We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3-Star Resort on the Water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Location was great! We visited for two nights (wish it was longer) in April 2014. This resort is located right on the water with two private beaches for guests. A nice restaurant on site, a nice beach bar with food, and a three story, open air bar right on the beach where the views are spectacular. Dive shop and gift shop also on site.
The rooms were okay, but we're here for the outside activities, not the rooms. The room could have had a closet. That would have been a nice touch.
We definitely will stay here again when we visit next.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Robert H -

Thanks for your Trip Advisor Review and journeying all the way down to the Keys from the frosty land of the Last Frontier! We agree with you, two days in the islands is never enough to rid your bones from the cold of a long winter. Come back to see us any time and we will keep a beach chair by the water with a tropical concoction close at hand for you. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,209 - 1,215 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for a nice relaxing vacation and that's just what it was. We asked for an upgraded, renovated room and one with a view. The room was really nice! And I am picky when it comes to where I sleep. I was very skeptical of this place from all these horrible reviews and let me tell you that this place is not horrible at all. The room had 2 TV's, a refrigerator and was extremely spacious and I loved it. I walked outside the patio door an I was on the water and could get a nice tan just by Laying on our patio. Nice staff and a great view. We did the jetski tour which was so much fun. Chris the tour guide was really awesome!
My advice is to ask for a renovated room, that's all! And just relax!!! I promise. Wish we could go back, like now. Haha

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikki625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Nikki625 -

Thank you for the lovely review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words, especially for Chris at Spray Watersports - they do an outstanding job of delivering a superior jet-ski experience for our guests. Come back any time to lounge by the pool or get a little bit of sun on your skin at our beach during your next stay with at PCI. We can't wait to be apart of your next vacation memories. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. I paid $252/night for a regular room in the 300 building. The room was extremely small, dormitory-like, loud AC, smelled like mold, parking lot view, filled with mosquitoes. Some positive things the room offered: the bed was comfy and the room come with a fridge. There is a marina onsite where you can dock your boat and you can rent jetskis/boats/paddleboards/kayaks.
I would give this resort a 2-star, not 3. The rooms were seriously overpriced for what they had to offer. I didn't sleep at all the 2 nights I stayed here because every time someone leaves their room, the door slams and wakes you up. Also, the AC is so loud as it's a window unit.
The resort itself is quite dated. Being at the pool will bring you back to the 1970s and you feel like you are in the twilight zone at times.
I would prefer to stay at the Hilton in Key Largo before I would stay here. The rooms are the same price and the Hilton is a true 3 star resort.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building above the reception or the 200 bldg. All other rooms have parking lot view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

kristin r -

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of PCI on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is a valuable tool that allows us to measure areas of growth and find ways to better serve our guests needs. However, in the future, we would ask that you please make us aware of your dissatisfaction and allow us the opportunity to make things right. We pride ourselves on our outstanding guest service and a committment to making special vacation memories for our guests. Come on back for a second opportunity for us to win you back to PCI so you can enjoy the fabulous amenities of our beach resort. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for 2 nights for a quick vacation for our birthdays and we couldn't have been happier. The resort was lovely, great views, beautiful beach and pool area, 2 restaurants on site and 3 tiki bars. The room was updated and lovely. I read many reviews and it is true the bathrooms aren't redone and the paint was peeling some on the tub in our room but that was such a minimal issue compared to the room and the amenities it didn't matter to us. We should definitely go back again and will recommend the sister property to any guests we have here in St. Pete!

Room Tip: Get the upgrade for oceanfront and ask for building 1. 2nd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

lizssi -

What a wonderful description of our island paradise at PCI. We can tell you have found your new home in the Fabulous Florida Keys! You know you don't have to wait for your next birthday celebration to put your toes in the sand and let your worries drift out to sea! See you back on the beach soon. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our first time in the keys.....and we can't wait to go back!!!!! When we arrived at the Post Card Inn, we were not very happy with our room. Anthony was so very kind and patient with us....there were not any more ocean front rooms available so he was kind enough to upgrade us!!!!! Our room was on the 5th floor and had an amazing view!!!! We will never stay anywhere else!!! Post Card Inn was the best!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kca1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

kca1205 -

Thank you for your wonderful review about PCI on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the kind words about Anthony - he is a huge part of the success of the Front Office Team in making vacation memories for our guests! We are glad that you have found a new home in the Keys. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our plans were to stay at the Postcard Inn for 3 days then wrap up Spring Break in Key West. I reserved an Oceanfront ground floor room in November, calling once a month and the morning of arrival to make sure our request was noted and hoping we would get a good room that would justify the cost and 3-day stay. When we arrived, the place was packed and the least desirable ocean-front room (my kids and I nicknamed it "the shed") was all they had for the 1st night of our reservation (which means our best option for a room we wanted would require a mid-stay move when a better room became available). Apparently, some other guests decided to extend extra nights and that impacted the availability of the best rooms. Despite a long (but fast moving) line on an extremely busy Sunday afternoon, Emily (at check in) really tried to see what she could do. Ultimately, she engaged a manager, Joe.

While there was no way to produce another ocean front room to our liking, he managed to offer us an upgraded room for the 1st night (giving us the option to move the next day or to keep the upgraded room for our 3-night stay). He even walked me to the room and gave me a "tour" so I could see the room before deciding. We liked the room so much, we decided not to move. For us, the room and location are 80% of the experience so this made a big impact on the enjoyment of our stay.

The 3 days were idyllic. The property is older, but very well maintained. The pool and beach areas were gorgeous, the on-property jet-ski facility was 1st rate, Jaws Raw Bar (best blackened mahi sandwich we've ever had - ever) and Shula's 2 were excellent, and staff working the grounds and rooms were very friendly and engaged. Also, I liked that they checked that those using the beach and pool were guests (they provided blue bracelet bands at check-in for identification) otherwise it would have been too crowded to enjoy. But most of all, I was really impressed by how we were treated by Emily and Joe despite how crazy busy they were.

We do Spring Break in the Keys every year and this was best mid-Keys stay ever. Getting ready to book again for next year.

Room Tip: The 2BR 2nd floor balcony room 121 was awesome - lovely sitting on the balcony at all times of the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

JBwithKids -

Thanks for your outstanding review of your stay at the Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina. We are thrilled to know you and your family had a wonderful visit to our beach resort. Thank you for the kind words and your kudos to Emily - she is a wonderful part of our Front Office Staff and a great reflection of our dedicated staff who look to help our guests make vacation memories. We can't wait to have you back again with us soon. Wish you were here at PCI!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Today is the last day of our 5 day vacation. A multi generational girls trip. There are 4 of us, 43,54,72 and 84. In our hearts, we're all in our 20's. The Post Card Inn is a wonderful resort and has treated us like royalty. Monica who I spoke with when we booked the room, coined our trip,"A life celebration trip", and we were welcomed with a personal note for our mother and friend. How special!!!! They also left some extra gifts in our room for us. Rachel, worked with my sister to arrange for a surprise birthday gift basket, recommended restaurants and made reservations for us for dinner and a sunset cruise. She willingly gave us her cell phone number and even responded on her days off. Thank you Rachel, you're the best!!!!! Everyone we met, from housekeepers to management, were welcoming, helpful, and kind. Kudos to Jaret, who went out of his way to find my luggage that was delivered to an empty building on the highway. One last personal thanks to Eddy at the pool bar. He does a great job and is always smiling.
For all the people who complain about the service and the personnel. You just must be generally unhappy. I hope you learn to look for the good and not the bad in your next vacation.
The resort itself is the perfect size. 5 small bars, each with a different venue. 2 casual restaurants, a marina, watersport rentals and an oceanside pool with a beach. You can watch the sunrise from your room or the beach and the sunset from the top deck of the main building. The rooms are a little dated, but clean and comfortable. I highly recommend The Post Card Inn and plan to be back soon.

Thanks to all for a wonderful vacation!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kubet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

kubet1-

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we could offer you such a "celebration of life" trip here at our beach resort. Thank you for taking the time to recognize Monica, Rachael, Jaret, and Eddie - these dedicated individuals epitomize the definition of customer service and reflect our philosophy of making vaction memories for all of our guests. Please don't wait until next year to come back and visit your new home in the Keys! See you soon back on the beach. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £194 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing