That seemed very unprofessional and also something that should have been done before leaving the marina. From then on he proceeded to take us to several different locations to fish. Although informational at times and hard working, the guide often got offended when questioned and appeared perturbed and impatient when dealing with his anglers. We caught one baracuda during our trip. We were of very clear
uunderstanding before leaving that not every trip is a successful one and we were grateful for the baracuda we were able to fight, however from start to finish, our total trip time was around 2 hours and 45 minutes. We were guaranteed 4 hours. The guide never apologized nor offered to eradicate the situation. Ben is a nice guy and I'm sure he's a good captain, but this was an off day for his business and an overall mediocre experience.

3  Thank fishingflorida2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Sorry to hear your trip wasn't as good as it should have been. Most people really enjoy fishing with Capt. Ben, but it sounds like he had an off day. There is a fine line with being on the phone with other captains trying find out if there is a hot bite any where in particular, and just being on the phone too much. We hope you give us another chance if you come back to Islamorada and we'll make sure you get 110%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina also viewed

 

Been to Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing