We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fishing Experience Ever!”

Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bud n' Mary's Fishing Marina is a historic fishing marina located in Islamorada, FL, the sportfishing capital of the world! We offer offshore, inshore, and party boat fishing. We also have boat rentals, lodging, diving, snorkeling, and a deli on site! Come see why Bud n' Mary's has been a florida keys fishing tradition since 1944!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is the best fishing spot in the world in my opinion with the best captains. I had my family (4 of us) do some offshore fishing for a day on the "Red Fish" (Captain Merv Finch). We caught 38 Mahi Mahi, a Tripletail and a barracuda. What a rush! Merv knows his fishing spots! We also did a day of back country fishing with Captain Dave Morris. We had another great day that included landing Mangrove Snapper, Trout, Cobia and a 100 Lb black tip shark! Bud N Mary's is great at what they do and it will be our vacation destiny for years to come. My family and I had so much fun we can't wait to go back and do it all again. If you love fishing you need to come here!!

1  Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed fishing with the "Redfish" and capt. Dave Morris. Sounds like you caught quite the variety of fish too! Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"miss islamorada"
in 41 reviews
"party boat"
in 40 reviews
"snapper"
in 50 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 53 reviews
"tackle shop"
in 12 reviews
"house boat"
in 6 reviews
"lucky lady"
in 5 reviews
"the penthouse"
in 5 reviews
"captain nick"
in 10 reviews
"sport fishing"
in 18 reviews
"black tip"
in 9 reviews
"yellow tail"
in 18 reviews
"great fishing"
in 20 reviews
"big tarpon"
in 6 reviews
"caught sailfish"
in 5 reviews
"live bait"
in 12 reviews
"spanish mackerel"
in 5 reviews
Filter

271 - 275 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We've had the best time the last 3 years (and more to come) while fishing in Islamorada. The staff is knowledgeable and fun to fish with. We have had great success because of the captian and mate in catching Tuna, Sailfish, snapper, etc. We cannot wait to go back!

2  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Great pictures! Your kids smile is priceless! It's always great to hear how much a family enjoys fishing here in Islamorada. We look forward to getting you back out on the water : )

Thanks
Bud n' Mary's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Bud & Mary's has now been added as an annual destination for fishing the Keys. They have everything you need and most importantly excellent guides with the best of equipment. For serious fishermen only which suits me just fine. Call it my base for fishing the Keys.

Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We appreciate the kind words and are very happy to be on the "to-do" list in the future years to come! Thanks for the review.

Bud n' Mary's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a wonderful 2 days of fishing out of Bud n' Mary's. Capt Tim and Capt. Jeff aboard Strictly Business got us on the Mahi 2 days in a row. And thanks so much to Jeff for making our trip a great one and for packing our fish for travel. The staff at Bud n' Mary's are always so nice and helpful. And while you are there don't forget to grab a lunch or breakfast at Kev's Cafe right there in the Marina.

Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My father, brother, and myself have been on several charters in Destin, Florida. It was pretty much the same routine with every captain we went out with. They would say hello before we began the trip and would say goodbye after the trip. The only interaction we received was hearing them on the speaker as they directed us from the tower. The fishing was usually pretty good, but the experience with the crew usually made it a less than desirable trip.

Fishing with Captain Nick Stanczyk is NOTHING like the charters we have been on in Destin. Nick is not only one of the best fisherman in the world, but he is a down to earth guy. This is something you will appreciate after you spend 10+ hours on a boat with a person you do not know very well.
Nick's first mates are also top notch. We have had the pleasure to fish with two different first mates and they were both hard working and funny guys.

We took a trip earlier in the winter where he put us on three different sailfish (one for each person on the boat). This trip we wanted to focus on Dolphin and Swordfish. He was able to put us on enough Dolphin for every person in our group to limit out two days in a row!

We didn't get our Swordfish this trip, but we did catch a massive Hammerhead! We will be looking forward to fishing with Nick and his crew for years to come!

Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budnmarys, Public Relations Manager at Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time so share your fishing trip on here. Great pictures as well! Sounds like you've had a few great trips so we look forward to having you back down here again.
Thanks again
Bud n' Mary's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina also viewed

 

Been to Bud n' Mary's Sportfishing Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing