We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I travel 50% of the time for my Job. I have status at Hilton properties, but decided I would try a local non chain establishment. My GF booked the room and picked the beach view side. The view was Great, the service was great, parking was easy. But there was a musty smell in the room, We left the door open and it seemed to get better. After returning to the room in the evening the smell was back, We then noticed mold stains on the ceiling. I also an 6'5" and the sink and mirror area are in an alcove that is only 6 feet. So I had to duck to look in the mirror and brush my teeth. I am sure the place was great back in the 70s, but it really needs a good pressure washing and paint. And fix the leaks, - mold in the room.

Room Tip: We have stayed further down in Marathon, at the Banana Bay? We will return to that location at our n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We've shared your comments with our staff and we hope you'll give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Post Card Inn. Rooms were very clean, the self-contained property with several tike bars, food/beverages was just what we envisioned. The Bacardi frozen drinks (make sure you ask for the floater), were outstanding and large. Their marina has everything, diving, snorkeling trips to the reefs, 1st class charter fleet, rental boats for fishing or just taking in the pristine waters around. Mr. Roth was surely ahead of his time when he created Post Card Inn. His legacy, and his insistence on making sure his guests would want to return has survived. Wish he were still around to see it.

Room Tip: As I live in Cape Canaveral, on the direct Ocean, the rooms over near Rumrunners were quiet and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Summary:
Pro: Large property, lots to do (watersports, on-site bars and music), friendly front office.

Con: Room not ready on time, toilet not working, no hot water in the morning, lack of pool towels, fake beach (with pebble-like sand). Be aware that there will be noise late into the night on weekends from the bar music. Feels under-staffed. Tiki bar bathrooms were disgusting.

After staying several nights in Key West, we wanted a chance to see more of the keys, and had a reservation here in Islamadora. It did not go well. We were greeted by a room that was not ready on time...we had arrived a little early. But we were given drink vouchers and told we could access the pool and ocean. With no room to change in, this made little sense. Anyway, we were told we would be called when the room was ready. Over 1/2 hour after check in time, we were not called. Finally we went and asked them, and they told us it was ready. The room itself, I must say, looked nice, with some modern-looking decor, etc. But we were also greeted by a toilet that would not flush on arrival. We went to the pool, and were given a runaround on where to find towels....one place said at the pool (no) and the other said the front desk (no). The front desk (who was very friendly) did find us 2 towels and tell us there would be more at the pool soon, but well over an hour later, we heard another patron complaining that there were no towels anywhere. Also, be aware that we chose this place partly because of the pictures of a beach....most all of it is fake, imported 1/2 inch of sand on concrete, not a beach. The next morning was the clincher....no hot water for the shower. We have been to many, many hotels, and have never had to take a cold shower in the morning. Nothing ruins your morning or my tripadvisor review more than not having hot water. One other complaint was that there was NO information in the room about the property....restaurant menus and hours, amenities and where to find them, or any of the things you would expect. This was especially annoying for such a large property, where there were a lot of things to know and find. We had to wander around and ask people simple questions that you could normally find answers to in your room notebook.

If you want to be able to do all kinds of activities in one place, this place could be good...water sports, several bars with live music until late at night, etc. But we are simple travelers, and could not get past the fact that the small things you expect from a hotel were awful, including one of the on-site restaurants (newly re-opened!) that could not seat and serve people or understand take-out even with many open tables (see my review on Shula burger).

This seems to be the problem with the place...it is very large, and they cannot keep up with the demands of such a property. It is a big property with lots of things you can do. But none of that mattered when lots of the small things you expect are all wrong. As my wife put it, "they want to be like an all inclusive" only, they are not even close. They can talk all about the "world famous Tiki bar" and all of that, but it seems to me that this place is trying to do too much, and because of this, is missing the mark on the basic things that matter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StayK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear of the challenges you experience during your visit. This is not typical. We've shared your comments with the staff. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. It's through comments such as yours that helps us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was a little nervous after reading some reviews but I must say I was very pleased. Greeted by the very friendly and accommodating staff. Anthony, Jascinth and Hazel welcomed us and gave us an overview of the resort. They were wonderful.
We stayed in building 2 and had a great view of the ocean. Rooms were quite nice but the washrooms need to be upgraded. We stayed 2 nights (Monday and Tuesday). It was very relaxing and quiet. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Building 2, ocean view was a great location, quite and beautiful and view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently planning refurbishments in our bathrooms for later this year. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a difference - The Post Card Inn Managment and staff have done a fantastic job with this faclity. The first thing you notice is how clean the grounds are; which is quite a feat considering how large the property is. The pool area and beach is very nice, and it's for hotel guest only (thanks Lou).

Night life (and surprisingly breakfast too) at the Tiki Bar was better than expected; rooms get cleaned quickly, staff was helpful, thiers a quality dive shop on the property, and some of the areas best charter captains........we're booking reservations for this Christmas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great pride in the property and the service. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Great resort. Grounds are extremely clean and plenty of chairs and umbrellas.. Stayed in lanai room and our door opened right out to the sand...cleaning staff were right on it...We loved it and would stay here again in a heartbeat. The tiki bar can get loud if you are outside at 11:00 p.m. But inside our room we could not hear anything.....it is a beautiful resort. You won't be disappointed...

Room Tip: If you love ground floor rooms ask for one in the tower....they are spectacular....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendacrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very happy to see you had a great time here. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a bit of trouble with Expedia, and I was frustrated when I arrived. Due to some iffy reviews, I was not expecting too much from the Postcard Inn. When I met the front desk staff, my day immediately brightened! Anthony, in particular, worked tirelessly and cheerfully to help resolve our Expedia issues, and allowed me to inspect our room before paying. The grounds and rooms were absolutely fine, the atmosphere upbeat, and the desk service, as I mentioned, outstanding. I will visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We're pleased you had a great experience and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
18.8 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £153 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing