We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Founders Park

Founders Park
Ranked #9 of 61 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Public, clean, nice water and large area to explore! Lots of shade and nice playground. Clean facilities and outdoor showers, covered picnic tables. We visited this beach on a Tuesday so there were only about 7 families there. It's probably busy on the weekends though. The fee was about $30 for 2 adults and 3 children. There was a large pool near which was an extra charge of $3/adult and $2/kid but we enjoyed the beach so much we didn't visit the pool.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heftfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    81
    33
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beach and pool”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Founder's Park is a fun stop for the family, young and old. There is a beach area (keep in mind Florida Key beaches are not huge), clean restrooms, and a playground. Water was clear and free of a lot of rocks and seaweed. There is also an additional charge to use the park pool. The pool was a lot of fun for the kids, as there was a high dive and regular dive. There also were lap lanes, a regular swimming area, and splash pad area for the younger kids. Changing rooms are available. We had a nice time here. There is a charge to enter the park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank osu8993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun, but hoping for more of what we were looking for”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We came here in hopes for some nice snorkeling, after reading lrher's reviews. Not much to see, we snorkels the entire south side of the jetty, and that made it ok. The park entry fee is per person, which was kinda costly for a state park, where most are per car in my experience. The gate person was informative, but didn't really make a difference.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice, fun pool and beach. I like this pool better than Jacob's Aquatic Center in Key Largo. They were polite and friendly. Nice grassy areas by the pool for picnics. Beach, tennis courts all very nice. Marina with gorgeous boats. A bit expensive with an extra cost to use pool, but hey this is the Keys, right? No snack bar so bring your own food. Call ahead to see if high dives will be used for coaching of private athletes. This happened when we were there and my kids were a bit disappointed because the whole reason we went there was for the high dives.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank popcornblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vacation to Islamorada”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Boat ramps but rentals not available anymore. Pool and 3m dive board fun and different, nice break for kids to do away from all the normal salt water activities while at Executive Bay Club next door. If you are staying in Islamorada, there is no entry fee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Founders Park also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Founders Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing