We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location saves this from being a terrible review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Location Location Location. This hotel is located on a very nice piece of property with a very lovely view of the ocean. The resort has many nice amenities, two pools, lots of lounge chairs, access to ocean, several bars and restaurants. But it's like the resort owner knows the location drives people there so they leave it as it is.

Pro's: Super customer service, everyone from security, to housekeeping to GM are very customer focused. You walk into the restaurant Shula's and are always greeted many times by authentically happy employees. The food is very reasonably priced and great portion sizes. I was at the outdoor tiki bar and wanted a Red Bull to go, asked the bartender how much for one to go and he said $5. Ouch, I said no thanks. The GM Ken who happened to be there said, give it to her for $2. Nice! The swimming pool is heated, and kept clean. Security is insistent that everyone has their wrist band on. Room we had was in building 3 second floor, ocean view. Cute décor of the room, nice comfortable bed, nice to have Directv in the room with premium channels. Also had a fridge in the room.

Con's: Coming south on US 1 we see a little sign that says PostCard Inn. Turn into the drive, and there is an abandoned building, and what appears to be an old check in lobby. Small sign on the lobby door indicates check in has moved to the building near the largest tower. Mmh what? Now, as the owner of the hotel I would remove this entrance, and draw the crowd down a few hundred yards to the "real" entrance that has the reception/check in and a larger sign! Even there however they need to work on the traffic flow/parking for guest check in.The pool opens rather early so I got there around 9. They have an outdoor bathroom facility a few yards away. Cleaning of the facilities didn't happen until well after noon. And I am not sure what happens after dark there that the facilities become so nasty you will walk the extra mile to your room to use your own facility. If this was a one day thing, I wouldn't write about it. But it was every day and every day the facilities were gross, 4 of the 5 toilets unusable and filthy. After housekeeping cleaned them late in the afternoon they were usable. The room we had was on the second floor and had a beautiful view of the ocean and a palm tree in front of our window. Lovely, all except the noise at all hours of the day and night. The windows in this place are like paper. You hear everything, and not just the loud drunks, just normal level conversations. The air conditioning unit that is in the wall was a clunker too, it banged on and off when reached its temperature. The shower stall is short, and who ever decided to have paint flecks in the tub be an artistic design is goofy, it looks like what it is a flaking tub. The shower on/off was away from the wall, as if the maintenance mad couldn't figure out how to make it flush with the surround. The most frustrating thing which I believe not too many people would complain about is the headboard. Nautical themed rooms, blues, tan, wall art "Life is an Ocean, sail it" Cute right! Well someone decided to make the headboard out of rope, looped brown rope, up and down the width of the headboard. After the first night while laying on the bed both my husband and I said, whew what is the smell, smells weird. Finally I figured it out, the rope is giving off an odor, very strong too. One more con is the towels they were the worst hard and scratchy! The toilet paper is one ply and flimsy, worse than a convenience store. While we were supposed to have internet, it wouldn't work. Whether it was my carrier or theirs I'm not sure. Not much of an issue for me but could be for some!

Seriously, the only thing that saves this hotel is the location, with the many bars, marina, convenience store (priced very cheap) and the natural beauty that surrounds this hotel. The view is postcard like, but the hotel rooms are not! I wouldn't stay here again nor recommend it to my friends. Too bad, because a few updates and it would be worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get a second floor or above balcony room, there is a lot of foot traffic passing by at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auditru2blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

audittru2blue-

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed post about your recent stay at Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina. We really appreciate your feedback and we utilize this information to accentuate our guests vacation experience. This is an exciting time at PCI, as we are planning new enhancements and renovations to the property. Just imagine how surprised you will be when you come back to our sandy beaches and see all the progress we have made! Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,210 - 1,216 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We had the King size room with a partial ocean view. The room was small, a little dated but had all we needed. Bathroom was small, the bed was ok...nothing to get excited over. Staff was very pleasant. we usually stay at a high end hotel but weren't disappointed in all. There are a couple of places to eat while there, so there's no need to go looking for food. Shula's 2 is where we had the breakfast buffet. The food is your standard buffet and runs $13.00 a person. We had lunch at the Raw Bar while waiting for the sunset cruise. We found the fried Mahi to be fantastic! We received a discount for the cruise because we were a guest at the hotel and ran around $31.00 per person. There are several bars to wet your whistle at. rumrunners being one of them. The property is gorgeous! A great place to have an outdoor wedding. All in all, a nice relaxing weekend. We thought it was a little over priced for how old the place is but is standard for the keys. We paid $269.00 a night. That's what we usually pay in Key West at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdmartin308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

kdmartin308-
What a fantastic description of PCI! Your post on Trip Advisor should be made into an advertising postcard about our beach resort. Thanks for coming to see us and we appreciate your patronage. We look forward to seeing you on a lounge chair out by the oceanfront pool in the near future. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Postcard Inn for the first time since it has changed owners and name from Holiday Isles. The reception has greatly improved. Manager Jaret went above and beyond to make our stay the BEST possible experience. He truly knows customer satsifaction. Carolina at the front desk was GREAT! She went out of her way to show us several rooms to ensure we would get the room we wanted. Justina the food and beverage manager was AMAZING! She was constantly on the move and we encountered her at all of the onsite bars and eateries. She was concerned about our needs and was very receptive to all feedback. Eddy at the pool bar was AWESOME! Always asking us what he could get us and making any cocktail we ordered to our liking. The overall grounds have been cleaned up and improved. The rooms have been updated. The pool is in the best shape I ever ever seen it in from the HOLIDAY days. And no matter where we went everyone greeted us and asked how we were doing. The location has always been great and know the staff are!

Room Tip: The higher up the better. We stayed one night on beach level. Very easy and conveinent. We also stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Joseph330 -

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us at PCI. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time in paradise. By the looks of your review, quite a few of the PCI Team made sure your time in the islands was full of vacation memories. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and letting us know we took great care of you and your vacation experience. See you back in the Keys soon. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent a fun Spring Break week at Postcard Inn. Our beach front room was clean and updated. Loved that the pool times were unlimited. The Raw Bar had great fish tacos and drinks! The sunset cruise we took from the marina was lovely. We felt safe enough to allow our teenage daughter to wander around on her own during the day.

Room Tip: The view from the ocean front rooms were well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizebeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Elizebath C-

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at PCI. Thanks for letting us know about the wonderful time you had at our beach resort - it gives us great satisfaction to know that you were able to slip easily into "island time" during your spring break week! Don't wait until next year to come back to your new home in paradise. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was very surprised at the negative reviews that I have read. We stayed there for 2 nights in the 500 building overlooking the marina. Perfect view of a magnificent sky at sunset. The room was updated and clean. The bed was awsome and pillows very comfortable. Slept like a baby. No noise, and we enjoyed hearing the bands at night, but once we were in our room...we had complete silence. The pool was great overlooking the Atlantic ocean and watching the jet skiing and the boats. Met a few of the mates at the marina, and everyone was so nice. I would go back there and would recommend friends to stay there. Being a FL resident saved us on our room too....which was an added bonus. Bars were great...raw bar, tiki bar, and Shula's2 ...all good food and drinks. Didn't even have to move our vehicle for 2 days....everything is right there.

Room Tip: 500 building overlooking the marina ...even though the roof is there, the distance view is wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazygrammy615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

crazygrammy615 -

Wow! Your review reads like the blueprint of our PCI design as our staff's goal is to create extra special vacation memories for all of our guests. We can't thank you enough for your kind words regarding you stay and we hope to see you back on our beach very soon. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

When we were first looking at this hotel we were getting rates
of $250+ per night for a standard room.We eventually booked
flights and an oceanfront (a must) room with Virgin and the room
worked out at $170 which was much more reasonable.
The best rooms are in the main oceanfront block where reception
is with all rooms having great views.The rooms were a good size
with updated decor albeit with a pretty dated bathroom.This was
adequate and clean.
We did not eat at any of the eateries on site but did go to Rum
Runners bar most afternoons for a 'happy hour' rum and coke
for $2.50 !! £1.50 in our money.Good views and welcoming staff.
Our favourite restaurants were Lorelei's with good music and
atmosphere every night,Island grill and for a more formal meal
out Limoncello at the Cheeca Lodge hotel was good if you like
Italian.Made a break from the nightly grill.
Have to mention 'Theatre of the Seas' which is a marine life centre
next door and well worth a visit for half a day.

Room Tip: Get the oceanfront room in main block.You'll regret it if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARNETTONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

BARRETTONY -

We appreciate you taking the time to journey across the "pond" to put a little bit of the islands in your soul during your recent stay at Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina. From your review, it seems like you had the opportunity to enjoy the best of our island paradise with a fabulous ocean view room to return to each evening. On your next trip back to the States, please some back to your new home in the Fabulous Florida Keys. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Location was great! We visited for two nights (wish it was longer) in April 2014. This resort is located right on the water with two private beaches for guests. A nice restaurant on site, a nice beach bar with food, and a three story, open air bar right on the beach where the views are spectacular. Dive shop and gift shop also on site.
The rooms were okay, but we're here for the outside activities, not the rooms. The room could have had a closet. That would have been a nice touch.
We definitely will stay here again when we visit next.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Robert H -

Thanks for your Trip Advisor Review and journeying all the way down to the Keys from the frosty land of the Last Frontier! We agree with you, two days in the islands is never enough to rid your bones from the cold of a long winter. Come back to see us any time and we will keep a beach chair by the water with a tropical concoction close at hand for you. Wish you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
992 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Islamorada
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3408 (Formerly Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £160 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Florida Keys favorite beloved by beach-lovers and boaters, the oceanfront Postcard Inn Beach Resort and Marina (or PCI for short) in Islamorada is located minutes from Key Largo and a short drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami and Key West. This iconic resort blends the retro, throwback atmosphere of a nostalgic American beach vacation with modern amenities like WiFi, iPod docks and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing